We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievable honeymoon!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 27, 2013

As much as I write, I don´t have enough words to express the amazing time we had at Ant´s Hill for our honeymoon. Everything you read is completely true, as soon as you arrive, you feel you arrived home. Penni, the general manager, greeted us and from the minute we met, it was like being with family. Everybody is incredibly friendly and helpful, the scenery is breathtaking, the honeymoon cottage is a dream, the horses are wonderful and enjoyable, the sundowners each in different spots amazing, lots of incredible wildlife and the food is exceptional!!! Truly extraordinary!! Eric and his team of chefs are masters of the kitchen! Special congratulations to him!

I can´t choose the best of Ant´s Hill but we certainly remember the dinner we all had outside with Penni, our guide and other couple who just married there. It was hilarious, we laughed for hours!! The Mexican cabezas!!!!!

I also want to stand out the remarkable work Tessa is doing to save the rhinos in the area with her foundation. For a complete animal lover like me, being in a place where wildlife is respected and cared for was one of the highlights of our trip.

Thanks so much for everything, I really hope to come back and that people at Ant´s Hills do not forget about us, we will certainly never forget!

Room Tip: The hideaway cottage is amazing, incredible for honeymooners!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arixguera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you so much for all your kind words and we are so glad that we could be your honeymoon destination. We would love to have you visit us again for the anniversary
All our best wishes
Ant's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (543)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 543 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

This is my 5th trip to Ant's lodges and this one was fpr their special census week which involved many numerous activities not always offered on normal weeks including game counting, game capture for for the ultimate genetics auction - There is nothing like galloping through the bush, walking at the back or bouncing around in the truck tracking a giraffe. The unfortgettable swimming with our horses in the lake with superb photographic opportuntities including night star photography.

The management team there are superb and go to ensure that all guest needs are meet. They are incredibly flexible to customers needs for example running seperate fast and slow horse rides and offering numerous non riding activities even on Census week which is incredibly action packed. The horses are superbly behaved, well cared for and have a large range of horses available from the nervous novice to those wanting to gallop across the savannah before all meeting up for sundowners at gorgeous view point for sunset with a beer!

And who can ever forget the end of Census week drinks party - amazing hospitality!

Don't change a thing and we will keep coming back time and time again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouisaWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Louisa
Thank you so much for the wonderful review. We are so glad that the census was so successful and even greater news that almost all our visitors for this year want to re book for next year. Dates should be out shortly and we will let you know
See you next year
All the best
Ant's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

After all the amazing reviews of Ant’s Hill on TripAdvisor, my wife and I were worried that the reality couldn’t possibly live up to the hype…how wrong we were, Ant’s Hill must be one of the most amazing places on earth!

From the moment we arrived and were greeted by the brilliant general manager Penni, we were cocooned in an environment of absolute relaxation with excitement added to the mix only if and when we wanted. From the very beginning, to the very end, all the people involved in looking after us were absolutely wonderful and they really are the reason that Ant’s Hill is such a marvel and funnily enough, they were the element that we were saddest to leave.

We were in one of the honeymoon cottages which was brilliantly isolated and private yet only moments from the main lodge and swimming pool. The view was breathtaking with a wonderful terrace looking into the valley and the room was a perfect mix of luxury and rustic charm. The indoor waterfall shower and the outdoor shower looking into the bush were wonderful and the huge bed was incredibly comfortable.

As mentioned in previous reviews, one of the things that really sets Ant’s apart from the competition is the fact that you dictate the timing and pace of your activities rather than being told when and where you need to be. Late starts, early starts, you decide.

The main reason we had chosen Ant’s reserve was for the riding as my wife really wanted a horseback holiday to celebrate her birthday. The Guides, horses, wildlife and scenery were perfect. If you wanted a slow horse, you got one, if you wanted a very forward horse, they had lots of those too and these horses seemed incredibly content as when they are not being ridden, they live in the bush with all the other wild animals and have an amazing existence. If you are used to stabled horses with limited turnout, this may be hard to imagine, but it really is magical.

We mostly rode but also managed to squeeze in an elephant back safari in a neighbouring reserve, a visit to the local town and some clay pigeon shooting with brilliant Henno. Interspersed with all this were various other interludes and at the end of each afternoon, a sundowner in a new and different spot to watch the sun set. There is something quite dreamy about riding to a spot in the middle of the bush to find a beautiful table laid out with nibbles and the drink of your choice as well as chairs and blankets if you get chilly. The horses were released and after our drinks, we were driven back to the lodge in an off-roader.

The wildlife was varied and I think that we saw all the animals we were hoping for (apart from the elusive leopard) and a few we weren’t. Of the big five, there are no lions or elephants but we did see the buffalo and rhino. The guides were very knowledgeable and we played a game with the hysterical double act of Kay and LeRoux to see if we could spot an animal before them…it never happened, they have x-ray vision!

Eric, Peter and David, the Malawian chefs turned out amazing food. My wife is Coeliac and if every restaurant could adapt their menus as well as they did in Ant’s Hill, I would probably stop eating Gluten myself! Some of the alternatives they came up with for her were even more delicious than the normal version to the point that some of the guests started eating the gluten free alternative.

I feel that we wouldn’t be doing the staff/guides/chefs justice without a huge thank you to Penni, LeRoux, Kay, Henno, Naomi, Koos, Merlin, Nick, both Peters, Eric, David, Johannes, Anna, Maria (and Chase who was only there for our first evening) and the guys over at Ant’s Nest who welcomed us for a sundowner with the Rhinos one evening.

We were very sad to leave and can’t wait to go back to see everyone again. Paradise!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oli60MW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

What an amazing review, thank you so much for all the lovely things you said. We are so glad that you had a good time with us and all the things we are known for was things you were able to experience. We hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We were a family of 6 ranging from 1 to 70 years old and all of us had a great time. Safari trips can sometimes be tiring as you have to follow the set agenda and get on that game drive at 5 am but at Ant's Hill each of us could choose what we would like to do at the time we wanted. The best part was that our 1 year old was also able to experience the bush as we did. He went on a game drive with us, rode a pony, and was fascinated by the rhinos at Ant's house! He even got special meals prepared for him and joined us at the bush lunch after being looked after by the baby sitters while the parents went out riding. I was able to improve my riding as well which was an added bonus and my husband, a novice, was able to learn how to ride. The staff and food were all excellent. Next time I would like to try the Ant's Nest with the family.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimichoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2013

Thank you for your review and we are so glad to hear that you had a good time with your family
We do hope that we will be able to welcome you to either one of our bush homes again in the near future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Aussies will love this place so more of us should visit. I spent some time with the owner Ant and his offsider Freddy Kruger (fair dinkum) and they are both great blokes. Ant is interested in Animals, Rugby and Wine so is real easy to get along with.I was lucky enough to go out on horseback tracking Rhino and spent one day at Ant's neighbours trying to bring home a large Kudu. Overall my riding improved out of sight. The food , service , all the staff and the overall experience at this place is fantastic.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gamsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

Hi there, thank you so much for your review. So glad you managed to meet Ant and also Fred and enjoy alot of the things we South Africans are very passionate about, our wildlife, our wine and off course our rugby. We hope to see you back at Ant's very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Three nights at Ant's Hill were not enough! I went primarily for the ability to do riding safaris, but also went on a walking safari and game drives. All were excellent. Great horses that enjoy a good canter, knowledgeable guides, relaxed atmosphere, and wonderful food. Something for everyone!

Room Tip: Ant's Hill primarily has cabins (I had the only room in the Lodge and it was great). Ant's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your review, We appreciate all the feedback we can get and we are delighted to see that you have tried all the different activities on offer. Hope to see you back with us

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

My husband and I have returned from our second visit to Ants Hill (5 nights) and intend to return. It is an amazing place with luxurious, comfortable lodges, spectacular views and a relaxed, friendly atmoshere where you feel welcome as soon as you arrive. The riding is a highlight and horses are responsive and well matched to riders experience/ability and it is wonderful to be able to get so close to the animals in their natural environment.
The meals are delicious and taken in a variety of places, often in the company of the guides who are so knowledgable and interesting.
Thank you to all the staff who made this such a memorable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antslodges, Public Relations Manager at Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2013

hi there
thank you so much for your lovely review. so happy to hear that you have yet again had a lovely visit and enjoyed everything we offer. hope to see you back with us very soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Vaalwater hotels
22.8 mi away
Zulu Camp
Zulu Camp
#1 of 2 in Vaalwater
16 reviews
0 mi away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#9 of 41 in Vaalwater
24 reviews
19.7 mi away
Jembisa Bush Home
Jembisa Bush Home
#4 of 41 in Vaalwater
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 41 in Vaalwater
459 reviews
7.8 mi away
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
#6 of 41 in Vaalwater
77 reviews
9.4 mi away
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
#5 of 41 in Vaalwater
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest

Address: Gunfontein, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vaalwater
Price Range: $503 - $1,046 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ant's Nest & Ant's Hill are two private bush homes situated in the malaria-free Waterberg region of South Africa. Approximately 3 hours north of Johannesburg. These two bush homes are on a privately owned reserve and can offer guests game viewing activities which include game drives, game walks and fantastic horse riding. They can cater for all levels of riders and also accept kids of all ages. This is a wonderful destination for couples, honeymooners, families or just good friends travelling together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and South African Hotels so you can book your Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ant`s Hill & Ant`s Nest Hotel Vaalwater
Ant`s Hill And Ant`s Nest
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest Vaalwater, Waterberg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing