We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff but rooms need upgrading”
Review of Green HIlls Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Green HIlls Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nyeri
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. On arrival the hotel looks reasonable, the staff are super courteous and very helpful. The rooms were fine in terms of size but very basic and could do with an overhaul. The lighting was poor and there was no heating (it was freezing in July). I didn't want to touch anything in the bathroom, so as it was freezing I never used the shower which was a trickle.

There is a new wing so perhaps these are modern rooms.

Breakfast and lunch were very good but there were few choices for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WIF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 60 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

We were unlucky in the fact that the weather was against us when we stayed here but in general the rooms were OK, in need of some renovation and a coat of paint, fly screens and a few more plugs.
The restaurant/pool deck were also OK, but we had a little difficulty in obtaining access to Wi-Fi from staff, best to go up to reception yourself to get the code as the waitress seemed to have no idea what we were talking about.
Food and dining was faultless, and overall staff were friendly.
Not 5-star but also not bad at all. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: On arrival you will find enormous pink flip flops next to your bed which is a little odd. One size f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19Hutz74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

Spent a night while on my way to Nanyuki. Great location with a cool night; no ac required. Nice treatment by the staff both at the reception and dining area. Breakfast was ok. The route to the hotel is very dark at night, take extra care when driving.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laikipia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

The grounds were very nice and the meal I had at the restaurant was good. The room was a little dingy and old looking. They definitely need to be updated. Some of the facilities cost extra money (Fitness/spa) and it is far from Nyeri town. When I arrived I took a taxi (which was not bad, a few minutes drive) but it is too far to walk to Nyeri town and it is around a hill and road with no shoulder so if you want to be closer, don't select Green Hills. I would stay here again, perhaps if it was warmer when I went I would have enjoyed it more since the grounds are nice. I switched hotels after one night to the White Rhino because it was closer and the rooms were nicer/newer.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cait G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

First of all, I would like to say this place is a favourite of mine, value for money is excellent. Food is an absolute treat and the facilities for the price you pay is second to none.
Set in the hills around Nyeri, if you don't know the area then read up its a beautiful part of the country, right next to the aberdare national park.
Not to far from Nyeri town, so if you like you can always go to the markets and the shops, the town is usually busy, but there is a nice pace of life in Nyeri, relaxed and easy going. The pool is very clean, good gym and spa facilities, theres a salon and a small shop within the grounds. The bar is nice and secluded with a relaxed atmosphere.
My wife and I love it and often visit for a weekend away.

Room Tip: There are three standards of room, depending on what you want the go up in price, I was happy with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loggy_Shopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2015, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duzzoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Las del ala nueva
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LuisB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyeri
0.2 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
6.9 mi away
Aberdare Country Club
Aberdare Country Club
#1 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
314 reviews
0.0 mi away
Westwood Hotel
Westwood Hotel
#4 of 5 in Nyeri
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
474 reviews
0.0 mi away
Batian Grand Hotel
Batian Grand Hotel
#3 of 5 in Nyeri
7 reviews
5.4 mi away
Treetops Lodge
Treetops Lodge
#3 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Green HIlls Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Green HIlls Hotel

Address: Bishop Gatimu Road, Nyeri 10100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Central Province > Nyeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nyeri
Price Range: $62 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Green HIlls Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing