We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay”
Review of Alpine View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Alpine View Lodge
Ranked #4 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
brisbane
1 review
“A Great Stay”
Reviewed October 6, 2008

We had a large group of 17 people and finding accomodation together was sometimes difficult. Alpine View Lodge was a wonderful place for us all to stay together. The rooms were lovely, the view beautiful and the owners very firendly. I would recommend the lodge to anyone visiting Wanaka.

  • Liked — friendly and flexible management
  • Disliked — No laundry
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank helenBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineViewLodge, Owner at Alpine View Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2008
We do offer a laundry service, but don't have a guest laundry on site
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
154
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2008

As a group of 4 adults were travelling together and we wanted kitchen facilities we chose the Alpine View Lodge in Wanaka because of the location near the ski fields.
We occupied a two bedroom apartment and were all impressed with the size of the rooms, the decor and the friendly, accommodating management. The grounds layout was also very nice, while the buildings were integrated they were all a little different, rather than the box next to identical box set up.
It is situated a little away from the town centre which wasn't a problem as we had a car, the keen could have walked into the town. It was very quiet due to this.
The views from the living room areas were lovely!
The BBQ and the spa got a work out and were very much appreciated.
If we were to return to Wanaka I would definately book into the Alpine View Lodge again.

  • Liked — It had everything we needed
  • Disliked — Knives could have been sharper
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineViewLodge, Owner at Alpine View Lodge, responded to this review, October 27, 2008
The kitchen knives have now been replaced with new ones!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 14, 2008

Wow this place is amazing. We have had friends stay here who raved on about the place, so made this our choice to spend our Ski holiday. From the moment we drove down the long driveway, we knew we had made the right decision. We received a friendly welcome, the accommodation was spotless and had everything that we needed. The food is fantastic - Alison is a trained chef and everything from the breakfasts, packed lunches and dinners was perfect. She has a great idea in preparing your evening meal for you while you ski up the mountain and when we got back we cooked it either on our private barbecue on in the kitchenette. Finally the views are to die for, the location is amazing in that it is so quiet and yet still close enough to town to walk in. What a top place!!!! We will be back.

  • Liked — The free internet was an absolute bonus
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank IlkleyBartat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
Reviewed April 27, 2008

Fantastic accommodation,every thing thought off,We had a 2 bedroom unit with lounge huge main bathromm and also an en-suite bathroom, nice compact open plan kitchen dinning lounge opening onto your own decking with a spectacular mountain vista,iwe bbq'd Venison steaks,salad, great Otago Pinot Noir red ,very special, perfect for kids, only 2min to water front in the car. can't wait to stay again. ps the 2 person bath is a nice touch!
We realized that the complex can be tailered to 1-2,or 3 or more bedroom unit's, which is very clever would be fantastic for big groups.
SO reccommend this place!

  • Liked — Views, Quality, accommodation,
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Roo-Wellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2008

We booked this at the last minute and we were not disappointed. Beautiful views, all the facilities you could possibly want including a private bbq area and those important extra little touches that you so often don't get . It was particularly useful to have free access to a PC or in our case, as we had our own laptop, free wireless internet access . This was the only place in all the accommodations we stayed in, that provided this faciility. free of charge.

We would highly recommend this as a place to stay. The owners have obviously had travel experienece and have applied this to their own business.

Our only regret was not being able to stay longer.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rovinglamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2008

This is the second time we have stayed at Alpine Lodge and we always enjoy our stays there. Alison and Carl are great hosts and will do anything for you.
On our first visit we stayed in the Minaret Lodge which is a 1 bedroom studio. It's not fully self-contained, but Alison can prepare nice salads and meats which get delivered to your room and can then be cooked on the BBQ (however they need 24 hours advance notice).
Second time round we stayed in the Mt Aspiring/2 bedroom apartment for up to 5 people which has a kitchen with microwave and a 2 burner-stove. Yes there is only one toilet and bathroom, but we were 3 adults and managed ok.
Beautiful setting, a bit out of town, but all so quiet for a good sleep in !

  • Liked — The surroundings and the friendly hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank precisionstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottumwa, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the "aspiring" apartment at Alpine View Lodge. It was a clean, spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment.
The bathrooms were however mis-represented. One bath has a shower and sink and the other bath has a toilet. and sink. With 2 couples sharing the apartment and only one toilet and one shower, we were slightly inconvenienced.
On the plus side, an inexpensive laundry service was provided and breakfasts and lunches were very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SeeUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
2.3 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Lodge

Property: Alpine View Lodge
Address: 23 Studholme Road | RD 2, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Lodge is set in 4 scenic acres on the edge of Wanaka - close enough to walk to the lake and town, but far enough away to enjoy peace, tranquility and relaxation. Our guests describe us as one of the best accommodations they stayed in during their holiday, with many guests booking for one night but then staying for three or four. King, queen, singles and twin all with en-suite bathrooms, we also can accommodate families being able to sleep up to 12 people. We offer complimentary continental breakfasts with our studio rooms, free Wi-fi and also a constantly heated spa pool all in a garden setting with stunning mountain views. With beautifully landscaped gardens, Alpine View Lodge is also a stunning venue for small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Alpine View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing