We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Family Ski Holiday Value”
Review of Fairway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairway Motel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 14, 2014

As per previous reviewer… The Fairway Motel was very clean, quiet, comfortable, modern, well appointed (lots of little extras - plenty of linen, crockery, soaps, etc), friendly young couple owners who went out of their way to accommodate my three teenage boys and myself at the last minute during the busy school winter ski holidays! We stayed three nights unexpectedly, and as they were fully booked they had to move us from room to room, but very willingly hauled our gear for us each morning with pleasure. The large family apartment units were warm, very spacious, provided a full kitchen (including dishwasher), both washing machine / dryer laundry facilities, two showers, toilets and heated towel rails, tiles. My boys (13, 14, 15) loved their spacious room, big tv, video, and sky access… I would thoroughly recommend one of these apartments as an alternative to renting a holiday home - spacious enough and fully equipped for a weeks skiing holiday without the cleaning at the end. Well done Eve and Rob, thank you!

Room Tip: Choose apartments 18 - 22 near the back of the hotel for afternoon sun and privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sally M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Hi Sally and the young-uns

Sorry we had to bounce you about, the school hols are full on! Glad you and the kids enjoyed your stay, and a big thanks to your oldest for offering to help us move some furniture! We would love to host you guys again.
Warmest regards
Rob and Eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

114 - 120 of 172 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

I stay in a lot of motels around nz in my job but on this occasion I had my family with me. The Fairway Motel was clean, quiet, comfortable, modern, well appointed and had excellent, friendly owners. We stayed in one of the large family units and it was very spacious. Our kids(6+8) loved the pool and there were lots of parks and attractions within easy walking distance. I would definitely recommend to anyone for either a business or leisure stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobandDawn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Hi Guys,

Thank you for the review. Chuffed that you enjoyed your stay and that the kids loved the pool! Hope we see you again next summer.

Cheers
Eve and Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Slightly out of the centre of Wanaka, Fairway Motel offers quiet, reasonably priced suites which are excellent: clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped, as well as offering a swimming pool, laundry facilities (along with an open drying area, if preferred) and an open picnic area. The staff is friendly and helpful.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank x2_travel_bug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

Thank you for your review of Fairway Motel. It is so lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the room suited your needs.

Kind regards,
Eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2014

Fantastic spot! Easy walk into town and shops as well as the lake. Restaurants are conveniently located within walking distance. Beautiful view from the room. Laundry, Pool and BBQ on site.

Would definitely stay here again!!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlgokrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

So happy you enjoyed your stay here at the Fairway and got to enjoy the great restaurants Wanaka has to offer. Thank you for your comments.

Kind regards,
Eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

I was most impressed with the friendly young couple running the place, its always nice to feel welcome. Its definately not the hilton, but its clean and tidy and had all the amenities we required. Though we would have liked a recycle bin, rather then leaving recycling on the kitchen floor. Pool was a bit cold, but I guess the kiwis are used to that. We liked the refillable shower gel and shampoo dispensers, why don't all motels do this? Saves money and the environment! We stayed in Te Anau before Wanaka and were pleasently surprised to get better value at the Fairway Motel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

So nice to hear you enjoyed your time spent at the Fairway! Thank you for your excellent suggestion about the recycling bin, I will be looking into purchasing these. We are always open to anything we can do to help save the environment.

Hopefully you and your family will be able to return to Wanaka again soon.

Kind regards,
Eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We booked this hotel due to the good reviews on Trip Advisor so we were disappointed to find that the unit was rather tired and in need of a refurb. The single beds were old and very saggy. The fridge hadn't had a good clean, and the cutlery draw had old crumbs in it. Overall it was tired.

On the plus side the owner was very nice, and there was a decent amount of space in the room. The motel is in a handy location to the town centre. Wouldn't stay here again unless the beds were upgraded.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiWanderlust1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we are always looking at ways to improve the guest experience. We currently have new beds on order which will be going in the rooms soon.

Great that you found the location handy and room spacious.

Kind regards,
Eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

A young couple recently bought the motel, and they are great owners! Clean, tidy, fabulous room, perfect kitchen amenities. The sign said "Great Rates" and it was right. I liked supporting this couple.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveFlyingAlways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Thank you for your great feedback. We love hosting guests and get a real buzz when they have a great stay here at the Fairway! Hopefully you can come back and enjoy Wanaka again in the future.
Kind regards, Eve

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
358 reviews
1 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
379 reviews
1.3 mi away
West Meadows Motel
West Meadows Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Motel

Address: 2 MacPherson Street | corner MacPherson St and State Hwy 84, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range: $78 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For comfortable, affordable accommodation in Wanaka, think Fairway Motel. Fairway Motel can provide a great range of studios, family units and 2 bedroom apartments that can cater for anyone from traveling couples to large groups. Fairway motel facilities include: - Large in-ground swimming pool (Dec - Apr) and BBQ area perfect for those warmer months - Guest laundry, bike & golf club storage space and a ski drying room for the winter - A big car park area to accommodate boats, trailers and tour buses - Freeview Satellite TV Fairway Motel is close to all Wanaka amenities, the pristine lake, fine restaurants and shops are just a short stroll away. Puzzling World and Mt Iron track is a short walk and we are adjacent to the spectacular Wanaka Golf Club. Wanaka can offer you a myriad of outdoor pursuits in all seasons, so let Fairway Motel be your ticket to ride! Your hosts Eve and Rob look forward to welcoming you to Wanaka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Fairway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing