We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maple Lodge”
Review of Maple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Maple Lodge
Ranked #15 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2011

This wonderful inn was designed and built by Paul and Bernie, the owners, and everything down to the smallest detail is first rate. It is beautiful and elegant and our accommodations were large and comfortable. They have landscaped the grounds with taste and imagination and it was a pleasure to sit outside on our own patio with a glass of wine, admire our surroundings and appreciate the peace and quiet. Paul and Bernie were very friendly, hospitable and helpful hosts, giving us delicious breakfasts and afternoon refreshments. They have a good selection of recent movies, and we watched a couple on their large flat-screen tv in great comfort. They also provide free internet use, which was rare on our trip and very much appreciated, since we hadn't brought along our laptop.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrugalTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Maple Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 163 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2011

Great location and very high standard of accommodation. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for 3 nights and hosts were excellent. We were very surprised at the high standard of breakfast choice offered. Lovely spacious room and great outdoor hit tub under the stars.
Would defo stay here again
Many thanks to bernadette and Paul
x
keira and Pete
Kerry Ireland

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keeks6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We booked this on line and the website doesn't show just how lovely Maple Lodge and the hosts are. We spent 4 nights as a family and had a luxurious time. Our rooms were beautifully designed, very, very comfy bed and we all slept really well. A lot of thought has gone into the small things- heated mirrors, floors, showers etc.
Breakfast was delicious and Paul and Bernie were quick to replenish, juice, toast etc. to ensure our teenage boys were truely fed well! We are fussy about food, because we hate paying for food when we can cook and serve a better standard at home. We all like to be treated when away and this was a treat.
The hosts were very welcoming, keeping a fire going in the lounge area and bringing tea and cakes in large quantities after skiing.
We will return on our next trip to NZ. Many thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2011

This is a fantastic bed and breakfast in a stunning location. Our room was beautifully decorated, spacious and we had our best night’s sleep while in NZ. The views to the mountain ranges are breathtaking. The breakfast really is a gourmet delight and it was great to be able to choose what we wanted from the menu. Scrambled eggs and muffins were so good I had to ask for the recipes. Paul & Berny are delightful hosts, full of local knowledge and great suggestions for restaurants and things to do. We should have stayed longer and will do on our next trip to Wanaka.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Splash62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We have been there only for one night, unfortunately... The owners are sweet and very helpful, making you feel very at ease, like you are at home.
Our room was next to the living room area, but that was not a problem, it wasn't noisy and the bed was so comfy that you fall asleep shortly you get into it.
Pity that it was so cold that we haven't had the courage to go to the exterior SPA tub, but we stayed at the living room seeing a movie on the dvd.
You can find plenty of information about Wanaka in some files over the coffee table in the living room, with nicest places to eat and the plenty of tracks for a little (or a big) walk.
The breakfast was the superb, all handmade by the owner and so delicious that you won't stop eating! :)
And if you need any advice about what to do our where to go, don't miss asking to Paul or Bernie, they most surely help you out!
If I'll go back to Wanaka one day, I already know where to stay...

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anasoraiagomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Maple Lodge is a beautifully designed building set amongst a lots of trees and landscaped grounds. Our hosts Paul and Bernie were very welcoming and showed us to a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the garden. The room was very well appointed with high quality fittings and furnishings. We had a lovely sleep that night and it was a real pleasure to come down to breakfast and enjoy their lovely home made food! I can highly recommend their wonderful homemade jam...yum! My only regret is that we could only stay one night.

I highly recommend this Maple Lodge, it was everything we expected and more. It is a really quiet and special place to escape to and they even have a very cute wee dog who is allowed to visit if you want him to.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerrykirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Maple Lodge was just outside Wanake and better for it,total peace.Berney and Paul were excelent hosts with plenty of advice when requested Pauls breakfasts where to die for.
We took their advice and went on 'a river journey , by jet boat,whilst the weather was mixed the journey made up for it. The toy and transport meuseum is a must ,especially if you are a senior and want to see all the toys you used to play with and the Puzzle house is worth a visit.
Many thanks to both of them.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barryhodgkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
792 reviews
2.7 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#8 of 53 in Wanaka
119 reviews
2.0 mi away
Lime Tree Lodge
Lime Tree Lodge
#3 of 45 in Wanaka
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#5 of 53 in Wanaka
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lodge

Address: Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $157 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Lodge is set within a seven acre maple tree plantation and situated within 4minutes drive of the beautiful Lake Wanaka. Fabulous mountain views greet you from your luxurious guest suite. The seven guest suites are individually designed with a modern country theme. Newly built and affording modern comforts; air-conditioning, heated en-suite floors, broadband internet access, TV, DVD and spa. Maple Lodge offers unobtrusive luxury with a homely ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing