We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bland and boring”

Thai Siam Restaurant
Ranked #61 of 81 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We are focused on serving Fresh and Delicious Thai Cuisine offering a range of dishes from all regions of Thailand. We offer an Extensive menu along with Great service and in comfortable and modern surroundings.
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Bland and boring”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

Thai food is noted for its exciting fusion and explosion of flavours. The food served to us was amazingly lacking in flavour. My wife's chicken stir fry had small pieces of chicken served with soggy limp vegetables in a sauce that defied description. The dish had the consistency of food that had been kept in a bain-marie for sometime. My sizzling beef dish lived up to its name as it sizzled to the table, but that was it. My vegetables were a bit better, and the amount of beef was good. The sauce had some flavour but nothing exciting at all. Even the accompanying chilli paste lacked punch. Undoubtedly, it was the worst Thai food I've eaten anywhere. I can cook better myself. The service was OK but after a poor meal I didn't appreciate being hit for a further 15% surcharge for being a public holiday.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    86
    58
    31
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire UK
Level Contributor
151 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed April 20, 2014

We weren't quite sure what to expect from our first restaurant experience on our first night in Wanaka, but this little gem provided some friendly service and some excellent Thai fare. A particularly good tom young kung soup to heat us up on a chilly night (can't agree with your last reviewer) and the quality continued from there. With three Thai restaurants in our home town, we could compare with what we were used to and this compared very favourably. A good start to our gastronomic experiences in Wanaka

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sweetfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not authentic Thai”
Reviewed April 13, 2014 via mobile

We walked into this place because it has nice decor and looked good. We ordered a Tom Yum Kung, a king prawn green curry and a stir fried vegetable. The Tom Yum Kung soup is very watery and lack flavour. The green curry was actually white, watery, and very salty. The vegetables is very Chinese style and salty. Overall the food is just Thai in the name. They taste very bland.

Service was so so. Despite we ordered a soup, we weren't given bowls and we had to ask for them. Do no recommend.

Helpful?
Thank Pengster F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC suburbs
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Garlic :=}”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

The restaurant has a cafeteria feel to it, but the quality and flavor of the food is on a much higher level. Our experience in New Zealand restaurants is that cooks do not use garlic to our taste level. At Thai Siam they know how to use garlic. My Garlic Chicken with noodles was very good.
Our servers were young women on working holiday. They were personable and helpful. The cook(s) turned our food out very quickly.
This is well worth a visit.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank apba66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expensive for thai”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

One of the only Thai restaurants we could find in Wanaka. This place had good views at the lakeside. The food was good, but we had a very expensive bill (90$), despite ordering an average meal for two without drinks due to some holiday surcharge that day. Overall a decent place to eat.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelbee306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Siam Restaurant also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Thai Siam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing