We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosts and location where excellent”
Review of Maple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maple Lodge
Ranked #12 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Hosts and location where excellent”
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Maple Lodge was just outside Wanake and better for it,total peace.Berney and Paul were excelent hosts with plenty of advice when requested Pauls breakfasts where to die for.
We took their advice and went on 'a river journey , by jet boat,whilst the weather was mixed the journey made up for it. The toy and transport meuseum is a must ,especially if you are a senior and want to see all the toys you used to play with and the Puzzle house is worth a visit.
Many thanks to both of them.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryhodgkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
124
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Rooms were depicted on their website to be larger than they were. Disappointing that breakfast was only served in the dining room and not in our room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplelodge, Owner at Maple Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are disappointed that you did not give us the opportunity to address your comments during your stay with us. You were also kind enough to complete a feedback form and did not raise either of these points on it. On the contrary, you said that we had met your expectations and that you would recommend us to other travellers.

We believe the pictures on our website are a true representation of our suites and have been taken with a standard camera with no distortions applied. We did have larger, Premium rooms available on the dates of your stay but you did not choose to book one of these.

With regard to breakfast service, we offer a breakfast menu that includes continental and a range of freshly prepared, cooked to order, hot options that are served in the dining room. If you had asked to have breakfast in your room we would have done our utmost to accommodate your request.

We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2011

A pleasure to return to after a busy day in Wanaka or sightseeing; surrounded by beautiful countryside and spectacular walks.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhambour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We travelled around NZ on our honeymoon and The Maple Lodge was without any doubt one of the best accomodation, combining welcoming hosts that made us feel at home together with superb rooms with all comforts and top quality bedding. Paul and Bernadette offered us a glass of wine at our arrival and in the morning tey prepared a wonderful breakfast with delicious pancakes and home-made muffins that were also offered at our departure. Nothing to say, if you pass from Wanaka, you have to visit them!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCAPIZZO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2011

Our big regret was not booking for more nights. The B&B is gorgeous - brand new and so obviously built to accommodate guests. The location is stunning. The owners are lovely. And the food was fantastic. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MDB82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2011

The Lodge is beautifully situated with mountain view just a few minutes from Wanaka downtown. Our hosts Paul and Bernadette were very friendly and helped us with selecting great day walks near Wanaka and with booking of a skydive during our 2 day stay. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the bathroom has a spacious shower.
Breakfast is very good with a lot of choices, eg eggs, pancakes, muffins, homemade jam and more.
We enjoyed coming back to this quiet place after our day walks and we would certainly come back.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlosKorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here. Everything was clean and tidy. The rooms were big and comforting. Only wish we'd stayed longer. The staff are really, really nice. We recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 285Atl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
783 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
509 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#8 of 52 in Wanaka
115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#4 of 52 in Wanaka
257 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#7 of 52 in Wanaka
91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lodge

Property: Maple Lodge
Address: Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Lodge is set within a seven acre maple tree plantation and situated within 4minutes drive of the beautiful Lake Wanaka. Fabulous mountain views greet you from your luxurious guest suite. The seven guest suites are individually designed with a modern country theme. Newly built and affording modern comforts; air-conditioning, heated en-suite floors, broadband internet access, TV, DVD and spa. Maple Lodge offers unobtrusive luxury with a homely ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing