We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Olievenhoutsrus Guest & Game Farm
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed at Olievenhoutsrus in November 2013 for 1 week. We had a very good time there, Sandra and her family were very friendly and helpful. Olievenhoutsrus is a very nice place, we saw lots of animals directly from our lodge when they came to eat in the evening. The room was clean and nicely done up.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Katharina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (63)
There are newer reviews for Olievenhoutsrus Guest & Game Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 63 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

we spent one week at the farm and it was the perfect place for adults with a lot of things to do and for the children as well as they enjoyed the pool, the area and the animals so much. There is an idyllic garden and behind the fence it is possible to walk between the wild animals or even ride one of the many well educated and well kept horses and come in close contact with the zebras, giraffes or other animals. The service was very personal and perfectly organized, the meals were wonderful. It couldn't have been a better week!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astrid W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Thank you for a lovely weekend! We booked the whole lodge and had an wonderful weekend with friends and family weekend, including a family potjiekos cook-off, check out the pics. We visit the farm on a regular basis and we always have a good time and good value for money. The accomodation is always clean and comfortable, the service friendly, the atmosphere warm and welcome. We love Olievenhoutsrus and we'll be back some time soon!

Room Tip: The 3 bedroom family chalet is spacious and nicely decorated.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2012

What a lovely place ! Everything was perfect. The location, the rooms, the service - it was so nice to stay there. The service was excellent! Thank you so much for a pleasant stay ! !

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle Bothma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed over for only one night and was impressed by the friendly service and helpfulness, the owners are realy involved in the place and make you feel very welcome. They even accommodated our small dogs that was travelling with us, just make sure that they will allow it again before pitching up with the k9. There were lots of added extras, small personal details in the cottage that made the stay very comfortable. I would recommend it for larger family groups since the cottages are quite close to each other with a swimming pool and nicely outfitted lapa in the middle.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EliznaF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

Sandra's hospitality and helpfulness was so heart warming .Rondawels were clean and comfortable. Decor very impressive. The atmosphere was tranquil and relaxing . Good value for money. The entertainment area was very comfortable and warm. Wish we could have stayed longer but we will be back for a longer period to enjoy a break away from the city life.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

Thank you Sandra for the cheerful and prompt assistance in booking a room at such short notice.
I was very impressed with the lodge, the room was very comfortable and had everything I needed. Also very nice to see Zebra and Wildebeest feeding so close.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MattRGeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaalwater
20.5 mi away
Kololo Game Reserve
Kololo Game Reserve
#2 of 40 in Vaalwater
423 reviews
9.5 mi away
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
#8 of 40 in Vaalwater
54 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#6 of 40 in Vaalwater
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 17 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
156 reviews
14.6 mi away
Dinkweng Safari Camp
Dinkweng Safari Camp
#16 of 40 in Vaalwater
61 reviews
4.5 mi away
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
#1 of 40 in Vaalwater
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olievenhoutsrus Guest & Game Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olievenhoutsrus Guest & Game Farm

Address: R33 between Vaalwater and | Ellisras / Lephalale, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Vaalwater
Price Range: $70 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated in the heart of the Waterberg Biosphere only 10mins outside Vaalwater. Enjoy a break-away in the bushveld only 2hrs north of Pretoria! Our "Kruger Park style" Cottages and Rondavels are the perfect accommodation for a small group of family or friends! Wake up and watch Zebra, Giraffe and Wildebeest grazing around the Lodge! We have 2x cosy Rondavels from R350pP and 2x Family Cottages (sleeps 4-6) from R250pP. All accommodation is in a beautiful garden area with views onto the bushveld. For social get-togethers there is a central Lapa with braai facilities, a fully equipped kitchen and DSTV. Cool off in the sparkling swimming pool and enjoy evenings gathered around a large fire in the boma.The farm is in a unique setting and offers great self-guided game and bird viewing walks as well as horse- and pony rides (please by prior arrangements only!). There are plenty of things to do and recreational facilities in the nearby area like Quad Trails, Hunting Safaris, Elephant Rides, Canopy Tour, Fishing at Mokolo Dam, Marakele National Park (Big 5), D'Nyala Game & Nature Reserve or visit one of the local little towns which offer a variety of shopping opportunities and restaurants. We gladly assist with bookings of outings!We hope to welcome you soon at our establishment!Best regards,Sandra NortjeOlievenhoutsrus Guest- and Game FarmVaalwater ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Olievenhoutsrus Guest & Game Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Olievenhoutsrus Guest & Game Farm Vaalwater, Waterberg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing