We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tiritiri Lodge is like your own home in an alpine paradise”
Review of Tiritiri Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tiritiri Lodge
Ranked #38 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Sydney,Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Tiritiri Lodge is like your own home in an alpine paradise”
Reviewed April 11, 2010

My wife and I recently had our third stay at Tiritiri Lodge,for four nights over Easter.We found the stay to be as wonderful as our first time.
The Lodge is in a quiet residential street five minutes drive from the small township of Wanaka.While not directly on the lake it affords magnificent views of surrounding mountains and the lake with a direct line over the lake to the Treble Cone ski area.The lodge is beautifully appointed in a luxurious but understated style.Our room was spacious,comfortable and the king sized bed extremely cosy.There was a common area in our wing with complimentary gourmet coffee and tea,soft drinks and wine and delectable cakes for afternoon tea.There is also a comfortable lounge and dining area in the main building where the delicious breakfast is served.There is also a spa and outdoor seating with a welcome fireplace for the cooler evenings.Dinner is available on request with the menu very flexible depending on your tastes and the season.Every evening,around six drinks are served in the lounge.Local wines ,champagne and delicious hors d'oeuvres tempt the palate.
However the best part of Tiritiri is the warm and gracious hospitality of its owners, Stephanie and Denis,who treat you like family and cannot do enough to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.Nothing is too much trouble, from advice on tours and walks, to restaurant reservations.Make sure you ask Denis to play a song on the imposing black grand piano!
We loved our stay and look forward to our fourth visit.

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank alwayswandering002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bayeux, France
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2010

We recently had a wonderful two-night stay at Tiritiri. Stephanie and Denis are fantastic hosts - both have extensive knowledge of the area and extend the warmest of welcomes. We were looked after every step of the way and yet we never felt intruded upon - they made it so easy for us to unwind and make the most of our stay in Wanaka. The mountain view from our room was spectacular, particularly in the morning. The food was excellent and I would thoroughly recommend an evening meal at Tiritiri.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonkeyBites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2010

I've never felt strongly enough to leave a review on tripadvisor, but Tiritiri was so lovely I felt compelled to write one. We are used to staying at top end places and the idea of the hosted lodges across New Zealand was a bit scary, promising to be just a bit too personal. But Stephanie is an amazing host. Even though we were the only guests, our worries were allayed by her desire to be as involved in our stay as we wanted. The lodge is beautifully designed and decorated, with a tremendous view of the lake and mountains. We were upgraded to a suite - the room was lovely and the bed really comfy. They will make you whatever you want for breakfast, and we had dinner with the hosts on one of the nights we were there. While you're in Wanaka do the Diamond Lake walk and the Rob Roy Glacier walk. Wanaka is beautiful and staying here made this bit of the trip really memorable.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdlph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights with the hosts Dennis & Steph. Made most welcome and had full run of the house including the fully stocked fridge ( wine & beers included). 5 mins drive or lovely 40 min beach walk into town, though Steph will offer to drive you. Breakfast of your choice available including freshly squeezed fruit juices. In fact the chef is so good we stayed for a delicious dinner including champagne to start, wines with each course & local dessert wine to finish -great value & the entertaining company of the other guests made it a special evening.
Rooms are of good size with beautiful soft linens, WiFi & Fab views though no air conditioning. Wide DVD & book collection with fresh cookies in the afternoon. Great advise from the hosts re local activities, cafes, restaurants & walks.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corkfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, CA
1 review
Reviewed July 19, 2009

A true honeymoon delight! The lodge was both modern and cozy, and our three-night stay at Tiritiri was fittingly chic and comforting. While we usually opt for hotels over lodges for privacy's sake, Tiritiri's personalized "happy hour" made us glad we opted for the lodge experience. Each night before dinner, Stephanie and Dennis invited us over for some wine and appetizers, and their stimulating conversation had us returning each night with excitement. In the morning, their in-house chef, Tiff, prepared the most amazing breakfast. Luckily, the lodge is surrounded by gorgeous lakes and hikes, providing enough outdoor entertainment to work off the fantastic food & wine of the region. This is the first review I've written on trip advisor even though we travel a lot, but I felt unusually compelled to jump online and share our fantastic experience. If you go, definitely request the corn fritters. Delicious!
Nicole & Gavin

Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ntb825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2009

We stayed at Tiritiri as a kind of second honeymoon for 3 nights, the standout for us was the service from the hosts and the amazing food. The lodge is run on a very personal level by a local family and you can expect to have both an attentive and friendly experience from the hosts Stephanie and Denis. The lodge is beautifully designed yet retains a kind of family house feel that welcomes you to the dining area and each meal we had at the lodge was not only delicious but it seemed thoughtfully produced in line with the season and local produce. The lodge isn't in the centre of town so don't expect to be in the hub of things but you are only a short drive away and we were looking for a getaway experience. Fantastic view from our room (even the shower) which we loved, would love to go back for our next special occaison.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank holidaymaker55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2009

My husband & I stayed here for 1 night in January. We had a nice stay but would describe it as more of an upscale B&B than a "lodge" experience.

The property is built in a contemporary style & located in a residential neighborhood around a 5 minute drive from the center of town. The views over the lake are very pretty, but again it's essentially a B&B on a residential street surrounded by houses, not a lodge per se. The grounds with lawns, vegetable gardens & a rock fountain are compact but nicely done.

Our room was a bit small, but had a beautiful view over the lake (& houses) from big corner sliding glass doors, which led onto a corner patio that is shared with the other upstairs rooms. The bathroom was compact & we were disappointed to find no bathtub, though the shower stall was big & had a terrific power shower head. The TV was a bit small & hard to see from where it was positioned.

The breakfast & dinner we had were delicious. Dinner included local chinook salmon, very fresh, high quality & perfectly grilled, & fresh vegetables from the back garden were featured. We dined with the hosts, who are very warm & interesting people.

In all, we had a pleasant stay. But again I would describe this as an upscale B&B in a residential neighborhood; if you expect a lodge in the countryside, you may be disappointed. You may also want to consider that the property is small, so you may be seeing a lot of your hosts & the other guests.

  • Liked — Convenient location, nice hosts
  • Disliked — Not what we were expecting, room a bit cramped
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IPGHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
505 reviews
2.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
343 reviews
2.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Lime Tree Lodge
Lime Tree Lodge
#3 of 45 in Wanaka
133 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
434 reviews
3.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiritiri Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiritiri Lodge

Property: Tiritiri Lodge
Address: 8 Minaret Ridge, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tiritiri Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An alpine retreat of elegant design with superb views of the world's most unspoilt lake and mountain environment. Tiritiri Lodge Courtyard House offers a self contained rental home sleeping 6 people in 3 bedrooms with stunning views and a beautiful garden. Free wi-fi. Walk in the mountains of Mt Aspiring National Park, enjoy world renowned fly fishing, visit the great wineries of Central Otago. Self catering .Private chef available if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tiritiri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing