We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sweet as....the perfect place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Altamont Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Altamont Lodge
Ranked #6 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Pays Basque
2 reviews
“Sweet as....the perfect place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

We only stayed one night,and would have loved to spend more time in such a pleasant and comfortable place! Everything was perfect.The best value for money you can find in
Wanaka,and with such, friendly hosts..

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank muxu64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    20
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
31
25
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dundalk, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

I spent 7 days here,I was attending a wedding close by,noleene and rod were utterly brilliant-looked after me so well-I cannot say enough good things about my experience here-loved every minute-rod has a great sense of humour and noleen is just lovely dropped me off at the wedding venue so I would not be late and washed my shirt for me too-fabulous-Kitchen has everything u need,showers and toilets spotless

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martDdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed with our 6 month old daughter and the hosts were very friendly and accommodating!

The facilities were exceptionally clean and the kitchen was well equipped!

The hosts were full of helpful information about the local area and the walk to Rocky Mountain via Diamond Lake was fantastic!

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Taane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014

I couldnt agree more with the rave reviews. This place is really a cut above the rest - spotlessly clean and you have your own space in the refridgerator and storage. Rod provided many helpful suggestions and made every effort to make our stay delightful. the kitchen and the common living spaces are simply wonderful. There was another group who were a lot of noise pretty late at night and Rod very rightfully asked them to lower their voices keeping the other guests in mind. i couldnt recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Red_Panda2218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Région De Bruxelles-Capitale, Belgium
Level Contributor
458 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

This place is truly a 'gem' and I use the term in all authenticity and very sparingly. Rod and his wife are exceptional people and very helpful and friendly from the very beginning.

Secondly, the room and the whole living area and kitchen are like a small boutique ski lodge. This is in no shape way or form a backpacker hostel and must I say a very unique place.

It is clean, tidy, excellent location and staffed by the best 'kiwis' one will encounter. Rates are competitive and everything is simply wow!

10/10 on all counts

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hassan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2013

I was pretty disappointed at the rude treatment we received. Some guests complained about the 'noise' we were making. Completely unfair. While we did come in late, not one of us had said a single word and we had been in the building for less than a minute before some lunatic came running out to tell us off.

In the morning, someone made further complaints about noise. Even going as far as saying we had guitars!

The person running the show then came into our room and barked orders at us to leave. He even came right up to where I was sleeping and shouted at me in particular. I felt that he used his size and the fact that he was male to intimidate me.

He calmed down when we explained our version of events. He then went on to tell us all about his inappropriate way of dealing with some drunks in the evening before. None of us paticularly appreciated this after being shouted at and being treated so horribly.

I found the manager's behaviour to be very inappropriate, intimidating and rude. Even if we had been singing with guitars and making real noise I think he could have dealt with us in a different manner.



  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fayehtaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2013

everything is brand new and very clean. the kitchen is the most spacious one we've ever seen throughout NZ. the kitchen facilities/utensils are of good quality. they even have free Jacuzzi hot tub available. The managers were extremely friendly. The location is not far from town and provide a quiet place to relax. The bed is also very comfy and very near bathroom. I would highly recommend this place to anyone going to Wanaka.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank andreooi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.4 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
YHA Wanaka
YHA Wanaka
#2 of 47 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
1.4 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altamont Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altamont Lodge

Property: Altamont Lodge
Address: 121 Mt. Aspiring Road | PO Box 289, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Altamont Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
* Quality, wood-lined 10 bedroom Lodge * Large lounge with cosy wood-burning fire * Large modern, light kitchen/dining area with complimentary tea/coffee * All bedrooms have quality double beds together with a single or in some cases bunk beds as well * Friendly welcoming staff * Separate TV lounge * Internet available * Drying room * Laundry * Store room * Free spa pool, barbecue and tennis court for guests* Within easy walking distance of down town Wanaka * On the arterial route to probably NZ best ski field. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Booking.com so you can book your Altamont Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing