We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb hospitality in the heart of the Waterberg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Superb hospitality in the heart of the Waterberg”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

I recently visited the Waterberg and stayed at Ant's Hill. From A to Z it has been a great experience. I traveled with my two children age 9 and 6, and my niece and we stayed in the cottage family. it was amazing and incredibly clean. Staff was very professional, well trained and extremely friendly though leaving your privacy. a special mention goes to Penny who tried to please all our requests, Eric the chef who prepared lovely meals and Le-roux, our great horse riding guide to the bush. We will definitively go back soon.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neverland77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you very much for your review and glad to see that the Capetonians also had a taste of the Waterberg. we are sure that once this sand is in our shoes you would want to come back for more so we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    456
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
203
115
56
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed in a the family cottage at Ant's Hill having booked with Anna Hearn at Scott Dunn Travel in London. We wanted a safari holiday that we could get more involved with and this was a perfect solution. None of us have really ridden before but we were out every day on perfectly selected horses viewing the Giraffe, Zebras, Buffalo and a myriad of Impala type animals that I can never tell the difference between!!

Our four year son was led on a horse by Naomi, who was simply delightful and has a wonderful way with people and children especially. My daughter was on a horse that she could ride herself and we all had a go at trotting (not recommended for blokes really) and cantering. The organised a bug-safari for my son and we found a little scorpion amongst other things. We also saw the Rhinos close up at Ant's Nest and there are other excursions you can go on if you want to see the big five. Sundowners in the bush every day was a great routine and one we are thinking of bringing back to the UK with us.

The accommodation was simply amazing - proper rustic African structure and décor, the sort of thing you expect and it was all kept immaculately clean. We had a wake up service in our room every day with coffee for us and hot chocolate for the kids, massages in our room, ever our own roaring fire. I loved the paraffin lamps that we could leave on for a really cosy safari feel.

The food was of an exceptional standard, apparently the lead chef used to be the chef for the President of Malawi and it showed. Service was always accommodating, accessible and friendly, we were made to feel incredibly welcome and it was a good balance between feeling like you were in someone's private safari lodge and a hotel. The local wine was actually quite drinkable.

We really didn't want to leave and I am sure we'll go back. Overall, outstanding and thank you to everyone there especially Naomi, Merlin, Penni and Friday who cooks the most amazing chicken pie.

Only suggestions I would make are:

-The pool needs to be heated more to make it properly usable all the time.
-The stuff in the gift shop seemed extremely expensive.
-Nothing to do with Ant's Hill but unless you specifically want the adventure of arriving at a small dusty airstrip on a charter plane then I wouldn't bother because we saved very little time and it was overall probably less convenient that taking a car which is also much cheaper.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtilley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We really do appreciate it a lot and thank you also for the comments and suggestions. Its a delight to hear that you had a wonderful time and also enjoyed all the special things we have to offer. We do hope to see you and your family again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Our family of 4 spent 4 nights at Ant's nest and are already planning our return trip! The whole experience was brilliant. Seeing the animals while riding across the reserve was lovely, our family have in the past had riding lessons but not for 10 years so don't let a lack of horse riding experience put you off booking at the Ant's nest, the horses are all very well behaved and there are horse riding lessons available if you are still unsure about your riding ability. Every single member of staff went out of their way to ensure you had a brilliant experience at the Ant's nest, they are all very knowledgeable and enjoy sharing their experiences of the reserve. I cannot recommend the Ant's nest enough!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KNAJ_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for your fantastic review on Ant's Nest. This is much appreciated. It sounds like the rustiness in the saddle quickly wore off.. We do hope to see you back with us very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truckee, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

What an amazing place! We spent 3 nights there with our two children (7 and 9). We all loved it, but the kids especially. Our kids both loved going on a horseback ride without their parents and only their two guides Merlin and Le Roux. Our son loved his guided bug walking tour with Peter. Excellent food, amazing ambiance. Thank you to the whole staff.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family suite and it was very comfortable and gorgeous for that matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WanderDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Front Office Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate it a lot. We are so glad to hear that you and especially the kids had an amazing time. We do hope that you will be able to return again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Just returned from 8 nights at Ant's Hill and want to go back! We've all got holiday blues, we miss everybody and everything. It was perfect all the staff were helpful, friendly and so relaxed. We had perfect horses my daughter wanted to bring hers home!! Thanks to Penni, Chase, Hanno (sorry if I spelt it wrong) Le Roux, Rosie, Steven, Friday, and all the staff for everything.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad that to hear that you had such an amazing time at Ant's Hill and we would love for you to come back. Hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We have just had the most incredible week at Ant's Nest, organised by Susie Freeman Travel UK. We were a party of 5 including Granny aged 88 down to 15 year old son and 11 year daughter. We all had a ball, so many highlights from riding with the giraffes and zebras to sun downers with the rhinos, the staff were absolutely delightful and made us feel as if we were part of the family. They even managed to grant Granny's wish of a gentle horse ride, I think she broke the age record walking past wildebeest and rhino! Our 2 suites were stunning and the beds were blissfully comfortable. Not to forget the absolutely delicious food, very difficult to resist! We will definitely be going back!

Room Tip: The Sable suite and the Weavers suite are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Sarah and family, thank you for your wonderful review and also to Susie for sending you our way. We are happy to hear that granny also managed to experience the bliss of doing game viewing from horseback and also that you have enjoyed the meals and accommodation so much. Its always nice to hear when guests have enjoyed their stay with us so much. We are looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schijf, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

From the warm welcome untill i drove off....Everything was superb!! Very nice people trying their utmost best to give you the time of your life, my honeymoon cottage was amazing luxerious, the food delicious, horsbacksafari on Shaba allways to short :-) , i'm going back!!

Room Tip: The honeymooncottage on Ant's Hill is a luxerious hide-a-way, the couch on the veranda you just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jackyv4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food, accommodation and riding and we are looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaalwater
25.0 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 35 in Vaalwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
17.0 mi away
Waterberg Game Park
Waterberg Game Park
#16 of 35 in Vaalwater
4.0 of 5 bubbles 23 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
#7 of 35 in Vaalwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
#6 of 35 in Vaalwater
4.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
18.8 mi away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#3 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
4.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
19.7 mi away
Jembisa Bush Home
Jembisa Bush Home
#3 of 35 in Vaalwater
5.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest

Property: Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
Address: Gunfontein, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 35 Specialty Lodging in Vaalwater
Hotel Class:4 star — Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ant's Nest & Ant's Hill are two private bush homes situated in the malaria-free Waterberg region of South Africa. Approximately 3 hours north of Johannesburg. These two bush homes are on a privately owned reserve and can offer guests game viewing activities which include game drives, game walks and fantastic horse riding. They can cater for all levels of riders and also accept kids of all ages. This is a wonderful destination for couples, honeymooners, families or just good friends travelling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, South African Hotels and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ant`s Hill And Ant`s Nest
Ant`s Hill & Ant`s Nest Hotel Vaalwater
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest Vaalwater, Waterberg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing