We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food but avoid sunny evenings”

Thai Siam Restaurant
Ranked #63 of 85 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $6 - $18
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We are focused on serving Fresh and Delicious Thai Cuisine offering a range of dishes from all regions of Thailand. We offer an Extensive menu along with Great service and in comfortable and modern surroundings.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food but avoid sunny evenings”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We ordered a chicken satay starter, chicken salad and seafood pad thai. The food was great. Unfortunately, we were given a table by a window with the sun streaming in, and despite lowering the blind, it was uncomfortably warm and we couldn't wait to get out. Air conditioning would have been helpful.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    89
    59
    33
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

After an exhilarating day in the Mt Aspiring National Park we returned to Wanaka to look for an appealing restaurant to satisfy our hunger. The location of Thai Siam was great but the uninspiring food let it down. Not a great selection of vegetables in the stir fried dishes we ordered. Couldn't complain about the attentive and friendly service though.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athenree, null, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice location but bland food.”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I went to this restaurant with a small group. The location was picturesque. The food however was very bland and just warm and no more. The rice dishes and the Pud Thai were about the right size but simply lacked the flavour that you would normally associate with Thai food. The staff were fine and friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tracey H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and nice restaurant”
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

We visited this restaurant last night and enjoyed our experience.

The service was attentive yet not over the top. I don't enjoy seeing the wait staff come to our table every two minutes and here they had it just right. Greeted well when we arrived and sat in a nice part of the restaurant, we were given our space to chat without interruption all evening.

The food was delicious. I was very happy with everything. I had spring rolls, followed by sweet and sour vegetables with pineapple. My partner had the beef Penang curry, which was beautifully spiced yet creamy. We shared a lovely bowl of coconut rice. The portion sizes were generous, which was good to see as often restaurants try to make portion sizes so small you walk away hungry. Not here, we walked out with full tummies and some food for the next day.

Overall the atmosphere was nice but did lack a little. I enjoyed listening to Led Zeppelin over the speakers but it was really quiet and could hardly be heard. The menus were almost comically large and the cutlary looked a little cheap. The chairs were a little uncomfortable but really, who comes to a restaurant for the chairs? You go for quality of food and service, both of which were spot on.

I think most people would enjoy this place. I would definitely visit again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Al_Nogeira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
1 review
“Low Quality Food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife & I have eaten at various Thai restaurants throughout the world (and in Thailand as well), and though some restaurants are better than others, in general each one is quite nice. However, we were VERY disappointed with the food here. For example, we ordered a fish dish, which we've had before in other restaurants, and is authentically a deep fried whole fish with a nice/tasty chilli, lime & coriander sauce. The dish here however, was just some dry, boiled pieces of frozen fish with cheap sweet chilli sauce poured over it, served with raw vegetables. It was very unappetising. The other dishes were also uninspiring, maybe ok for people who don't know quality Thai food.We left feeling very unsatisfied & disappointed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Siam Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Thai Siam Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing