We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Fairway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairway Motel
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

We arrived after a long drive from Hokitika and is very glad to find a accommodating host and also a very spacious and clean unit.
We are a family of 4 adults and a 4 year old with rather fussy needs.
We are all very happy with the stay, the unit is quiet even though it is near the main road.
The host even lent us their stockpot.

Nothing to fault here, totally flawless.
Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank valuetraveller28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayManager, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hi Guys, thank you for the review and no problems borrowing the stock pot! Nothing like a good cook up to keep the family quiet :-)

We are rapt you had a good time here, enjoy the rest of your travels and hopefully we can host you again.

Kind regards
Rob, Eve and Frank
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    54
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
57
67
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Everything (the room, kitchen, garden) was very clean and well kept. We had a ground floor room, what is nice because you have some private space when you sit in the garden. In the summer, the roses are really nice. Because it is not in the city center but nearby (10 minutes walk) you don't have parking problems or noise at night (no bars, no people on the streets, etc). So very optimal. The place is not new or luxurious but everything you need is there and the very friendly staff has eye for the small details that make a stay great.

I Would highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: Choose the ground floor with entrance to the back garden (from room 1 and 2 you can enjoy the rose g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maart_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, January 20, 2014
Hi Guys,

Thank you for your comments about the garden! While I wish I could take all the credit, my dad must take most of it.... I made him put his skills to work when he came over on holiday! Glad you enjoyed your stay here with us in Wanaka, hopefully we see you again sometime soon.

Kind regards and safe trip back home.

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Excellent time at the Fairway Motel, great room with dishwasher, washing machine and dryer, was like being home without being home. Hosts were wonderful too, highly recommended, kids loved the pool, would definitely stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thanks for your review Amanda. It's so nice to hear that you felt at home here. We are so pleased your enjoyed your stay, it was a pleasure hosting you and your family. Kind regards, Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 30, 2013

We spent a wonderful 6 nights at the Fairway Motel over Christmas with all our family and some friends. We had four units of various sizes booked out to accomodate everyone and found the rooms were well equiped, clean, spacious and very affordable. A large swimming pool and BBQ area completed the atmosphere. There is plenty of parking, we had a boat and jetski and when the motel was booked out there was still parking space. It is also an easy walking distance to the main shopping centre and restaurants. The hosts Rob and Eve are an exceptional young cheerful couple and nothing was a problem, even when one our group lost their key and another locked themselves out at night! We all 100% recommend this motel to anyone wanting accomodation in Wanaka, and if you are into Golf the golfcourse is right next door.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for your kind words Sharon. It was a pleasure hosting you and your family. We are so glad your enjoyed your time here and got to spend Christmas together with your family. It's great to see people enjoying the pool and BBQ area and making the most of beautiful Lake Wanaka. Hopefully see you all again! Kind regards, Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodend, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013

After staying in a motel in Dunedin for a week which had no outdoor facilities we arrived here this is a fantastic facilty for families with our children loving the pool and a great barbecue area for relaxing at night. Close to town and clean modern facilities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juliekarenryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, January 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give a review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay here and got good use out of the pool and BBQ area. Its great to see kids making the most out of the pool! Kind regards, Eve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2013

The hotel room was basic, and unfortunately, we were bothered by lingering kitchen smells (exotic food). Management helpful, and trying to do his best, but the motel is quite run down.
Not a good value for the price.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bgbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, December 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad you found our location to be in a good position. Apologies that you felt there was residual cooking smells in the room, cleanliness is something we pride ourselves on. We would have been more than happy to offer an apology on the spot and move you into a different room had you alerted us to this issue at the time. It is difficult to know what to say when the only feedback you get is given online and after the fact, but I appreciate you bringing this to my attention. Have a safe onward journey. Kind regards, Rob.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

Great location. convenient for town and nearby restaurants. clean comfortable and value for money. Rooms were very clean and comfortable. Great local advice from Rob and would recommend a stay. Han & James

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cvjmje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EveThorp, Owner at Fairway Motel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Hi guys, glad you had a great time here in Wanaka! Keep enjoying New Zealand and have a safe trip home too :-)

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review!

Kind regards

Rob
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.5 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
1.6 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bella Vista Wanaka
Bella Vista Wanaka
#12 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Motel

Property: Fairway Motel
Address: 2 MacPherson Street | Central Otago District, Wanaka, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fairway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For comfortable, affordable accommodation in Wanaka, think Fairway Motel. Fairway Motel can provide a great range of studios, family units and 2 bedroom apartments that can cater for anyone from traveling couples to large groups. Fairway motel facilities include: - Large in ground swimming pool (Dec - Apr) and BBQ area perfect for those warmer months - Guest laundry, bike & golf club storage space and a ski drying room for the winter - A big car park area to accommodate boats, trailers and tour buses - Freeview Satellite TV Fairway Motel is close to all Wanaka amenities, the pristine lake, fine restaurants and shops are just a short stroll away. Puzzling World and Mt Iron track is a short walk and we are adjacent to the spectacular Wanaka Golf Club. Wanaka can offer you a myriad of outdoor pursuits in all seasons, so let Fairway Motel be your ticket to ride! Your hosts Eve and Rob look forward to welcoming you to Wanaka. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Fairway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing