We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint riverside property on quiet, dead-end street”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wanaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riversong Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #20 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Reviewed June 28, 2011

Hosts Ann and Ian were very cordial in welcoming us to their bed & breakfast. With a late arrival, we were taken to our rooms and could get some much-needed rest. Close to Wanaka; a little tricky to find but worth it. Good breakfast. Ian can assist with fishing information. Would recommend! Kathy & Greg, Wisconsin, USA

Room Tip: B&B; we reserved directly thru internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katmom53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (152)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

98 - 104 of 152 reviews

Reviewed June 23, 2011

We stayed here as two couples my partner and me, as well as my parents. Both bedrooms were lovely. Upstairs a bit more private, downstairs better views but a lot of windows...makes sense. Bathrooms are similar, with only downside being no bath.
We celebrated our engagement with a delicious dinner prepared by Ann complete with NZ Pavlova!
I think the is the best spot for a B & B in Wanka and would recommend booking if available!

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireLuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2011

After staying at a few New Zealand Bed and Breakfasts I'm afraid we started to take a warm welcome for granted, but I should say that Ann and Ian did give us a very warm welcome, and helpful advice, tailored to our interests, about what to see and do in the area. For us, the highlights were Ann's cooking (book dinner if you can) and the location, waking up to see the mist hanging over the Upper Clutha River, which runs past no more than 50 metres from the bedroom window.

Room Tip: Get ground floor bedroom looking out on the river
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank jfbp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2011

We return to Riversong for the views, the centrality of its location and the wealth of information about New Zealand, its people, its sights, and its fishing from Ian and Ann.
Breakfast is professionally presented and great tasting. The books in the room would keep you inside except the Mt. Aspiring walks and Lake Wanaka are so close.
We have been in New Zealand for nearly two years, and Riversong is a required visit each season.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waikaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2011

Ann and Ian were lovely warm welcoming hosts. What a lovely couple! They are so proud and passionate about NZ - rightly so.
Ann's breakfast was wonderful - Black Doris plums, mini pancakes (freshly cooked) and all the usual breakfast goodies. We had a lovely room on the ground floor with a patio to sit and sip our tea and read one of the many interesting books from our room. Lovely tranquil spot by the Clutha River.
Good local knowledge from Ian and he was keen to hear of our adventures at breakfast.
It rained while we were there but it just added to the atmosphere, especially Haast Pass!

Our last morning there was a sad one due to the Christchurch earthquake the previous day. We know how deeply upset Ann and Ian were and best them well.

We will be back in a couple of years - Matukituki valley is calling!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaybly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2011

Riversong is a lovely b&b with very comfortable and beautifully made up bedrooms. We stayed in one of the lower floor bedrooms opening onto the front deck for a night and then the larger upstairs room. Both were very nice and quiet with lovely views out to the river and mountains in the background. The couple who run the b&b are also lovely people, bringing a calm and relaxing atmosphere to the b&b. Breakfasts were particularly delicious. There is a stunning walk along the river right from outside the b&b. We had a wonderful time staying here and would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amanda_3150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2011

We recently spent a month touring NZ and stayed in more than a dozen B&Bs most of which were very good and some excellent but Riversong was undoubtedly the best.The setting, next to the Clutha river, is beautiful and extremely relaxing.Our ground floor room,with private access to the patio, was very comfortable and had a wonderful view over the river to the mountains.
most impressive ,however was the wonderful warm welcome from Ann and Ian They couldn't have been more helpful in advising us on what to do and see in our short time in the area but our greatest treat was Ann's cooking-the breakfasts were fantastic.
It would be a wonderful place for a relaxing weekend break -our regret is that we had such a short stay and that it is so far away.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MLittle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.7 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.9 mi away
Maple Lodge
Maple Lodge
#11 of 53 in Wanaka
172 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#2 of 53 in Wanaka
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
370 reviews
16.7 mi away
Cardrona Hotel
Cardrona Hotel
#3 of 53 in Wanaka
358 reviews
4.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
834 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riversong Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riversong Bed & Breakfast

Address: 5 Wicklow Terrace | Albert Town, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $150 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality bed & breakfast accommodation in a unique riverside setting just minutes from Wanaka town and the lake. Guestrooms have en-suite bathrooms & stunning river & mountain views. Cooked or continental breakfast included, guest library, internet, parking. Relax in our private gardens, enjoy river walks & superb fly fishing from our backdoor. Take advantage of our local fishing knowledge, tuition and guiding service. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing