We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a pretentious and dismal operation” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Palais des Cerisiers

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Palais des Cerisiers
Ranked #2 of 12 Azrou B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
pomfret, vt
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“a pretentious and dismal operation”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I heartily disagree with the others who claim this place only has "teething pains." It is a poorly constructed, poorly maintained, megalomaniacs dream- undoubtedly a real estate developer cashing in on unsuspecting guests. The list would be endless...but a few complaints: impossible to turn off lights in the bedroom without unscrewing them all; prefabricated shower stall leaks all over the bathroom floor, petrified cat poop on terrace, pretentious staff who think the place is amazing and prattle on about "fine cuisine..." When I was there there were a dozen local worthies- bureaucrats who made quite a bit of noise- the place is actually quiet small and poorly designed so you hear everything-including non-stop muzac music. This is the kind of place built by a concrete tycoon who thinks he wants to duplicate some French palazzo and cut every corner he could in doing so. Stay away unless you like this kind of nonsense-

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wdd955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    44
    8
    6
    6
See reviews for
45
42
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

A hidden gem tucked away in the Middle Atlas Mountains. Our hosts were gracious & the French cuisine was outstanding! Very clean rooms, although you have to ask for extra toilet paper. The staff was courteous gracious and meticulous. Highly recommend staying here for a respite from the heat in the summers of Morocco.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoroccoNanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

My partner and I arrived at this hotel after a long journey from the desert, and I have to say, it was marvellous. Ok, not exactly decorated to my taste, and our shower unit in the bedroom was pretty flimsy and cheap, but the welcome we got was warm, friendly, professional and there is a bar! Our bedroom was spotless and spacious with a fab, large terrace overlooking the wonderful countryside. The air conditioning unit worked and was quiet - brilliant. We paid a bit beyond our budget for an evening meal - it was worth every penny, absolutely delicious food, I had a very tender and juicy steak which was cooked exactly as i asked and served with tasty vegetables. My man had a tagine which again, was extremely tasty. We both had chocolate mousse for dessert, absolutely amazing!!! Breakfast was of exactly the same high standard, the moroccan pancakes cooked fresh and they were crispy and warm, eggs are also cooked to however you like. The town of Azrou is authentic and maybe a trifle strange, but I managed to find local bargains (wonderful carpets and cushion covers, etc)
in the local shops - at better prices than in Marrakesh.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Georgia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
182 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

The hotel is recently opened and given time it should prove to be a good choice. It is beautifully located and fitted to a high standard but the finish leaves something to be desired (loose bannister rails, leaking showers etc). So far as we could tell the hotel was run by a team of young and inexperienced (if friendly) staff. They did their very best but were at times unsure of what to do. Overall it was a positive stay. The food in the restaurant though was mixed, if plentiful. Was ill after eating there so cannot vouch for the hygiene standards in the kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank john_ivycottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rabat
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2011

We simply loved this hotel. It has the comfort of a home, the luxury of a 5 star hotel, and the good taste of french cuisine. All of that was garnished with the friendliness of the staff and the personal supervision and touch of the owner and his lovely wife. We stayed there for 2 nights and we tried the standard room for the first night and the suite for the second. We definitely highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Suite number 18 is simply lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank louna s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Azrou
7.5 mi away
Michlifen Ifrane Suites & Spa
6.6 mi away
Ifrane Palace
Ifrane Palace
#7 of 9 in Ifrane
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.0 mi away
Dar Beldi
Dar Beldi
#2 of 9 in Oualidia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Tamanoucht Auberge
Tamanoucht Auberge
#6 of 12 in Azrou
4.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
6.1 mi away
Motel Relais Ras el Maa
0.0 mi away
Riad Azrou
Riad Azrou
#4 of 12 in Azrou
3.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Palais des Cerisiers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Palais des Cerisiers

Property: Le Palais des Cerisiers
Address: Route du Cedre Gouraud, Azrou, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Azrou
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Azrou
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Palais des Cerisiers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing