We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“an excellent game reserve”

Welgevonden Nature Reserve
Ranked #1 of 5 things to do in Vaalwater
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“an excellent game reserve”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

mating lions and sundowner cocktails watching the 'visitors' at watering hole made this a wonderful short stay

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BrianStephenson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    21
    7
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Safari Drive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

We were well looked after and the game was in good health and well managed. The food was excellent too.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
“Excellent Visits to Welgevonden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We have been to Welgevonden 5 times, we absolutely love the diversity and animal sightings, as well as the setting of the reserve. We will always be back.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Fanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrible game reserve”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

No animals very bumpy and I'll qualified rangers To many vehicles there are so little lions and if they are found ranger always says ah they too far or turns his radio down

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“beautiful time in Welgevonden”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Everything comes together beautiful at welgevonden nature reserve to create the perfect safari atmosphere. The scenery was super nice, saw many animals, including a brown hyaena, the guide was very good at his job (Jacques, was his name I think), the accommodation was good, the food was good. all-in-all an excellent trip :)

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Quinten K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Welgevonden Nature Reserve also viewed

Waterberg, Limpopo Province
 
Vaalwater, Waterberg
Vaalwater, Waterberg
 

Been to Welgevonden Nature Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing