We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”
Review of The Downshire Arms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hilltown
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Downshire Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hilltown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 2, 2013

The Downshire Arms is a lovely courtyard of self catering apartments. The spec of the apartments is excellent with all you need and more. What excels the Downshire Arms is the customer service! Location is good with several surrounding towns. I can talk about customer service as I am a professional in this field with many years of quality management and customer satisfaction experience. I must single out Pauline who is an absolute natural in her customer service. Nothing is too much trouble for her. We stayed there last weekend and within 5 minutes I was thinking of when we could come back. Even the cleaner came to talk to me on the bench outside. Fantastic to see such excellent customer care.Minor downside is to avoid Saturday nights as they are a bit lively with the functions on, but with good natured revellers! A major wow for the Downshire Arms and Pauline.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harryNewry, Owner at The Downshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2013

Hi Paul , thank you for your review. we really appreciate feedback and we are so glad you and your wife enjoyed your stay with us. You are absolutely right, Pauline is a natural in customer service and would go out of her way to help anyone and it is this attitude which makes her such an asset to the business. We hope to see you again in the future.
p.s. Hope your leg gets better soon.
Harry O' Hare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 93 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our apartment was basic, with no frills (not even toiletries) but spacious, well finished and spotlessly clean. Brilliant location but we would not stay again at the week-end as the area outside the apartments is used as a beer garden and for smokers. This meant a lot of noise until late and the next morning we were looking out at broken glass, cigarette ends and litter and as the hotel was closed on the Monday, they were still there the following day. Also with no staff available on the second day and no phone number, we had no way of contacting them when problems arose in the apartment.
We did not eat in the restaurant so cannot comment on that, but Pauline was extremely helpful and friendly when we arrived.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greenmole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harryNewry, Owner at The Downshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2013

I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us as much as you could have but you are absolutely correct in what you said, the courtyard does be used on a busy night as a smoking area. Since the smoking ban came in , this is the only area we have and at weekends, it can become noisy. As regards the broken glass and cigarettes, this should have been cleaned up the next day and was a fault on our behalf and one which will not be repeated. In terms of toiletries, we do supply shampoo and shower gel in the bathroom cupboard, in addition to which we supply clean towels, extra pillows, tea and coffee making facilities etc and I hope someday in the future you will return to us to try out our restaurant as I feel you missed out, but perhaps midweek as you said and not at the weekend when it can be quite lively.
Regards
Harry O' Hare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Arrived Friday 6 September no problems checking in. My partner had booked this weekend away for us and our 5 year old daughter. Loved our apartment bright spacious and clean. Breakfast hamper provided yoghurts, cereal, fruit and croissants. Kitchen had everything you could need. Two bedrooms, one triple and one double. Booked on Groupon offer. We dined in the bar Fruday night and lunched Saturday. I will warn you superb food but starters are huge! I had spring rolls delicious followed by Salmon - food heaven. My partner had mushrooms followed by steak our daughter had brie followed by chicken gougons food alone worth coming back for! Staff so friendly couldnt do enough for us. Eugene and young pleasant girl. Great central location for Mournes hope to return as we loved it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kabelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just returned from a 2 night break in Hilltown.The apartment was great clean, tidy and well laid out. We had 2 dinners & one lunch in the restaurant during our stay and all the good was fantastic! The salted chilli chicken starter was delicous! As was the chicken spring rolls! My fiance says he would drive the whole way down just for the spring rolls! staff were all very friendly and helpful. great atmosphere in the bar on a saturday nite. really enjoyed the experience and hope to return again in the near future!

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2nd shalet which slept 3 people. my sister stayed in 1st shalet which slept 5 peopl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hannah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

10 of us went hillwalking in the Mourne mountains from spell a dam to silent valley. Returned to the Downshires self catered chalets to freshen up and on to dinner in the restaurant. Rooms clean,smart & modern. Food great, pints good also. Harry & Pauline were great hosts. Slept like a baby.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Oil789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harryNewry, Owner at The Downshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Glad you enjoyed your experience with us here at The Downshire Arms. It is this sort of positive feedback that makes our job worthwhile. Hope to see you again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have just returned from a two night mid-week stay at the Downshire Arms and had a lovely time. The apartment was very comfortable and very clean. We had lunch in the bar on Wednesday and the food was excellent. The staff were all very helpful and friendly which gave the place a great atmosphere. A great base for exploring a lovely part of the country. Will definitely be returning in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms excellent. Make sure you try the stuffed Pitta Pocket. Excellent!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank neilbaird2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harryNewry, Owner at The Downshire Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2013

Hi Hannah, we are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon. hope you got to see a bit of The Mournes when you were here and take in a bit of shopping in Newry. you can tell your husband we will have plenty of spring rolls on standby for your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We called in for lunch and were very pleased with the food, service and the atmosphere. We had been told that the hotel had been recently refurbished and it was worth a visit and we were not disappointed.

The excellent refurbishment provided a classic/ contemporary feel and was bright and clean, with a good menu.

This was definitely worth a visit and I would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Downshire Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Downshire Arms

Address: Main Street, Hilltown | Newry, Hilltown BT34 5UH, Northern Ireland
Location: United Kingdom > Northern Ireland > County Down > Hilltown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hilltown
Price Range: $67 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Downshire Arms Hilltown is a Georgian period building which has been sympathetically restored to keep the period features. It has a restaurant, bar, function room and six self catering apartments and is the ideal venue for a quiet midweek break or a lively weekend getaway. It is only a ten minute drive from Newry and set at the foothills of The Mourne Mountains with breath-taking views of the countryside. It is an excellent location for sightseeing, walking, fishing, mountain biking or shopping with all these amenities only a short drive away ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing