We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely downstairs space and a friendly welcome”
Review of Maple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Maple Lodge
Ranked #15 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2012

A very friendly welcome from our hosts Paul & Bernie, who are happy to share their knowledge of the surrounding area and the things you can do, whilst chatting over a glass of wine.

We loved the downstairs space, and could imagine this would be a lovely location to relax during the skiing season, chewing the cud with your fellow guests after a day skiing. The lodge, whilst in a peaceful rural location, which has its plus points, is a bit of a drive out of Wanaka. You need to consider this if you want to eat out in town during the evening, which we like to do without having to consider driving afterwards.

We were allocated an upstairs room which was very well appointed and with a very comfortable bed. Although the room was not enormous, the en suite bathroom had a very good shower, but not the bath I had been expecting.

Exceptional breakfast with plenty of choices, expertly cooked by Paul, albeit I suspect that Bernie had an input with the lovely muffins! We had to make an early start on our last morning with them, and an early breakfast was very willingly accommodated.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PennyH2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 163 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2012

We took a short trip to Wanaka for Warbirds Airshow and stayed at Maple Lodge for 3 nights. Everything was fantastic - location to the airshow, super breakfast and afternon tea waiting for us when we got back. Paul & Bernie were great hosts giving recommendations and organising restaurants for us. Very comfortable accommodation we would recommend to anyone. We hope to be back for 2014 Warbirds.

Room Tip: We had a beutiful view over the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freebird45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

Maple lodge presents itself in a friendly and professional manner providing beautifully appointed rooms in a very picturesque environment. Attention to detail stood out over my stay. Bernie and Paul were wonderful hosts.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paulilander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights at Maple Lodge as part of the bridal party for a good friend's wedding- it was perfect.
The lodge is in a lovely secluded spot about 10 minutes from Wanaka; a nice escape from the town itself but still close and convenient for shopping. The Lodge itself is warm and welcoming with luxurious, spacious rooms (and extremely comfy beds). All suites have mountain views from a small private courtyard, the majority of which face north and get plenty of winter sun. We stayed during summer, but will definately be back for a ski trip at some stage. Breakfast was also delicious- homemade muffins, fresh fruit and other quality ingredients, plus good coffee.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HanaM_32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Maple Lodge was definately the highlight of the places we stayed during our holiday in New Zealand. Breakfast was fantastic I had the pancakes with bananas and bacon yum! they match any i've had back home. Very comfortable, fabulous views and very helpful hosts with great recommendations.

Room Tip: Have the pancakes for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonnnyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Do you want to relax in style...... Yes?, then this place is a must. We arrived in the late afternoon and were greeted at the door by Berny and Paul. We were invited in and offered a wine once we settled. It felt like we had been friends for ages. The rooms were beautiful, the breakfast cooked to perfection and the afternoon tea was a real treat. It was service my wife and I have never experienced before. Believe me when I tell you that you will be spoilt thoroughly and there are little hidden treats throughout your stay that will make it truly memorable. Anyone who makes an adverse comment regarding Maple Lodge Clearly stayed elsewhere and got on here by accident!!!!! Berny and Paul, we will be coming back here for sure!!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DawnRaid6714
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Paul & Berny will pamper you here. Maple Lodge is well located with great views to the surrounding mountains. The Lodge is purpose-designed and is secluded and private in its own extensive grounds, a few kilometres out of town. The Owners take care to ensure a pleasant stay, including a delicious afternoon tea with home=made scones and jams. They are very friendly and helpful and this made our 2-night stay quite delightful and memorable. I would recommend Maple Lodge to anyone visiting Wanaka.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horatio1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
810 reviews
2.8 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
518 reviews
14.7 mi away
Waiorau Homestead
Waiorau Homestead
#1 of 53 in Wanaka
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#6 of 53 in Wanaka
102 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#5 of 53 in Wanaka
261 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#4 of 53 in Wanaka
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lodge

Address: Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $169 - $254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Lodge is set within a seven acre maple tree plantation and situated within 4minutes drive of the beautiful Lake Wanaka. Fabulous mountain views greet you from your luxurious guest suite. The seven guest suites are individually designed with a modern country theme. Newly built and affording modern comforts; air-conditioning, heated en-suite floors, broadband internet access, TV, DVD and spa. Maple Lodge offers unobtrusive luxury with a homely ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing