We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Nyeri
Chicago
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Stay”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

My sister and I needed a get away, somewhere quiet and beautiful where we could relax and have some fun. We both have busy lives and this was the perfect place. The castle is absolutely beautiful, the scenery amazing and speaking as one who loves nature, being among the trees, mountains and animals was breathe taking. I would like to thank all the staff, from the time we made the booking to when we arrived and left. All the staff were super helpful, kind and so friendly. They accommodated all our needs and made sure we were comfortable. Our stay there was unforgettable and we will be sure to do it again. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a unique relaxing experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rita N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    46
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
43
28
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi
Level 5 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

I was back at Tafaria again this time with a group of 5.It is still a great place for a holiday.I would summarize it by.............. try your dream.The horse ride towards the scenic Aberdare is something you cannot afford to miss.

Room Tip: The Lords room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank migrationsafaris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

A very well appointed and tastefully furnished establishment. Accommodation is discreetly laid out to offer adequate privacy. Very friendly and helpful staff. The drinks a bit pricey but overall worth every penny. Good food and atmosphere at the dining area.

A very serene and remote location (3.5 hours from Nairobi - and the roads are good).

One gets transported back to another dimension - not quite to the old times of knights and lords...but somewhere oddly anachronistic given the somewhat modern and old mix of decor

Room Tip: Most rooms face Mount Kenya and the dining area/bar have great views of the grounds and the Aberdare...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Djinn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We decided to try something new and to be honest, regretted it. I was here with my husband and another couple on the 28th Dec, 2012.
I will start with the positives, the view is amazing and the set up is very interesting and different from the usual. It also seems like a good setting for families as there are lots of activities for kids and I'm sure the castles would be fun for them. That's as far as the positives go.
The service was a huge disappointment. We got there at approx 12.30pm and had to wait till almost 3 pm for our rooms to be ready.
The food is way below average and the wait staff seem very untrained and unprofessional. I feel the place would be much better if the owner would invest in training the staff as they are clearly struggling to provide any sort of service.
We were to stay for two nights but our experience was very disappointing therefore we left the morning after and decided to spend the rest of the weekend at a different location. Checkout took almost as long as check-in.
The rates are too high for the low quality of the food, rooms and service. There are much much better places one can go to at a more reasonable rate.
Cutting our losses and leaving the day after was the best decision we made.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nonoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary N, General Manager at Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Good afternoon Nonoks, first of all, thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Tafaria Castle & Country Lodge. I have discussed the issues you have raised below with the team and would like to personally apologize for the shortfall in our standards. On the day you checked in, we had a lot of guests who were checking out after the festive period hence the delay in getting your room ready. On the issue of staff training and food quality, our F&B manager is working on in-house training while our chef will work on the food on offer.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back to Tafaria Castle in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Excellent place for R&R. The location has breathtaking views of the Aberdares and Mt Kenya. The air is crisp, clean and free of pollution. The gardens are wonderfully landscapped. Generally you can tell that there is attention to detail in running this castle. The rooms are clean and staff are pleasant. We stayed here with our kids aged 10, 8 and 5. The whole concept of staying in a castle thrilled them. There are lots of activities to occupy the kids. There are quad bikes to ride, horse riding, fishing, riding bikes, swimming, etc. The castle provides a guide to assist the kids with these activities which leaves parents free to relax. There is an outdoor amphitheater which is like a scene from medieval times. There is also a dungeon from where 3D movies can be watched. There is a whole collection of the latest movies especially for kids in 3D.

The only area which can be improved is the road from the main highway to the castle as it gets tricky after the rains. Recommend upgrading to murram road to blend in with the environment.

All in all I will surely visit this place again and highly recommend it for families.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Damsels which is a like two separate rooms, joined together like one cottage. We o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wizzie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was out with my wife for our 15th wedding anniversary on 30th November 2012 and we have a lot to say, one being " just try it out " and the rest is your experience to relay on to others. With all available activities to indulge in, we opted to relax by the poolside and the well manicured greens.
With just one television advert on the hotel, I quickly googled the facility and opted to surprise my wife to a whole new experience.
I'd say, if we had not made other Christmas holiday arrangements for the family we would have come back over the festive season.
The location of the hotel is a plus to accommodation in the area that hosts a couple of national wildlife parks and conservancies, i.e. the aberdare national park,ol pejeta conservancy and mount Kenya which can be toured in days excursion.
This was a well thought out and imagined set up of a castle in the middle of a very quiet surrounding.
Martin

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martinmwenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Location
1910 Deighton Downs, on a hill overlooking the
Aberdares, Laikipia plains and Kenya's rooftop, Mt.Kenya.

Coordinates
- 0.115, 36.627

Direction:
65 km from Nyeri, towards Nyahururu, 39
km from Nyahururu towards Nyeri.
Scenic road transfer through the
Aberdares National Park.
Closest airstrip: Mweiga

Activities: Game drives into Aberdare National Park, Horse riding, birdwatching, Nature walk, fishing,
bush meals, Sundowners, Swimming pool, shop.
Electricity: available 24 hours a day, in all rooms and tents and common areas. There is also a
generator for back up. All rooms and tents have power sockets. Hair dryer available on request.
Restaurants and meals:
Breakfast from 6h00/9h30
Lunch from 12h30/14h30
Dinner from 19h00/22h00
The Moat Bar Operation Hours 10.00am – 11.00 pm
Please inform us of any dietary requirement or allergies prior arrival.
Meals can be served directly on your room patio on request.
Check in/out: Check in time – 12.30pm Check out time - 10.00 am
Swimming Pool: From 8.00 am to 6.00pm. Towels are provided by the attendants
Water: We get fresh water from our borehole, which is safe for shower and brushing teeth. Bottled
drinking water is available in every room.
Vehicles: 4x4 vehicles available for game drive and transport from Nairobi, subject to availability.
Malaria: Due to the high altitude there are No mosquitos in the area.
Tips: Warm clothing for the evening, swimming costume, comfortable walking shoes.
Communication: Mobile phones: Phone signal is available.
Payment: Accept cash, Visa card, Mastercard and American Express

Accommodation
The Castle, within which you find the lord's room overlooks the castle's four quarters: You can either stay in the
damsel quarters which are optimally sized, the knight's quarters if you would like that extra space or the Viking's
quarters if you fancy being tented. If you have a family or you prefer even more space, the Lost Knights quarters will
provide you with that roomy accommodation.
Vikings: Single and double available, Ensuite bathroom with shower, hot water (solar), telephone, mini bar, safe
and private patio.
Number of Viking tents 6
Damsels: Single and double available. Each unit has 2 rooms. Ideal for families and friends. Ensuite bathroom
with shower, hot water (solar), mini bar, safe, telephone, tv, private patio.
Number of Damsels quarters 8
Knights: Single, twin/double and triple available. Ensuite bathroom with shower, hot water (solar), safe, minibar,
telephone, tv, private patio.
Number of Knights 6
Lost Knights: Single, twin/double and triple available. Ensuite bathroom with shower, hot water (solar), mini
bar, safe, telephone, tv, sitting area and fireplace.
Number of Lost Knights 3
Lord’s Room: Single, double available. Ideal for honeymooner. Located in the main Castle has separate
Bedroom and sitting room, Ensuite bathroom with bathtub hot water (solar), telephone, tv, mini bar, safe.
Number of Lord’s room 1.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mohammed59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nyeri
30.7 mi away
The White Rhino Hotel
20.5 mi away
The Ark
The Ark
#2 of 4 in Aberdare National Park
448 reviews
30.6 mi away
Green HIlls Hotel
Green HIlls Hotel
#2 of 5 in Nyeri
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.9 mi away
Giraffe Ark Game Lodge
23.8 mi away
The Ark Lodge
The Ark Lodge
#2 of 15 in Nyeri
85 reviews
20.8 mi away
The Panari Resort Nyahururu
The Panari Resort Nyahururu
#1 of 1 in Nyahururu
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge

Property: Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge
Address: Nyeri-Nyahururu Road | Near Aberdares National Park, Nyeri 10100, Kenya
Location: Kenya > Central Province > Nyeri
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Nyeri
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Tafaria Castle and Country Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing