We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A restaurant in heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cottage Point Inn

Cottage Point Inn
Reserve with
Cottage Point Inn is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cottage Point Inn began its life as a boat house, general store and post office for the river community. Over the last two decades, the Inn has been transformed from a pleasant bistro in a stunning setting to its current fine dining form focused on showcasing the best Australian produce with Head Chef Guillaume Zika's French influence.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
203 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A restaurant in heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a restaurant for those special occasions. Set in the most picturesque of scenes on the water's edge on Cowan Creek, it is accessible by car through the Kurangai National Park or more enjoyably by ferry or seaplane from Palm Beach. We elected for the Degustation 7 course menu which was excellent. Beautifully prepared and creatively presented. The service was attentive and not rushed. I would suggest one needs to book and also check their times of opening. Not the cheapest restaurant in Sydney but certainly one of the best and great for taking overseas visitors.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brook R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    224
    54
    21
    13
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“fantastic all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

excellent food, service and atmosphere!!!
Perfect sized portions for a degustation menu, beautifully presented food and eve dish was delicious. The service was attentive but not in your face at all. We have been to quay restaurant in circular quay a few months earlier, and we were much happier with the over all visit to cottage point inn than quay.

high recommended!! will definitely return!!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank john c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
198 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Outstanding restaurant and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Traveled by boat to this delightful restaurant . The location was superb. Our meal was beautifully prepared and exquisite. I would recommend this has a must do.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thommo178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
147 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“A great Sydney experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

It was a year or so since we had been to Cottage Point Inn. We had friends stating with us from Canada and thought lunch there would finish off our time together nicely. We booked, and then we saw some nasty reviews on TripAdvisor. The reviews were WRONG! We took the ferry from Palm Beach, which is a very pleasant ride on its own. Some people arrive by seaplane - ah well, another time. We were greeted and settled at a table with a lovely view. As we had a pre-lunch drink, the amuse bouche arrived, which was very cold but with hot pepper, highly amusing and interesting. I had tortellini with an aged cheese and unusual cut of beef, both very good. The wines were excellent, even towards the low end of their list. The service was just fine. We have none of the complaints of some other reviewers - were they having a bad day? We went back on the ferry. Altogether, it was a great Sydney experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tosca08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Overpriced and Shocking Service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Where to start...this place used to be good but I know several people who have now decided not to go back.

The portions have gotten really small. The fish doesn't appear to be fresh, the deserts are basic and the service is truly hopeless. It's a small restaurant so it shouldn't be like this but seems not enough staff and those that are there don't seem to be either interested or competent. There is a bald guy who claims to be the manager and is quiet aggressive so its not a relaxing place to take your loved one. Prices are now higher.. Budget on average of $300+ for simple dinner. And booking... They don't answer the phone much so its more difficult to book.

There are plenty of nicer places on Northern Beaches with better food, service and price.

Helpful?
10 Thank occyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cottage Point Inn also viewed

Berowra Waters, Hornsby
Whale Beach, Pittwater
 
Hawkesbury Valley, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Cottage Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing