We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ant's Hill Dec/Jan 2013/2014”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 17, 2014

A perfect place to ride, relax, educate and enjoy a beautiful lodge in the bush.
The staff were constantly concentrating on how to make the experience a very special one. Never tired, always enthusiastic, everything done with a smile, nothing was a problem and the attention to detail was seem less and extremely personable, professional and a great sense of humour.
The horses were well behaved, sure footed and trustworthy, excellently kept and their health monitored twice daily. It was wonderful to take off their saddles at the end of the day and they would walk off into the bush and roam freely with the other animals. Tailored rides help build up confidence daily until we were riding long canters only to stop when a passing herd of giraffe wandered across our path –how amazing is that? wonderful! A guide at the front as well as at the rear ensured safety at all times.
Educatiing and stimulating too with regular information on not only the animals we were seeing frequently but also the insects, flora and fauna. So varied, not just riding but options to go and see the rhinos, a vet arriving and darting a sick buffalo by helicopter (everyone was invited to see and ask questions while he treated her in the bush), swimming with the horses, BBQ lunch in the bush and not forgetting the charming sundowners every night after we took the saddles off our trusty steeds and let them roam while we enjoyed a delicious G&T and a beer.
The accommodation was stunning, imaginative, private, thoughtful and peaceful. The food was everything you could hope for, fresh fruit every morning, cooked breakfast if you wanted it, wonderful freshly baked cake with afternoon tea every day and beautifully cooked meals for lunch and dinner all made by a very proud chef and his staff.
The public areas were very comfortable and charming and enhanced by the occasional Jack Russell dashing in to join us, such characters 
All in all a wonderful experience with fabulous staff who felt like friends by the time we left and certainly a reason to go back and see them, the horses and the beautiful bush.

Room Tip: I think it is called The Hideaway or Honeymoon 1 Lodge as it has it's own little plunge pool and...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LorettaBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Wow what a wonderfully detailed review. We are so glad that you enjoyed and noticed all the things we have to offer and do so well. We do hope to have you visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (505)
There are newer reviews for Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

305 - 311 of 505 reviews

Reviewed January 16, 2014

A wonderful place for families. We had an awesome room (actually a cottage with 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms) at Ants Nest and for a family of (mainly) non riders, it was a most incredible experience to get on horseback (and on foot too) and go out into the bush in search of game. The rangers were wonderful - super kid friendly - and the food was excellent. A fantastic and very different kind of safari experience.
Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GBN31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Thank you very much for your great review and we are delighted to hear that you and your family had a wonderful time with us. We do hope to have you visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

My sister and I spent 3 nights in this beautiful lodge and we will surely never forget it. Everything was amazing as Ant and his wife have definitively made this place a pure heaven.
The staff is very friendly and always find a way to please you. The food is exquisite and you can even chose where you want to set your table. This is also the only place where the horses are free to go in the reserve. We have never seen horses more happier and riding them is a pure joy. Swimming on a horse for a first for us.
We highly recommend this lodge with friends, family, couples and even solo.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bilbo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you so much for the great review. We are so happy when guests are able to enjoy everything we have to offer and hopefully take a wonderful memory back home with them. Hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2014

My friends all think I'm nuts; going to the same place over and over again. What I try to explain to them is that every experience at Ant's Hill is unique. Some things are consistent; the wonderful food, the fantastic lodging, and the unbelievably wonderful staff. The staff is one reason I keep going back. The manager of the lodge up at Ant's Hill; Penny is graciousness personified, and if you ask for something, she will move mountains and Jack Russell terriers to get it done for you. The guides are knowledgeable; and fun. If you are a beginner rider, they will make sure you have a safe fun experience. I've seen them work with people who had never sat a horse before and by the end of a couple of rides those people were raving about how great it was to ride horses. Of course the extremely tolerant and patient Boerpaard horses they have are just wonderful for beginners. I'm an experienced rider; and the guides and I have had some lovely long gallops, uh canters, yeah Ant, they were canters. And yes "Ant" is a person, a very lively gentleman with a great sense of fun. The property is well maintained, and there are plenty of game animals to see. Ask to go out on a night drive; it's a gamble, sometime you only see a bush baby or two, or you might see an aardvark; or even catch a porcupine stealing from the houses where the guides and other staff live. Note: do not leave shoes out, all porcupines in the area have a bizarre urge to steal shoes and dog dishes. The food is wonderful, and there is a great deal of it. Not a place to try and diet. The butter cookies they put in your room are addictive, especially with the coffee they bring to your room every morning. I am not a parent, and I am not fond of being around young kids: But at Ant's Hill it's never been a bother. The place is very kid friendly, as well as adult tolerant. The staff makes sure everyone is having a great time. At Ant's they are forefront in the fight to save the African White Rhino from extinction, and when you get up close to those animals, I guarantee you will be awed. I can not say enough good things about Ant's.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

What a privilege it is for us to have you visit us time and time again and we are so lucky to have wonderful guests like yourself. We will continue to do what we do and do it best and we hope to have you with us again in 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

Spending 5 days at Ants Hill was the best decision we could ever take...
The loving staff and the warm-hearted guides welcomed us with an incredible friendliness and anticipated us every wish.
We'd love to come back!!

Gerhard, Sabina, Vroni + Marie

Stayed: January 2014
Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and we would love to have you visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent 3 weeks in South Africa in December with our children (14,12,10) and stayed in some great places. Of these Ant's Nest was really special and was definitely the highlight of our trip. The rooms were huge and beautifully decorated (though we were so busy that we spent little time in them) and the food was of a very high standard. But the most outstanding aspect is the staff - what the staff at Ant's achieve better than anywhere else is a level of informality and friendliness that made them feel like friends. Clearly they enjoy working here and one is always met with a cheery smile, a friendly chat, and concern that everyone is being well looked after. Nothing is too much trouble.
We loved the riding and getting so close to the wildlife. Our children have done very little riding but were soon asking to canter, and at the end of our four days they were able to ride the horses bare back through a deep lake. So if anyone considering Ant's is worried about the riding, don't be; the horses were perfectly behaved and they cater for every level including small children and those who have not been riding before. And you can get closer to the wildlife on a horse than one ever will in a vehicle.
Our abiding memory is an open air dinner by a lake away from the lodge lit by lamps and with a storm in the far distance illuminating the hills. A troupe of staff sang African songs. A big effort went into organising this and it was much appreciated.
The lodge does very good conservation work and everyone we chatted to was full of interesting information on the animals, birds and plants. Time between riding was spent by a heated swimming pool (not many pools in S.A are heated) and mountain biking. We were also lucky to share our time at Ant's with a nice family with younger children.
We are very grateful to Ant and his staff for a wonderful 4 days. If you want to give yourselves and your children a special experience and memories that really will last, this is the place.
Our stay at Ant's Nest was organised by Lara McDonald of FrontiersTravel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nigel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Wow, thank you for such a wonderful review. We really do appreciate it a lot and yes, our staff is our greatest asset. We are so glad to hear that you and your family had a good time at Ant's and we do hope to have you visit us again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Ant's Hill! Thanks to everybody working there as they have been so nice, friendly and helpfull! We are greatful for the fantastic experience of a horse safari we will never forget and even more because our 4 year old daughter Juno was looked after so well by Rosie during the rides. We learned so much from the guides about the bush, wildlife, plants, beetles... We had a fantastic view from our lookout villa (which has been really nicely furnished). The food was amazing and we enjoyed the familiar atmosphere during breakfast, lunch, teatime and dinner. We loved that there were so flexible with the activities. My husband went for a guided run, I had a bushwalk organized with our daughter in the meantime, others went for a ride and in the end we all met up in the bush for drinks and beautiful sunset.
It has been hard for us to leave and hopefully we will have the chance to be back soon!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cmarieann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2014

Thank you very much for the great review. we are delighted to hear that you have managed to experience so many of the things we have on offer. we do hope to have you back with us again very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vaalwater hotels
25.0 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 40 in Vaalwater
422 reviews
17.0 mi away
Waterberg Game Park
Waterberg Game Park
#12 of 40 in Vaalwater
32 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#6 of 40 in Vaalwater
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
#8 of 40 in Vaalwater
54 reviews
7.8 mi away
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
#5 of 40 in Vaalwater
74 reviews
19.7 mi away
Jembisa Bush Home
Jembisa Bush Home
#3 of 40 in Vaalwater
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest

Address: Gunfontein, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Vaalwater
Price Range: $138 - $1,791 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ant's Nest & Ant's Hill are two private bush homes situated in the malaria-free Waterberg region of South Africa. Approximately 3 hours north of Johannesburg. These two bush homes are on a privately owned reserve and can offer guests game viewing activities which include game drives, game walks and fantastic horse riding. They can cater for all levels of riders and also accept kids of all ages. This is a wonderful destination for couples, honeymooners, families or just good friends travelling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and South African Hotels so you can book your Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ant`s Hill & Ant`s Nest Hotel Vaalwater
Ant`s Hill And Ant`s Nest
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest Vaalwater, Waterberg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing