We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect combination of luxury and homey qualities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riversong Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 24, 2013

There are so many amazing details that made our stay so wonderful. Upon arrival Anne greeted and welcomed us into her home. We loved the room, we stayed in a smaller room at the front of the house, with a door onto the porch and window looking out at the river. The bed was amazingly comfortable with luxury bedding and care taken to decorate the room nicely. The bathroom was perfect- heated floors, as well as non-fogging glass- the fine details that I did not expect in a small B&B. Our room also had a tin filled with home made cookies and items to make tea. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful- fresh baked muffins with different flavors each day, a hot egg dish, cereals, toast and fresh fruit. But the best part of breakfast was chatting with Anne and Ian and getting their great advice on what to explore in Wanaka. They had great recommendations on hikes in the area and restaurants, which helped us have an amazing stay. The location of the B&B is in a small town just outside of Wanaka- but we did not mind the short drive into town- it was wonderful to be next to the river and away from many people. I was so sad the last day when it was time to leave. I would highly recommend staying at Riversong- it truly made our vacation and I can't wait to be able to return to New Zealand and stay at Riversong again in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntyJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 153 reviews

Reviewed May 27, 2013

Early May'13 my dad and I stayed at Riversong for one night, which turned out to be far too short for this lovely B&B and the warming hostility from Ann, Ian and Molly :). We were very much impressed by the house's beautiful decoration. One can tell that it's a result of an attentive work. We had to whole second floor to us with one spacious, river viewed double bedroom, one sweet, garden viewed single bedroom and a bathroom with heated floor! Such a treat for the winter stay. The area was very tranquil and soothing with the song from river Clutha. A walk along the river and a historical track nearby are a must. The breakfast was wonderful with local produces and home made muffin. Ann and Ian were very friendly. Only a short conversation with them made you feel at home. One day I will go back in Summer to learn fishing with Ian. Riversong is no doubt a rare gem. You don't often get the place where everything offered was absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gee_Niyom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Thanks once again to Anne and Ian for their wonderful hospitality and allowing us to share their lovely home and setting by the river. There are some really pleasant walks along the river if you want to stay close by or just get some fresh air in the morning/evening. The B&B itself is spotless and refreshing along with delicious breakfasts cooked daily by Anne. All the advice and information on the area is first class and honest. Short drive to Lake Wanaka. If you choose to spend a night or two here, you will not be disappointed. Many thanks again Anne & Ian.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013

One arrival the view takes your breath away and as you walk inside and meet Ann, Ian and Molly you know you are in for a really excellent stay. Everything about Riversong is top draw, the location, the rooms, the breakfast, you just can't go wrong. We stayed for three days and could have stayed longer, and we will be back and next time Ian is going to take me fishing which he may regret but will most certainly enjoy. This was our fifth B&B this trip and certainly the highlight so far. An early evening chat over wine solving the Australian cricket teams woes and discussing the political issues of the day was great fun.

Room Tip: My advice forget Queenstown keep driving and stay in the area it is mush friendlier and enjoyable
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Aptly named, guests are lulled to sleep by the song of the Clutha River. From other reviews, we had expected, and were rewarded with quality accommodation, breakfast and overall care. The bonus we hadn't anticipated was the intelligent company of Ann and Ian. They have managed to strike the perfect balance between making you part of their home, and providing privacy, and between helping you make the most out of your time there wihtout taking over your holiday plans. We were sad to leave after just one night.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank megan m m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

A warm hug from Ian & Ann accompanied by Molly's wagging black tail mark our arrival at Riversong for the seventh consecutive year. Always in February or early March, our visit timed to coincide with the Cicada's arrival on the river, one of the best times of the year to catch Trout on the Clutha and other nearby rivers. For us now, coming to Riversong is like a trip to visit friends or relatives. Sort of like coming home or better still as everything is done for you and the place just keeps on improving.

Ann, a retired nurse and Ian a retired Lawyer run this B&B like a fine Swiss watch. Every thing from baking bread,biscuits,muffins and preparing wonderful breakfasts to ensuring that the fine bed linen and bath towels are always freshly washed and ironed and changed more often than
many of the 5 star hotels I have stayed in. The house is immaculate and finely burnished and the zen like garden is manicured and inspiring. Moreover, when Ian finishes his ironing chores he is a fine Trout Fishing Guide and has put me in front of numerous trophy sized Trout, although catching them is quite another story.

We stay as usual in the upstairs suite overlooking the river generally anywhere from 5 to10 nights each trip. Sleep comes easily here under a fine duna on crisp Autumn nights listening to the rush and 'river songs' of the Clutha and peering out at the star filled sky,the moon and the silhouette of the Southern Alps. All all of this through the open French doors of the "Juliet balcony" adjoining the room. Just why wouldn't you return ?

Which reminds me now, to book now for next year !

Room Tip: Definitely go for the upstairs suite !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cityboyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

During the 14 days in NZ, Riversong is the best B&B I stayed. The location of the house is perfect, the view from the house is really nice. And the house is homey and comfortable. Ann and Ian are lovely. They are really nice people, make you feel at home. And I have to say the breakfast was the best we had in NZ!!! And they have a really good dog, she is very smart and Well-behaved. Since the house is not in the town centre of Wanaka, there is no light at night, we saw the milky way! It is really amazing! Next time if my family go to NZ, we will stay there for days!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.1 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
374 reviews
2.9 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
3.0 mi away
Te Wanaka Lodge
Te Wanaka Lodge
#17 of 53 in Wanaka
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#5 of 53 in Wanaka
259 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#4 of 53 in Wanaka
99 reviews
1.1 mi away
Maple Lodge
Maple Lodge
#13 of 53 in Wanaka
163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riversong Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversong Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Wicklow Terrace | Albert Town, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $150 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality bed & breakfast accommodation in a unique riverside setting just minutes from Wanaka town and the lake. Guestrooms have en-suite bathrooms & stunning river & mountain views. Cooked or continental breakfast included, guest library, internet, parking. Relax in our private gardens, enjoy river walks & superb fly fishing from our backdoor. Take advantage of our local fishing knowledge, tuition and guiding service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing