We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Helpful hosts and comfortable room”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment
Ranked #13 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
SIngapore
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Helpful hosts and comfortable room”
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Linda and Richard are my hosts during my stay at Criffel Peak. I had a few conversation with them (though they were away for a while and handed me the keys to the whole cottage during my one night stay there).
They've migrated from Britain and though their accents are strong, I had a most wonderful stay under their hospitable guidance.
The room they provided me is very clean and has a nice big window and a large cosy, snuggy bed.
Richard even offered to cook breakfast for his guests and I had the honour of having a home-cooked breakfast of scrambled eggs and fresh toasts.
Wonderful hosts and certainly a recommended place to stay.

  • Liked — The friendly hosts who trust me with their house keys
  • Disliked — Could be even closer to Wanaka beaches
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Whitebells666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    16
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
27
172
17
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2008

We just returned from NZ and we felt the most at home staying at Criffel Peak B&B. Caroline and Susie are great hosts. We were there 3 nights, and morning breakfasts were made fresh. Day hiking was our primary goal in seeing the Wanaka area. The hikes they recommended were right on! Beautiful scenery, appropriate physical challenge, and easy to find places. They too enjoy the outdoors, so the advice came easy for them. We've stayed at other places, be it B&Bs or motor lodges, and many times our hosts aren't very familiar with the local, independent, outdoor activities. We like to explore on our own, and not have to rely on tour groups for the experience. The B&B was about 1 km from town, so a nice evening walk to town for dinner. They gave great recommendations for restaurants, even ones to possibly avoid. They know locals with the tour companies to help steer you in the right direction if that's what you choose. The accomodation was clean and comfortable and we stayed in an ensuite room. However, we didn't look at the other 2 rooms to know if they are ensuite, too. Fresh goodies for afternoon tea were welcoming after our day's activity. If you enjoy a local, smaller and comfortable setting with hosts who enjoy their surroundings, you don't want to miss out on this one!

  • Liked — Advice, hosts, proximity to town
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vblvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2008

Suzie and Caroline really know how to run a top-notch B&B. The facilities are clean, charming, comfortable, and well located...only a 5-minute walk to town center. But, more importantly, Suzie and Caroline provide a level of service I've never experienced in a B&B. They made me feel so comfortable and at home and they knew the area so well. The advice they provided was invaluable...including bike routes, restaurants, tours, and they happily answered all matters of questions I had. They really made a difference in my Wanaka experience and I would give them 6 stars if TripAdvisor had such a category.

  • Liked — Caroline and Suzie's hospitality.
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LosAngelesNormie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2008

January 21, 2008
We stayed at Criffel Peak at the last leg of our 3 week trip to New Zealand and Australia over the New Year. The hosts, Christine and Suzie, were wonderful hosts, very welcoming, extremely friendly, and very, very helpful in pointing out local things to do, especially hikes, as well as providing recommendation and guidance in picking out good restaurant. They provided a delicious breakfast every morning (we were there 3 days) and the bedroom and bath were spotless. They went above and beyond in their hospitality. The location was ideal, too, just a short drive or walk to downtown Wanaka. I would recommend Criffe Peak to any traveller who enjoys staying at a B&B for the same reason we do: all the extra hints and tips about a locale from residents who love what they do and where they are doing it.
If we come back to Wanaka again (which I hope we will), we'll definitely come back to Criffel Peak.

  • Liked — Friendliness of owners, knowledge of the area
  • Disliked — not always a strong internet signal (but no big deal, as we were always able to get on at some point during the day)
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank cricketToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
1.2 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment

Property: Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment
Address: 98 Hedditch Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A cosy, modern cottage with 3 rooms of B&B all with en-suite or private bathrooms. Complimentary wireless internet, afternoon tea, large sunny deck and Splodge the crazy cat! We also have a 2 bedroom self-contained apartment at the top of the garden, perfect for families or 2 couples travelling together, sleeps 5 comfortably. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Criffel Peak View B&B and Apartment reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing