We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alpine View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Alpine View Lodge
Ranked #4 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2008

We booked this at the last minute and we were not disappointed. Beautiful views, all the facilities you could possibly want including a private bbq area and those important extra little touches that you so often don't get . It was particularly useful to have free access to a PC or in our case, as we had our own laptop, free wireless internet access . This was the only place in all the accommodations we stayed in, that provided this faciility. free of charge.

We would highly recommend this as a place to stay. The owners have obviously had travel experienece and have applied this to their own business.

Our only regret was not being able to stay longer.

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Rovinglamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    23
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
39
150
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2008

This is the second time we have stayed at Alpine Lodge and we always enjoy our stays there. Alison and Carl are great hosts and will do anything for you.
On our first visit we stayed in the Minaret Lodge which is a 1 bedroom studio. It's not fully self-contained, but Alison can prepare nice salads and meats which get delivered to your room and can then be cooked on the BBQ (however they need 24 hours advance notice).
Second time round we stayed in the Mt Aspiring/2 bedroom apartment for up to 5 people which has a kitchen with microwave and a 2 burner-stove. Yes there is only one toilet and bathroom, but we were 3 adults and managed ok.
Beautiful setting, a bit out of town, but all so quiet for a good sleep in !

  • Liked — The surroundings and the friendly hosts
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank precisionstrike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottumwa, Iowa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2008

We stayed 2 nights at the "aspiring" apartment at Alpine View Lodge. It was a clean, spacious 2 bedroom, 2 bath apartment.
The bathrooms were however mis-represented. One bath has a shower and sink and the other bath has a toilet. and sink. With 2 couples sharing the apartment and only one toilet and one shower, we were slightly inconvenienced.
On the plus side, an inexpensive laundry service was provided and breakfasts and lunches were very reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SeeUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
148 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

The Alpine view Lodge is just enough off main st area of Wanaka to be quiet and peaceful and still scenic. There's no view of water but of mountains and some sheep, I guess that's why it's more affordable. It had big windows and glass door to a nice balcony big enough to eat on, and there's a shared hot tub, nice after those gorgeous hikes. Breakfast was included and you had a choice if you wanted hot and all the fixins or more fruit cereal type. Found the staff to be most helpful and courteous, we had a problem with the TV and they came right away(it was unplugged) An added bonus, they have free internet right in their office for guests use.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank buttondeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shepperton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2007

Alpine View Lodge is a fantastic place! Our room (suite!), called Cardrona, was on a split level the large double bed and bathroom on the upper, a kitchenette and lounge on the lower, leading to our own private patio with barbeque and stunning backdrop of the mountains and the Cardrona valley. Peaceful, yet only a few minutes from town. Everything was smart and immaculate. The full kiwi breakfast costs less than you would pay in the town and there is free internet access!
Alison and Carl the hosts were great. Very knowledgeable about all the activities in the area, they have done most of them themselves. They helped us with fishing, horse trekking, vineyard tour and steamship trip in Queenstown.
5***** luxury at 3*** prices.

  • Liked — Friendly hospitality, peace & tranquility yet close to town and activities.
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Sheppertonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2007

We were pleasantly surprised by Alpine Lodge. It is located a little way out of Wanaka over looking a beautiful valley. The rooms have all been remodeled and are clean and very comfortable with kitchenettes. There is also a barbeque and we sat outside to eat dinner. You are offered a breakfast menu to order from at nominal cost or you can do your own. The prices were very reasonable for the rooms. Alison was most helpful with suggestions and we visited the Ripon Winery and she booked our tour of the Glow Worm caves in Te Anau. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Liked — Peaceful location and comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank southislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.0 mi away
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
Wanaka Alpine Lodge
#7 of 58 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
1.3 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Lodge

Property: Alpine View Lodge
Address: 23 Studholme Rd South | RD 2, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 47 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Lodge is set in 4 scenic acres on the edge of Wanaka - close enough to walk to the lake and town, but far enough away to enjoy peace, tranquility and relaxation. Our guests describe us as one of the best accommodations they stayed in during their holiday, with many guests booking for one night but then staying for three or four. King, queen, singles and twin all with en-suite bathrooms, we also can accommodate families being able to sleep up to 12 people. We offer complimentary continental breakfasts with our studio rooms, free Wi-fi and also a constantly heated spa pool all in a garden setting with stunning mountain views. With beautifully landscaped gardens, Alpine View Lodge is also a stunning venue for small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alpine View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing