We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy coffee and gluten free treats”

Soulfood Organic Store & Cafe
Ranked #3 of 4 Dessert in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“yummy coffee and gluten free treats”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

As a gluten and dairy intolerant traveller in NZ, finding a good coffee can be a challenge as a lot of cafes use soy milk with malt barley in it. It was a relief to find this little haven that served beautiful strong plunger coffee in pretty tea cups with rice milk. To top off the hippy vibe they have gluten free vegan sugar free muffins. And you can shop for fair trade chocolate and locally grown herbal teas while you wait. This is my new fave, seating is limited but the best seat for me was the window seat, they have outdoor seating but in winter its a bit chilly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sooty66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    27
    8
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Food for your Soul”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were in Wanaka in January, 2013 and enjoyed a couple of meals at Soulfood Cafe during our stay. As my youngest son & I are both Gluten & Dairy free I was joyed on the discovery of the Soulfood Cafe. The owner serves up an awesome Breakfast omelet & the Soup oh my it was so yummy. Do your self a favour if ever in Wanaka enjoy a meal at Soulfood as they really have delicious meals and they also have a great range of Organic fruit & Vegs & Gluten Free & Dairy Free Grocery lines.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KirstenRoslyn6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
122 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good veg breakfast/lunch options.”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Full disclosure: I eat everything. However, my significant other is effectively vegan. This can make finding food in meat-centric places challenging at times. This cafe/grocery had some strong offerings like pizza and quiche for those not wanting to indulge their inner carnivore. Both me and the SO were able to find breakfast and lunch options on separate visits. There is also a small grocery here. Though we didn't end up needing anything. The staff is knowledgable about what is and is not vegetarian and vegan (you'd be surprised how many restaurants offer vegetarian options with fish sauce or chicken). Coffee drinks were fairly good too. We were in Wanaka for two days and made it here twice. So, saying I'd go back on a return visit to Wanaka is an obvious statement, but, I'll say it anyway.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Unpossible
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Unexpected organic and vegetarian fare”
Reviewed April 4, 2013

I remebered this cafe/shop from a previous trip 3 years before, so was glad it was still around. First visit they'd sold out of lunch, but the next day we were able to have open Mediterranean style wraps and frittata, fresh juice - which is often hard to come by in tourist spots - and even take away some of the owner's fresh made hummus. And buy some organic eggs and tomatoes for breakfast! Good vibes.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GerryNZ_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Delicious soup & deer”
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Had a chicken quinoa soup along with some sort of cake with wild deer in it plus some salad for nz$25,-. 12 for the soup + 8 for the 'lasagna' and 5 for the salad. Very reasonable, especially considering the freshness and sublime quality of the food. The 6 pieces of bread that came along with the soup were marvelous as well, best bread I've eaten in NZ so far.

As a desert we ordered 2 yesterdays' muffins (1,50 discount per muffin), which tasted as fresh as todays' muffins, after being heat up. Along with a small pot of ginger lemon kawa tea (no tea bags, REAL tea) it costed 9nzd which is very decent comparing with other places, and considering the more than average quality of the muffins and tea.

The only downsides are: the music playing at our presence. Fortunatelly not so loud, but it didn't really resemble the aspects of the shop/restaurant.

Furthermore the shop and restaurant are mixed together, so there is not much of a restaurant atmosphere, but it is more of a cafe than a restaurant anyway so it didn't really matter, and the other, more important, aspects were amazing.

All with all a great stay and an amazing lunch!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Filip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soulfood Organic Store & Cafe also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Soulfood Organic Store & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing