We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Great B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riversong Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #21 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Absolutely Great B&B”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed at Riversong for three nights as part of our two week meandering around central south island. Ann and Ian were the perfect hosts, with information on the region, and the breakfasts were very, very good. The room overlooking the Clutha river was very comfortable. If you have an interest in fly fishing, this is the place to stay. If you don't have an interest in fly fishing, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
17
114
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Riversong is an absolute gem.We were very warmly welcomed by Ann, Ian and dog,Mollie and every hospitality was extended to us.The delicious breakfast, home-baked cookies and muffins, vases of flowers from the beautiful garden, not to mention the magnificent vistas all set Riversong apart from the others. Could not find better. We loved it.
Jennifer and Brian, Melbourne

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenniferandbrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights here on our NZ tour and were very happy with the accommodation here. Our room with small balcony overlooked the river with a great view. It is a few miles out of Wanaka but not a problem to drive in for attractions / meals. Ian and Anne were very good hosts and the breakfast was very good.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Phil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stayed at Riversong B&B for 4 nights during the last Warbirds Over Wanaka and had a great time there. Ann and Ian really made us feel welcome and at home.
We had the ground floor bedroom with private access and a veranda with a superb view on the garden and the river. Super to relax after a tiring day at the airshow...and even better when you find out Ann has left a little note saying " your beers haven't disappeared they are in the fridge..."!
You can also get a great view in the morning when the mist rises above the river amidst the poplar trees...

The room is not huge, but there is enough space and the bed is firm but comfortable. The room is tastefuuly decorated and the modern bathroom has a heated floor... If you wish to unpack, there is a shelf and plenty coat hangers. The bed is equipped with electric blankets, and what a nice surprise when we came back late in the evening (it was autumn and nigths were chilly) to find Ann had switched it on for me!
As in any B&B you'll find tea and coffee making facility and the nice touch of tasty homemade biscuits.

Talking about food, another real plus of the Riversong B&B is the breakfast! Ann is a very good cook and she takes pride to cook every day a different hot breakfast (no risk of a "bacon&egg overdose" there!). We even had delicious homemade hot crossbuns for Good Friday! And it's not a problem to have it early (we wanted to be at Warbirds Over Wanaka at the opening time).

All in all, we enjoyed very much Riversong B&B and wished we could stay a bit longer and enjoy the company of Ann & Ian in their lovely B&B set in beautiful gardens (it's Ann's pride). We'll definitely be back next time we're in Wanaka...

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NadAndCo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2012

We spent 7 wonderful nights during winter (July2012) at Riversong B&B. The beautiful home is situated in a quiet surrounding with breathtaking views over the Clutha River. The upstairs unit was warm, comfortable and spotless with cleverly designed storage. Ann even offered us a "warm dry room" for our wet ski clothes. Riversong was presented to us with love. We felt very "at home". The hosts Ann & Ian and even the cute, cuddly dog did everything to let us feel welcome. They shared their extensive local knowledge (also providing pamflets and travel information books) to advise us on things to do and see. The highlight each day was waking up with soft relaxing music and then going for breakfast and enjoying the delicious home made delights prepared with love. It is an easy and quick drive from Riversong B&B to Wanaka - a beautiful situated town and breathtaking surrounding. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend this B&B very highly. I am sure we will be back soon.

Room Tip: The upstairs unit is ideal for a family of 3 with a seperate room for the child.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlebury, Vermont
1 review
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Riversong and could not have been happier. Ian and Ann have such a stunning location and did everything humanly possible to make us as comfortable as possible. It is such a relaxing spot, and is the perfect space for a retreat with two fabulous hosts.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Corinne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victor Harbor SA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

River-song was presented to us ‘with love’ and Ann and Ian did all they could to see our stay was a wonderful occasion. The well-presented upstairs unit (With views over the Clutha River) was warm, comfortable and clean and the unit included all the information you could ever need as a traveller in New Zealand. The gardens were beautiful, and the setting delightful. The highlight was a wonderful cooked breakfast utilising local products and homemade jams. We even left with muffins to eat on our journey.
We appreciated the willingness of both Ann and Ian to share their extensive local knowledge and to advise us further on things to see and do. Their pursuit of excellence and service in hospitality and accommodation make this spot a must for discerning tourists. It has our highest recommendation.

Room Tip: Our experience of the upstairs suite was a good one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scenicencounter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
4.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
16.0 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 52 in Wanaka
346 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#3 of 52 in Wanaka
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Montrose Bed & Breakfast Wanaka
3.0 mi away
Copper Beech Wanaka - Luxury Bed & Breakfast
2.4 mi away
Websters on Wanaka Lodge
Websters on Wanaka Lodge
#16 of 52 in Wanaka
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riversong Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversong Bed & Breakfast

Property: Riversong Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5 Wicklow Terrace | Albert Town, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality bed & breakfast accommodation in a unique riverside setting just minutes from Wanaka town and the lake. Guestrooms have en-suite bathrooms & stunning river & mountain views. Cooked or continental breakfast included, guest library, internet, parking. Relax in our private gardens, enjoy river walks & superb fly fishing from our backdoor. Take advantage of our local fishing knowledge, tuition and guiding service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing