We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay”
Review of Tiritiri Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tiritiri Lodge
Ranked #35 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had a wonderful one night stay. The room no1 had a small sitting room and a shower and separate bath. There are two houses that guests can stay in. We were the only ones staying so we had the whole building to ourselves. There is a shared sitting room with sky tv, a fridge with complimentary drinks, tea and coffee. The bed was so comfortable. Breakfast was great, yummy pancakes. Couldn't recommend staying here more!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Firefly51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie p, Owner at Tiritiri Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
So glad you enjoyed our pancakes and the comfortable bed! Tiff has been giving some of our guests pancake lessons! Thanks for taking the time to post a review - we very much appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    4
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
24
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Not often I rate anything "excellent", but Tiritiri is definitely a worthy candidate.

We stayed with our 4 kids during the ski season.

We were looking for something self contained and separate,but fully serviced so that we could dine in if we wanted, and a place that my wife could hang out during the day, since she doesn't ski.s this

Tiritiri is outstanding. It's not quite just a lodge, and not quite a hotel either, so you're able to make it what you want. The owners, Stephanie and Dennis will provide you with as much privacy as you wish for, or can get involved and give you advice on local attractions, wine, local restaurants, and local knowledge. They know the area well, and gave us lot's of useful advice.

Steph's daughter is the in house chef. She trained at Bills in Sydney, and her cooking is superb. Every morning of our 7 day stay was a different creative breakfast. Our 5 year old twins just wanted cornflakes and eggs, and they'll accommodate whatever you want - just speak up!

We didn't realise that the rate included afternoon canapes and drinks. Once we started placing a value on the quality of the breakfasts and all the other little extras that are included, we realized what good value the place was.

The lodge is in excellent condition, and the layout quite clever. It can accommodate families and couples at the same time. Speak to Steph or Dennis about this before you head over if you've got sepecial needs. The furnishings, bedding and finishes are all very high quality and a lot of thought went into the whole set up.

Steph and Dennis are superb hosts, with an integrity, sensitivity and an ability to tune into the needs of their guests (or to tune out if that's what you're looking for!).

I unreservedly recommend this lodge.

Room Tip: All rooms are good, but to get what yo want, pick up the phone and talk to Steph and Dennis personal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HowzitMyChina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie p, Owner at Tiritiri Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks so much for this review. We designed the lodge to give us flexibility so we its great to see that it worked for you and your family. Guests have different needs for a winter ski holiday so our configuration of 2 separate wings seems to work well. We really appreciate you taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This is a fantastic lodge offering one of the nicest lodge experiences we have had. Our room was lovely, with beautiful linens, gorgeous panoramic views and very private. The food is divine in both the selection, quality and presentation of our breakfast and dinner menus. Steph and Denis are charming hosts and very welcoming. The grounds are gorgeous too. Nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The top room in the quest area has stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GethenWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephanie p, Owner at Tiritiri Lodge, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thanks so much for your review- its most appreciated. We really enjoyed meeting you both and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2012

We have just had our second stay at Tiritiri and it was as wonderful as the first time. Stephanie and Dennis are terrific hosts, they are so warm and welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. Tiff's food is amazing - from the homemade jams and sourdough breads to the fabulous omelets and afternoon tea cakes and biscuits - and then there is dinner! The accommodation is luxurious and elegant and so comfortable. This time we came in autumn which is a gorgeous time of the year - crisp days and fabulous colours but cold enough for a fire at night. A wonderful experience again! And we are looking forward to coming back - we have now been in winter and autumn and we definitely want to see spring and summer here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2012

not happy by our experience overall in tiritiri as you are not in a lodge but staying in the house of your host
they re is very little privacy as you share even kind a disturb them in their day to day life
price asking is for a luxury lodge wich is not here
one third of that would me normal
we were staying ina tiny room
as a b&b i would recommend it as your host are very very nice charming and enthousiaste to know you, the house is super new eleguant well located
but this not a luxury lodge it s a nice beautiful home stay
tiff the chef is great no misleding on that

Room Tip: choose the ensuite in the second home
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmherbet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tiritiri, Owner at Tiritiri Lodge, responded to this review, April 28, 2012
We’re sorry to be late responding to this review. Our fault for failing to update our security details on TripAdvisor.
We were not able to provide this guest and his family with a suitable room as it was a late booking during the busiest week of the year (Christmas/New Year). What this guest’s visit did do was to reconfirm our decision to reconfigure our rooms to provide more accommodation for families. The remodel will be completed by June 2012 so we will now be able to offer 3 large Suites to sleep up to 4 people as well as 3 King rooms. Host accommodation is outside the Lodge. So we can truly say we have taken on board this guest’s comments. We want every guest to have a fantastic stay at Tiritiri and welcome feedback. We offer returning guests a 10% discount so we hope this family will return and check out the new configuration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed November 28, 2011

This was a great place to stay. Very comfortable accommodation. Stephanie & Dennis were attentive & great company. Nice to meet the other lodgers also. Tiff....the food was to die for; loved it. Highly recommend

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2011

Boutique standards with the personal touch, from attentive and warm hosts, Stephanie and Dennis. Luxurious accommodation in stunning 'Lord of the Rings' setting with breathtaking views and everything you need on your doorstep: walks, skiing, scenic flights, cruises, great food and wine. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbuDhabiLion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
2.0 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
2.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Lime Tree Lodge
Lime Tree Lodge
#3 of 45 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.6 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
3.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tiritiri Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tiritiri Lodge

Property: Tiritiri Lodge
Address: 8 Minaret Ridge, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Tiritiri Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An alpine retreat of elegant design with superb views of the world's most unspoilt lake and mountain environment. Tiritiri Lodge Courtyard House offers a self contained rental home sleeping 6 people in 3 bedrooms with stunning views and a beautiful garden. Free wi-fi. Walk in the mountains of Mt Aspiring National Park, enjoy world renowned fly fishing, visit the great wineries of Central Otago. Self catering .Private chef available if required. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Tiritiri Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing