We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth the money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Palais des Cerisiers
Ranked #1 of 14 Azrou B&B and Inns
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not worth the money”
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Pro: Nice building in the green surroundings of Azrou with nice swimming pool & room, good food
Con: Construction works + many yelling children + lack of sound insulation = noise from everywhere
Staff friendly but not attentive & slow. Way too expensive compared with similar accommodations.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank NBMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    48
    9
    7
    6
See reviews for
48
45
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

It is 3 km out of Azrou on the Ifrane road (N8). Look for a sign on right side of road. Their website map is useless and so is Google maps. It is 3 years old and ostentatious. There is a beautiful location and great views. It has a bar, pool. spa, hammam and lounge. TV ( no English ). The evening meal was good - 3 course with a choice of or 4 on each course. The staff are very helpful if a little formal - even a little subservient. We had 2 rooms - 4 and 7. They were very good, large, fridge, kettle, wardrobe, en suite with shower, good hot water. Both rooms opened onto a terrace.
Breakfast is Moroccan/French - fairly sparse.
The fixtures and fittings are a bit cheap and/or poorly fitted eg the main bannisters wobble, some marble steps are cracked the shower doors are flimsy and basic. The dining room is very nice as is the bar. Staff only too willing to light nice wood fire in the bar. Very little English spoken.
Overall they are aspiring to be sophisticated and maybe trying too hard.
Lots of good things and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: ASk fo a room with acess to a balcony. These have cair and tables.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy3178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Palais while on our way from Fes to Merzouga. The hotel has gorgeous views and offers good modern comfort. The rooms are nice with modern showers and good bedding. The restaurant has great service and the food tries to be a blend of Moroccan and French foods. We liked our dinner but would have preferred if it had been a bit more traditional. Also the spa closes at 5pm so if you plan on a late arrival, you will not be able to use the facilities.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristtov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Great Hotel and service good. Room is big, the hotel looks like a big house and the personnel is nice.
Not to be missed : Chevre chaud and Truite en papillote for dinner!! just delicious.
From there you can go directly to the forest and enjoy some great walks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Marrakech30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pomfret, vt
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

I heartily disagree with the others who claim this place only has "teething pains." It is a poorly constructed, poorly maintained, megalomaniacs dream- undoubtedly a real estate developer cashing in on unsuspecting guests. The list would be endless...but a few complaints: impossible to turn off lights in the bedroom without unscrewing them all; prefabricated shower stall leaks all over the bathroom floor, petrified cat poop on terrace, pretentious staff who think the place is amazing and prattle on about "fine cuisine..." When I was there there were a dozen local worthies- bureaucrats who made quite a bit of noise- the place is actually quiet small and poorly designed so you hear everything-including non-stop muzac music. This is the kind of place built by a concrete tycoon who thinks he wants to duplicate some French palazzo and cut every corner he could in doing so. Stay away unless you like this kind of nonsense-

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdd955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

A hidden gem tucked away in the Middle Atlas Mountains. Our hosts were gracious & the French cuisine was outstanding! Very clean rooms, although you have to ask for extra toilet paper. The staff was courteous gracious and meticulous. Highly recommend staying here for a respite from the heat in the summers of Morocco.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoroccoNanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

My partner and I arrived at this hotel after a long journey from the desert, and I have to say, it was marvellous. Ok, not exactly decorated to my taste, and our shower unit in the bedroom was pretty flimsy and cheap, but the welcome we got was warm, friendly, professional and there is a bar! Our bedroom was spotless and spacious with a fab, large terrace overlooking the wonderful countryside. The air conditioning unit worked and was quiet - brilliant. We paid a bit beyond our budget for an evening meal - it was worth every penny, absolutely delicious food, I had a very tender and juicy steak which was cooked exactly as i asked and served with tasty vegetables. My man had a tagine which again, was extremely tasty. We both had chocolate mousse for dessert, absolutely amazing!!! Breakfast was of exactly the same high standard, the moroccan pancakes cooked fresh and they were crispy and warm, eggs are also cooked to however you like. The town of Azrou is authentic and maybe a trifle strange, but I managed to find local bargains (wonderful carpets and cushion covers, etc)
in the local shops - at better prices than in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Azrou
7.5 mi away
Michlifen Ifrane Suites & Spa
4.3 mi away
Tamanoucht Auberge
Tamanoucht Auberge
#5 of 14 in Azrou
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Azrou
Riad Azrou
#6 of 14 in Azrou
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palais des Cerisiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palais des Cerisiers

Property: Le Palais des Cerisiers
Address: Route du Cedre Gouraud, Azrou, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Azrou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Azrou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Le Palais des Cerisiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing