We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect little winter wonderland! (and im guessing summer would be amazing too)”
Review of Alpine View Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Alpine View Lodge
Ranked #4 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 1, 2012

A beautiful property and great place to be away yet still feel like you are home. Michele and Craig were fantastic catering to any needs or just to have a chat with. Our favourite place that we stayed the whole time we were in NZ and one place we cant wait to go back to.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieandNikki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (235)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

149 - 155 of 235 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Alpine View Lodge is a fantastic place!! The best place we stayed during our trip through New Zealand. It's a very quiet place although it's ca 3 minutes drive to city centre. We had a very beautiful cottage with the amazing garden. The garden is very large and beautiful and your own:)). You can relax there after hard day with a glass of wine sitting and enjoying the view on the mountains.
The cottage inside is very comfortable, spacious and clean with all you need.
The hosts are very nice people, very helpful. It was a pleasure to talk with Michele:) she told us a lot about the life in New Zealand. It always very pleasant to meet such nice people on your way:)
many thanks to you for our amazing stay in your hotel!!:)
Marina and Shamil

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MMarinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Alpine View Lodge is in a very quiet location, although only a couple minutes' drive back into town. You can sit on your terrace in the garden and enjoy the fabulous view across to the mountains. The hosts were extremely helpful and the breakfast trays were splendid. The accommodation was perfect for our one night stay and very clean. The only thing preventing us giving 5 stars is that although there was a (very small) kitchen alcove, there was no sink, so the dishes had to be washed in the bathroom hand basin. This was only a Studio, so probably not a problem in the larger units.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oaktreeSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

Craig and Michele's "piece of paradise" is wonderful, nothing was too much trouble for them from booking trips to bringing you a wonderful breakfast on a tray every morning. The cottage was everything you would want, spacious,very clean with a wonderful BBQ on decking overlooking fantastic views. This was our favourite place in New Zealand. Michele and craig you shoul be very proud, you made us feel like friends, thank you so much for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2012

Craig and Michele's cottage was absolutely fantastic, set outside a lovely small town on the edge of a beautiful lake, within a stunning mountain area. One of our best days in NZ was driving up an unmade road into the mountains and then a hike to the Rob Roy Glacier. Unbelievable! They both took real care of us from the start and you felt that nothing was too much trouble. Craig and Michele were extremely friendly and made you feel as if you lived there. Lake Wanaka was the best place we stayed in South Island; the town was pretty, on the edge of the lake and the scenery around was breathtaking. If we go back we would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: phone ahead a good few days
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank don j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewVenture, Owner at Alpine View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Thank you don for writing your kind review. Craig and I enjoyed meeting you both and are pleased you enjoyed your stay in Wanaka. We do live in a very special part of the world and get so much pleasure seeing our guests enjoying it for themselves.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at Alpine View Lodge B&B for one night, and I can really say everything about it was wonderful. From the friendly reception upon arriving there, to the beautiful spacious room, the lovely garden and view, it was everything we'd hoped for and more. It was clear from the beginning that our hosts Michele and Craig were very passionate about their "piece of paradise", and the enthusiasm with which they shared their knowledge of the area, was both contagious and helpful. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RohanVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewVenture, Owner at Alpine View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review Kevin, we enjoyed meeting you both and are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky to live in such a beautiful part of the world.

Thank you once again.

Kind regards.

Michele and Craig

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Amazing/beautiful room's and view's! Close but not too close to Wanaka which is great. Michele and Craig made our stay feel like we where family, Friendly helpful knowledge of the area and attractions. Always smiling and their when needed! Great place to stay if have kid's or if on a honeymoon, They will look after you! Thanks so much again, We will be back!

Room Tip: I would say talk to Michele and Craig as they will be able to set you up with the room that will sui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Enya Maria F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewVenture, Owner at Alpine View Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2012

Hello Enya, thank you for taking the time to such a nice review for us. We really enjoyed meeting you both. All the best for the coming months with a new baby in the house.

Kind regards

Michele

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
528 reviews
1.8 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
830 reviews
2.4 mi away
Distinction Wanaka
Distinction Wanaka
#10 of 53 in Wanaka
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
234 reviews
4 mi away
Lime Tree Lodge
Lime Tree Lodge
#3 of 46 in Wanaka
146 reviews
1.4 mi away
Wanaka Kiwi Holiday Park & Motels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alpine View Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alpine View Lodge

Address: 23 Studholme Road | Rd 2, Wanaka, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Wanaka
Price Range: $148 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Alpine View Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alpine View Lodge is set in 4 scenic acres on the edge of Wanaka - close enough to walk to the lake and town, but far enough away to enjoy peace, tranquility and relaxation. Our guests describe us as one of the best accommodations they stayed in during their holiday, with many guests booking for one night but then staying for three or four. King, queen, singles and twin all with en-suite bathrooms, we also can accommodate families being able to sleep up to 12 people. We offer complimentary continental breakfasts with our studio rooms, free Wi-fi and also a constantly heated spa pool all in a garden setting with stunning mountain views. With beautifully landscaped gardens, Alpine View Lodge is also a stunning venue for small weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Alpine View Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing