We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Wonderful hospitality" (David & Maureen J)”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riversong Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 22, 2014

This is, without doubt, the best B&B we have stayed in anywhere. We returned in January for our second visit, and hope to return next year. As the name Riversong suggests, the location is idyllic and peaceful. The house is beautiful, and there are many lovely walks on the doorstop, not to mention fly fishing, kayaking, mountain biking etc. Ann is a wonderful host and provides fresh flowers in the bedrooms and on the breakfast table, very comfortable beds, delicious cooked breakfasts, an impressive collection of books. She went out of her way to fix David up with fly fishing, guided by local experts. We stayed in the upstairs suite which is spacious and has a great outlook over the Clutha river, and the mountains beyond. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaureenandDavid... J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

33 - 39 of 152 reviews

Reviewed February 17, 2014

Jenny and I only had a brief stay with Ann but thoroughly enjoyed her charming hospitality. She provides a great breakfast in the morning so you need to make it clear what your timings and plans are for the day. Very peaceful here at Riversong - we slept well, and wished we had had the chance to stay longer to enjoy the river and walks. Many thanks Ann.

Room Tip: The room on the front, while having a perfect vista and well equipped, was on the small side for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

In January 14 my wife and I were Anne's guests at Riversong . The accommodation is in her beautiful home on the banks of the River Clutha . We had the downstairs suite complete with veranda overlooking the river - an idyllic spot . Breakfasts were excellent , prepared exactly to our taste .
Our particular interest was in local opportunities for fly fishing and Anne came up trumps arranging for us to be expertly briefed on the best sites .
The quiet , peaceful setting made Riversong the perfect haven for this pair of weary traveller to relax and enjoy the delights of Wanaka.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JohnMcDll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

My wife and I spent three weeks in New Zealand and Riversong was one of those few stays that really felt like home. Ann is an amazing hostess, and it's clear she loves taking care of her guests. We needed to leave quite early on our last day, and she was kind enough to pack some food for us in the refrigerator. When I came down with a cold, she had medicine in hand.

Our room had a wonderful view of the river and was located on a side-street with very little traffic. It was only a few minutes to Wanaka, which was perfect for exploring the town (or going canyoning or hiking) and coming back to relax. When we first settled down in our room, my wife and I both let out a collective ahhhhhhhh! That's how relaxing it is.

If you're going to spend some time in Wanaka, or even need a rest on your way to Queenstown or Mt. Cook, Riversong is a great place to be.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HikinAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

What a fantastic place to stay, on the river, loads of walks or rides just outside the front door, 5 minutes front the centre of Wanaka. It's peaceful with stunning gardens and a delicious breakfast is served each morning. We were full after the fruit, muesli and muffins. You may not have room for the cooked breakfast served afterwards.

And the host Ann, what a lovey lady, always ready to help and tell you about the local attractions.

The B&B itself is clean and well kept and Anne made us feel very welcome suggesting restaurants and making bookings for us.

Room Tip: The downstairs room is quite compact and the bathroom is very bright. Upstairs is much larger and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2014

After a quick tour of Wanaka on new years eve, we were so happy to arrive at Riversong's beautiful and peaceful location next to the river. The house is beautiful, the downstairs room was really lovely and Ann was a wonderful host. We were treated to homemade cookies each afternoon and the breakfast was a great way to start the day. We stayed in the downstairs room which has a door straight out to the front deck. There are some great river walks that literally run past the front of the house and 2 days wasn't really enough time to fully explore the surrounding area. We stayed for 2 nights and would happily stay again if we return to Wanaka.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Curlytotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Located in a peaceful environment, surrounded by beautiful meadows and rivers, this lovely and somewhat quaint country house is definitely our favourite accommodation during our two weeks trip in New Zealand. After a few minutes stepped into the room, one cannot miss the owner's love of the "Tiffany blue" colour. It's obvious that every furnitures and decorations are deliberately chosen and placed by its owner. Every detail is carefully designed. It happens to be that my wife immediately fell in love with every corner of the house. It seems to me that her dream house is just like that.
The host, Ann, is very welcoming and helpful, provide us with tons of useful information. A detail worth noting is that, knowing my wife caught a cold that day, she made her a glass of lemonade with honey late in the night, just before bedtime.
Hopefully we will stay there someday in the future.
Many thanks Ann. What you have done is much appreciated by both of us.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nan Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.8 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.9 mi away
Maple Lodge
Maple Lodge
#15 of 53 in Wanaka
163 reviews
3.5 mi away
Avalanche Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
362 reviews
2.5 mi away
Distinction Wanaka
Distinction Wanaka
#10 of 53 in Wanaka
274 reviews
3 mi away
Te Wanaka Lodge
Te Wanaka Lodge
#17 of 53 in Wanaka
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riversong Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversong Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Wicklow Terrace | Albert Town, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $150 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality bed & breakfast accommodation in a unique riverside setting just minutes from Wanaka town and the lake. Guestrooms have en-suite bathrooms & stunning river & mountain views. Cooked or continental breakfast included, guest library, internet, parking. Relax in our private gardens, enjoy river walks & superb fly fishing from our backdoor. Take advantage of our local fishing knowledge, tuition and guiding service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing