We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at the Kololo game reserve”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Kololo Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We, a family with 2 teenagers, had a great stay at Kololo. Going on a safari on foot and by bike was great. The gamedrives at Welgevonden were great as well. In 2 game drives we saw 4 of the Big five and 2 Rhino's as a bonus.
I can also highly recommend horse back riding on Savannah Horse Trails. A wonderful Dutch lady has some great horses and arranges wonderful rides through beautiful surroundings.
The personel is great at the lodge and the food was way above expectations.
We had a perfect vacation!!

Room Tip: The superior accomodations are really superior. Fantastic spacious houses with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrmaVandeveen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (463)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 463 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2012

We enjoyed a few days at Kololo in connection with a stay in Johannesburg and we had a great time. The bike safari was one of the best safari expriences we have ever had. The aerea is huge and so beautiful and peaceful. the house we stayed in was very spacious, the food in the restaurant was excellent - even the kids menu was delicious and the kids loved it. The sky was beautiful wiht lots of stars and we all enjoyed the amazing sounds of nature at night.we would love to return to Kololo.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rejselystenigen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I, and our 3 children, moved to Joburg from Australia 4 years ago. We'd been looking for a place that enabled us to get away from the city and came across Kololo last year. We've now been 3 times in just over 12 months - what a fantastic place! Why didn't we discover it sooner? The joy of waking up to silence (and bird calls) rather than traffic is wonderful. The children are able to have their freedom riding bikes, playing cricket, going for walks, splashing in the stream, etc. We've stayed in both Kings and Cheetah and the accommodation is outstanding. The restaurant is very good and has fantastic views over the Welgevonden Big 5 game reserve right next door. Kololo will take you on game drives into Welgevonden which is spectacular for its variety of landscapes alone, but the game viewing is great and we've seen 4 of the Big 5 every time we've visited (always the leopard that escapes us!). But there's plenty of wildlife just walking around in Kololo itself. The Kololo staff are fantastic and are very focussed on families - they are great with the children and even run a children's programme within the Kololo Game Reserve which our kids love. We can't believe that Kololo isn't rated up there with the top lodges in the country it's that fantastic. We can't wait to go back again.

Room Tip: Kings has a private pool which is great in the summer. The family chalets (Elephant, Giraffe, Cheeta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Erkimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

We enjoyed very much the Kololo place, very near to Johannesbourg and at the same time Kololo gives a real bush experience : nice game drives, beautiful nature around the lodge, animals nearby, delicious food, very friendly staff... Everything that makes holidays fantastic! We hope to come back in the future. Hilde (Belgium)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hilde C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had a great time at Kololo.
The staff is very friendly and did their vey best to make our stay very special, in which they succeeded very very well.
The environment is beautifull to be in.
The food at Kololo is excelent.
We hoop to come back there in the future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We had a very relaxed long week-end at Kololo. Stayed in Kings and, of course, absolutely loved the spacious chalet, the private pool in the bush and the great views. We did the Kololo game drive with our children and the Welegroven one all by ourselves while a lovely staff member was babysitting our children in the chalet. Very nice and absolutely trustworthy! The food was very good, but the non-alcoholic drinks could have been included in the rate. Also the road to Vaalwater is a bit annoying as there are roadworks going on. This is definitly not the fault of Kololo and you can always ask at the reception for an alternative dirt road which we couldn't try out as there was a bush-fire when we left and the dirt road was therefore too dangerous. We definitly come again - even more as we love the idea of an ecco-lodge!!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a great time in Kololo. The environment was beautiful, the staff was warm and friendly and the food was delicious. The wild animales we saw on our walking, cycling and gamedrives, it was really great. The view from the restaurant, it was just a picture.
Kololo, baie dankie!!!
Maikel & Sonja (Nederland)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maikel V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaalwater
11.6 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 2 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
200 reviews
18.5 mi away
Marataba Safari Lodge
Marataba Safari Lodge
#1 of 2 in Thabazimbi
412 reviews
0 mi away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#7 of 41 in Vaalwater
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.5 mi away
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
Bushwa Private Game Lodges
#6 of 41 in Vaalwater
78 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
186 reviews
6.4 mi away
Clifftop Lodge
Clifftop Lodge
#4 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kololo Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kololo Game Reserve

Address: Bakkerspas, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Vaalwater
Price Range: $220 - $354 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kololo Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kololo Game Reserve is situated in the beautiful province of Limpopo, South Africa, in the heart of the Waterberg biosphere. Vast, peaceful and incredibly beautiful, this is a fascinating destination with a rich cultural legacy and natural splendour.A malaria-free area, child friendly and home to a large variety of game, Kololo is a perfect safari destination. Visit neighbouring reserve Welgevonden Game Reserve (of which Kololo is also part) and view the Big 5 - lion, leopard, elephant, rhino and buffalo - or enjoy a sneak preview over the fence, from the comfort of your chalet at Kololo.Kololo has its own gate near the reception, which provides direct access to Welgevonden Game Reserve. Kololo therefore has a unique concept: the Big 5 and accommodation in a luxurious, comfortable lodge where only the safe wildlife roams free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kololo Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kololo Game Reserve Vaalwater, Waterberg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing