We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little jem”
Review of Maple Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maple Lodge
Ranked #14 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Little jem”
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Great location and very high standard of accommodation. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay here for 3 nights and hosts were excellent. We were very surprised at the high standard of breakfast choice offered. Lovely spacious room and great outdoor hit tub under the stars.
Would defo stay here again
Many thanks to bernadette and Paul
x
keira and Pete
Kerry Ireland

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keeks6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    16
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
122
6
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
devon uk
1 review
Reviewed September 4, 2011

We booked this on line and the website doesn't show just how lovely Maple Lodge and the hosts are. We spent 4 nights as a family and had a luxurious time. Our rooms were beautifully designed, very, very comfy bed and we all slept really well. A lot of thought has gone into the small things- heated mirrors, floors, showers etc.
Breakfast was delicious and Paul and Bernie were quick to replenish, juice, toast etc. to ensure our teenage boys were truely fed well! We are fussy about food, because we hate paying for food when we can cook and serve a better standard at home. We all like to be treated when away and this was a treat.
The hosts were very welcoming, keeping a fire going in the lounge area and bringing tea and cakes in large quantities after skiing.
We will return on our next trip to NZ. Many thanks.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anne t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2011

This is a fantastic bed and breakfast in a stunning location. Our room was beautifully decorated, spacious and we had our best night’s sleep while in NZ. The views to the mountain ranges are breathtaking. The breakfast really is a gourmet delight and it was great to be able to choose what we wanted from the menu. Scrambled eggs and muffins were so good I had to ask for the recipes. Paul & Berny are delightful hosts, full of local knowledge and great suggestions for restaurants and things to do. We should have stayed longer and will do on our next trip to Wanaka.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splash62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2011

We have been there only for one night, unfortunately... The owners are sweet and very helpful, making you feel very at ease, like you are at home.
Our room was next to the living room area, but that was not a problem, it wasn't noisy and the bed was so comfy that you fall asleep shortly you get into it.
Pity that it was so cold that we haven't had the courage to go to the exterior SPA tub, but we stayed at the living room seeing a movie on the dvd.
You can find plenty of information about Wanaka in some files over the coffee table in the living room, with nicest places to eat and the plenty of tracks for a little (or a big) walk.
The breakfast was the superb, all handmade by the owner and so delicious that you won't stop eating! :)
And if you need any advice about what to do our where to go, don't miss asking to Paul or Bernie, they most surely help you out!
If I'll go back to Wanaka one day, I already know where to stay...

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anasoraiagomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2011

Maple Lodge is a beautifully designed building set amongst a lots of trees and landscaped grounds. Our hosts Paul and Bernie were very welcoming and showed us to a lovely room with a balcony overlooking the garden. The room was very well appointed with high quality fittings and furnishings. We had a lovely sleep that night and it was a real pleasure to come down to breakfast and enjoy their lovely home made food! I can highly recommend their wonderful homemade jam...yum! My only regret is that we could only stay one night.

I highly recommend this Maple Lodge, it was everything we expected and more. It is a really quiet and special place to escape to and they even have a very cute wee dog who is allowed to visit if you want him to.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kerrykirkland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

Maple Lodge was just outside Wanake and better for it,total peace.Berney and Paul were excelent hosts with plenty of advice when requested Pauls breakfasts where to die for.
We took their advice and went on 'a river journey , by jet boat,whilst the weather was mixed the journey made up for it. The toy and transport meuseum is a must ,especially if you are a senior and want to see all the toys you used to play with and the Puzzle house is worth a visit.
Many thanks to both of them.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barryhodgkinson1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2011

Rooms were depicted on their website to be larger than they were. Disappointing that breakfast was only served in the dining room and not in our room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foxy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maplelodge, Owner at Maple Lodge, responded to this review, March 13, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are disappointed that you did not give us the opportunity to address your comments during your stay with us. You were also kind enough to complete a feedback form and did not raise either of these points on it. On the contrary, you said that we had met your expectations and that you would recommend us to other travellers.

We believe the pictures on our website are a true representation of our suites and have been taken with a standard camera with no distortions applied. We did have larger, Premium rooms available on the dates of your stay but you did not choose to book one of these.

With regard to breakfast service, we offer a breakfast menu that includes continental and a range of freshly prepared, cooked to order, hot options that are served in the dining room. If you had asked to have breakfast in your room we would have done our utmost to accommodate your request.

We hope you enjoyed the remainder of your trip in New Zealand.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
3.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
2.6 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.3 mi away
Wanaka Haven
Wanaka Haven
#7 of 52 in Wanaka
113 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riverview Terrace
Riverview Terrace
#3 of 52 in Wanaka
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maple Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maple Lodge

Property: Maple Lodge
Address: Halliday Road, Wanaka 9382, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Maple Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maple Lodge is set within a seven acre maple tree plantation and situated within 4minutes drive of the beautiful Lake Wanaka. Fabulous mountain views greet you from your luxurious guest suite. The seven guest suites are individually designed with a modern country theme. Newly built and affording modern comforts; air-conditioning, heated en-suite floors, broadband internet access, TV, DVD and spa. Maple Lodge offers unobtrusive luxury with a homely ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Maple Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing