We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special birthday weekend away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kololo Game Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special birthday weekend away”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

It is a lovely lodge with extremely helpful staff! We went for a night for my dad's birthday and they really made everything so special from the accommodation, the game drive right through to the bush braai under the stars exclusively for us! The road there is terrible though and I do hope they will fix it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Leopard's Den which is perfect for 6 adults and 2 children. It has its own swim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Genie-Mari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    112
    14
    2
    1
See reviews for
196
111
8
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
JHB
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2011

For my taste, Kololo has the right balance in what it offers. Beautiful location, lovely accommodation and quality amenities make for good value . It is just the right size to ensure that the service is personalised yet discreet enough to give that feeling of "getting away from it all'. It's proximity to the Wegevonden nature reserve is an added bonus. Choose the game drive to the southern end - it has stunning savannah vistas and is not crowded!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We have been a few times to Africa, but Kololo is really a top destination to stay.
Beautiful chalets in a perfect natural environment , impala’s are just walking in the front of your chalet.
Staff is very friendly and will do anything to make your trip the perfect one.
Wegevonden gate is next to the reception of Kololo and is a spectacular area with a lot of different landscapes and a good place for game drives (organized by Kololo).
Biking and hiking is possible on the Kololo site and also recommended, you will see a lot of animals like zebra, wildebeest, giraffe and all kinds of bucks.
The restaurant, Food is delicious and really nice sunsets from the terrace.

We will be back and recommend it to anyone who likes to enjoy all the good things in life.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johan v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eibergen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 6, 2011

Last July we spent more than a week in KOLOLO Game Reserve where we stayed at the Kingfisher bush chalet. It was our best Africa experience ever. The staff were very kind and helpful, really nice and hospitable people. When we went on a game drive in the neighbouring Welgevonden Reserve, we saw lots of wild animals, including the Big Five. The KOLOLO Game Reserve itself is very charming, no dangerous animals here. So we could just go walking and cycling whenever we wanted, without a guide. During these fascinating tours we photographed kudus, zebras, giraffes, warthogs and a lot of other inhabitants of KOLOLO. What beautiful tracks! We also made a KOLOLO game drive and enjoyed the guide’ s interesting stories. After returning from the drive the staff of the restaurant welcomed us with an excellent diner. This was our first visit to KOLOLO. No need to say it won’t be our last. Website: ( www.kololo.co.za )

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carlo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Kololo is a beautiful location and when sitting on your private porch, you can experience a true Out of Africa landscape. Everything is built with quality in mind. We were there during wintertime and missed a few items that could have made our stay a bit more comfortable. Like robes and slippers, a fireplace inside or other things to avoid getting cold, which we certainly did. One of the owners was determined that we were in need of his company all the time and his presence caused us to have little privacy which was annoying. This was regrettable because the rest of the personnel is truly very nice. The food is good but not exceptional. This place really has potential but misses the finishing touch and for the price we expected more. If only the owner would be open for that ... he didn't ask.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marxx63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pim_Jansen, Owner at Kololo Game Reserve, responded to this review, August 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the trouble to put your Kololo comments on Tripadvisor. We appreciate your positive comments and will look into your suggestions on giving Kololo the final touch. We also appreciate you mentioning your discomfort with the presence of one of the Kololo owners. It looked like his enthusiasm for Kololo came across as overwhelming and annoying. We sincerely regret the fact that you felt intimidated by it. That definitely was not his intention; he was shocked when he read it and will seriously take your comments as a lesson for the future. Once again, thank you for making this known to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2010

We wondered what we were going to along the rather rough road but every inch of the journey was worht it when we got there. You can walk among the wildlife in Kololo's own reserve or drive into the adjacent 'big five' reserve. Here, there is an abindance of white rhins - rhino bliss! Added to that the guides are superb, the food and accomdation excellent, the environment simply wonderful, you can get there easily in under 4 hours from Johannesburg, and the area is malaria free.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pseudonymity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
57 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Kololo Game Reserve is about 3 hours drive from Johannesburg and offers various types of accommodation. We had a spacious room with bathroom ensuite and self catering facilities. But we choose to have meals in the lovely restaurant. The reserve is about 3000 hectares adn you can walk in between giraffes and other antilopes. Next door is the beautiful Welgevonden Private Game Reserve where you can enjoy Big 5 Safaris. We didn't see any other vehicles which is great and very different from when you go to Kruger where you sometimes have to 'cue' to see the wild animals. We loved it here and I hope to make many bookings in the future.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JessyLip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vaalwater
11.6 mi away
Nedile Lodge
Nedile Lodge
#1 of 1 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
190 reviews
0.0 mi away
Matingwe Lodge
Matingwe Lodge
#10 of 38 in Vaalwater
19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
Entabeni Safari Conservancy
#3 of 7 in Entabeni Game Reserve
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
Ama Amanzi Bush Lodge
#6 of 38 in Vaalwater
54 reviews
25.0 mi away
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
Ant's Hill & Ant's Nest
#1 of 38 in Vaalwater
497 reviews
4.4 mi away
Mhondoro Game Lodge
Mhondoro Game Lodge
#1 of 16 in Welgevonden Game Reserve
145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kololo Game Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kololo Game Reserve

Property: Kololo Game Reserve
Address: Bakkerspas, Vaalwater 0530, South Africa
Phone Number:
Location: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Waterberg > Vaalwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Vaalwater
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kololo Game Reserve 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kololo Game Reserve is situated in the beautiful province of Limpopo, South Africa, in the heart of the Waterberg biosphere. Vast, peaceful and incredibly beautiful, this is a fascinating destination with a rich cultural legacy and natural splendour.A malaria-free area, child friendly and home to a large variety of game, Kololo is a perfect safari destination. Visit neighbouring reserve Welgevonden Game Reserve (of which Kololo is also part) and view the Big 5 - lion, leopard, elephant, rhino and buffalo - or enjoy a sneak preview over the fence, from the comfort of your chalet at Kololo.Kololo has its own gate near the reception, which provides direct access to Welgevonden Game Reserve. Kololo therefore has a unique concept: the Big 5 and accommodation in a luxurious, comfortable lodge where only the safe wildlife roams free. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kololo Game Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kololo Game Reserve Vaalwater, Waterberg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing