We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous lodge and such great hospitality!”
Review of Maple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maple Lodge
Ranked #13 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous lodge and such great hospitality!”
Reviewed January 7, 2009

We stayed at Maple Lodge for three nights in December 2008 - what a wonderful place! The owners, Paul and Berny and such special people, and make you so welcome from the moment you arrive. We just wished we could have stayed so much longer - we really did not want to leave!

The lodge is situated in such a perfect country location, which is so peaceful and so beautiful, and yet only a few minutes drive to the picturesque town of Wanaka, with it's wonderful restaurants and shops.

Paul and Berny have purpose built the lodge, and must say they have designed it wonderfully well. Each room has it's own patio or balcony overlooking the tranquil garden. The rooms are beautifully and tastefully furnished, are absolutely immaculate......and of course that bed..........just SO comfortable! The attention to detail is absolutely first class.

The breakfasts that Paul cooked, together with the packed lunch that Berny prepared for us one day were just so delicious. They even gave us a couple of their delicious home made muffins to take away with us, on the day we checked-out - such a lovely touch.

If you are planning on staying in the Wanaka area, please book yourself a room at Maple Lodge, as you are guaranteed to have a wonderful experience.

We will be back one day.......next time we visit New Zealand!

  • Liked — beautiful setting, and great hospitality
  • Disliked — having to leave at the end of our stay!!!!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank norah99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
124
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2008

Maple Lodge is absolutely lovely. Bernie and Paul have paid attention to both the seen and unseen details here.

The bed was the most comfortable I have ever had in any accommodation anywhere (and we travel a lot), it is even better than our bed at home! Crispy white sheets. Everything spotlessly clean. Soundproofed walls and doors. The place is nicely located - just outside the town in a rural setting with nice views of the gardens and mountains, but close enough to be a quick drive to restaurants in the evening, and close to all the attractions.

The bathroom was large with a huge shower and I loved the underfloor heating and warm towel racks (we were there skiing in winter). J enjoyed at spa (outdoors) gazing up at the stars.

The breakfasts were lovely - really tasty, not at all greasy full breakfasts and beautiful freshly home-baked muffins.

Paul and Bernie provided advice on great restaurants in town. They were always on hand to provide jugs of milk or whatever whimsical thing us tourists were asking for/about.

  • Liked — everything seemed to be quality plus more
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MandJAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We had previously visited North Island in 1993. Now we wanted to see South Island a much overdue visit.
We flew direct to Queenstown and then drove over the mountain pass to Wanaka with such Fantastic views all the way .
On arrival at Maple Lodge we were shown to our large luxury bedroom room complete with a shower/wet room big enough for two.Our own veranda to enjoy the setting sun.
Paul and Bernadette offered much welcomed refreshment with home made award winning Muffins and home made jams.
The breakfast menu had all the usual qualities being home made just how we wanted it but the Fresh fruit filled Pancake is not to be missed.
The Lodge is contemporary yet with the inclusion of original timber features it has a very homely and has a welcoming atmosphere.
With so many restaurant in the town evening meals were easily arranged by Paul. Sitting overlooking the lake with good food and company was something quite special.
The opportunity to meet fellow guests in the evening with a glass of wine gave us the chance to ensure we did not miss the hidden treasures the area had to offer. Our hosts were there to contribute and sort the itinerary.
The Wanaka airport is only 2 miles down the road and our holiday highlight was to be picked up by helicopter from our own front door and shown the glaciers and lakes.
A location not to be missed. Fantastic.

  • Liked — Excellent quality of accommodation and superb location,
  • Disliked — Still thinking , nothing comes to mind
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank WilliamWestMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, Queensland
1 review
Reviewed July 20, 2008

The rooms were beautiful and warm. It felt very comfortable and natural to stay there. Paul and Berny, were fantasic hosts and catered to every whim.

  • Liked — Great Breakfast
  • Disliked — GPS didn't pick up Road
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bernadettej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
Reviewed July 8, 2008

Our most favourite place in NZ and the best night's sleep in our trip. Fabulous location with the maple trees fantastic in the mountain setting. Maple Lodge is a very comfortable B&B lodge. The decor is beautiful with great use of recycled beams both inside and outside. Our room was spacious, spotlessly clean with fabulous linen and furnishings. I loved the heated floor in the bathroom! Bernie & Paul did a wonderful job looking after us. After our drive from Fox their warm welcome with a cup of tea and homemade cake was just perfect. Breakfasts were great - mouthwaterng pancakes served with local fruit was certainly my favourite and I took the recipe home. Wanaka is close by and has a great selection of places to eat but on one night we really didn't feel like eating out again so Bernie & Paul happily supplied plates and cutlery for our takeaway that we ate watching a DVD on their super huge plasma TV. We stayed 2 nights and wished that we could have stayed longer but other parts of NZ were planned for our trip. We will definately be back to stay next time we pass through Wanaka.

  • Liked — Friendly hosts, spotlessly clean and modern
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel-Ally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.6 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
509 reviews
2.9 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
2.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#8 of 52 in Wanaka
115 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#4 of 52 in Wanaka
257 reviews
3.2 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lodge

Property: Maple Lodge
Address: Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Lodge is set within a seven acre maple tree plantation and situated within 4minutes drive of the beautiful Lake Wanaka. Fabulous mountain views greet you from your luxurious guest suite. The seven guest suites are individually designed with a modern country theme. Newly built and affording modern comforts; air-conditioning, heated en-suite floors, broadband internet access, TV, DVD and spa. Maple Lodge offers unobtrusive luxury with a homely ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing