We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maple Lodge
Ranked #13 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“pleasant stay”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Maple Lodge is an excellent bed and breakfast. The owners recommended a running track which was interesting, the room was very comfortable with a pretty view - and the cooked breakfast delicious! A very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
122
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Such a wonderful relaxing stay, Gorgeous surroundings, and tasteful room decor. The hosts are absolute naturals - NOT 'trying to hard' at all (as another guest wrote) They are so polite and welcoming. Breakfasts are AMAZING - they have a menu! Next time we're in Wanaka we will definitely stay again. It's situated right underneath Mt Iron which we walked up both mornings before breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kateandrichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Maple Lodge is a wonderful place to stay. The hosts are truly wonderful and make you feel very welcome. The breakfast provided by them is so good and gets you on your way for the day. It is lovely and quite with the sounds of sheep in the distance. I highly recommend this place to anyone looking for a taste of hospitality in New Zealand

By the way, interesting fact - the rooms are all named after trees in New Zealand! On our many walks, we came across those trees. It's a great way to bring the ambiance of nature into the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babsMississauga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

A bit of a schlep out of town, the property is nicely proportioned and the room clean and comfortable. Paul and Berny try very hard - perhaps too hard - they sought to engage us in small talk at every opportunity; some people may welcome that - we dont; particularly not after having explained we had been travelling for five hours to get there! Were offered a welcome cup of tea but had to collect it from the kitchen ourselves.

Breakfast was OK - but not at all excellent by NZ standards. Internet was slow and limited to 100MB. No minibar in the room - it all felt a bit clinical and controlled.

One of its selling points is the distant views of the mountains. Get there soon if that is what you are interested in because they have planed soem 30 Maple trees between the house and the view; these are already 4-5 metres high. .

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Preposterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This B and B was immaculately presented. It was spotlessly (and I really mean spotlessly!) clean throughout, the room we had was large and opened out on to a terrace with distant mountain views and the communal sitting / dining room was light, large, friendly and comfortable. Paul and Berny could not have been more welcoming, helpful, friendly and informative and we wished we had been able to stay longer than the one night our itinerary allowed. What we didn't realise until we got there was that they run a gratis shuttle service into town. This meant we could go into Wanaka itself and have a good meal and some wine, without worrying about driving, without having to taxi both ways and have all the advantages of a peaceful out-of-town site with lovely grounds. Oh, and the bed was really comfortable, too and I don't think we had a better breakfast anywhere in NZ. Ten out of ten!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnwiththewind47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

When I stay in these boutique bed and breakfast locations, which are almost unique to New Zealand, I judge them on three criteria.

The layout out of the property and the rooms sense of specialness.

The passion of our hosts for offering hospitality.

The quality of the breakfasts.

In all three regards Maple Lodge delivers I fell at home, welcomed but crucially not in someones home.

Paul and Bernie were the perfect hosts knowledgable indeed they have built up an encyclopedic knowledge of the area, friendly and approachable. As with our previous visit they offered a full conceirge service.

The lodge is prestine clean and they have added one or two pieces which makes it a little warmer.

The breakfasts made by Paul were very good, my favourite the pancakes fruit and maple syrup.

I talk a good deal about how Trip Advisor has its fair share of passive/aggressive reviewers incapable of asking their hosts to deal with an issue but quite ready to tell the global audience how something minor went wrong which could easily be addressed. If something needed addressing Paul and Bernie would do it for you.

I do wish to emphasise two points:-

Wanaka is an absolute gem it really puzzles me that more people do not stay here rather than the more bustling Queenstown if you want a quiter more thoughtful Kiwi experience but full of life and great food options and stunning locations its all here even a small boutique £D cinema. I was pointed at Wanaka last year rather than Queenstown by a traveller whom had 25 weeks of N Z experience I am glad he did.

Maple Lodge is set apart in its own grounds minutes away from a wonderful walking track down to the river. It is a akin to staying on a farmstead in open country but is 5 minutes from Wanaka. Serenity and convienance combined.

Room Tip: The upper floors have even more stunning views toward the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We had a fantastic weekend at Maple Lodge. The entire experience cannot be faulted. The building and surrounding gardens are beautiful, the rooms are spotlessly clean and the atmosphere is relaxed. Despite all of this, the highlight of the stay was the wonderful hosts. Paul and Berny are generous and friendly people who go out of their way to make you feel comfortable and welcome. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, the outdoor spa is a treat and we were also treated to two afternoon teas with freshly baked scones and homemade jam. We would definitely stay here again and would not hesitate to recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
746 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
488 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#6 of 52 in Wanaka
83 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#5 of 52 in Wanaka
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lodge

Property: Maple Lodge
Address: Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Lodge is set within a seven acre maple tree plantation and situated within 4minutes drive of the beautiful Lake Wanaka. Fabulous mountain views greet you from your luxurious guest suite. The seven guest suites are individually designed with a modern country theme. Newly built and affording modern comforts; air-conditioning, heated en-suite floors, broadband internet access, TV, DVD and spa. Maple Lodge offers unobtrusive luxury with a homely ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing