We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A long and beautiful lunch”

Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 85 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $18 - $23
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the fresh and contemporary atmosphere in Sargoods Restaurant and Wineglass Cafe, situated at the very heart of Edgewater. Savour the outstanding New Zealand wines and cuisine, from the Wineglass Cafe menu, on the surrounding outdoors terrace area, and soak up the spectacular scenery and ambience of Lake Wanaka. Enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in Sargoods Restaurant daily.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A long and beautiful lunch”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We met old friends at this restaurant for lunch on a cold Winter's day in August. To some extent, one's impression of a restaurant can be influenced by the occasion or the company of friends, but this was a really nice dining experience. The food was almost entirely local produce, and the dishes were well prepared and nicely served. We enjoyed a recommended selection of New Zealand white, red and dessert wines. The staff were knowledgeable about both the food and wine, and served the meal without haste and with reasonable pauses between courses. Perhaps a good indication of how much we all enjoyed ourselves was that we sat down for lunch at 1.15pm, but did not leave the table until 5.45 pm! This is a nice restaurant and recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear John

We're pleased you enjoyed your time with us, over such a long lunch with your friends. Relaxing around the roaring open fire over a meal is a perfect way to spend time with good friends, especially on a winter day.

We appreciate your comments about both the staff and our food & wine offerings.

Our menu changes seasonally and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Wineglass Cafe in the future.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    25
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Failed yet again to impress!”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Have eaten here on a number of occasions but it most certainly would not be by choice! The last such occasion was June the 12th for a friends birthday. We were the 3rd table (8 of us) to arrive and as other tables filled we waited for over an hour to get our meals. Just as well we were not on a lunch time restriction. My meal of eggs Benedict with salmon was cold and with the salmon not tasting quite right (tail end and rather firm). Others at the table were also not impressed with their choices and in particular the price of some items! The so called omelette which resembled a small piece of quiche at $16 could only be called a "rip off". Was only asked when paying how my meal was in which I replied was not happy as was cold and wasnt sure about the salmon!
Whilst the stomach played havoc for a while it wasnt too long before I was bringing up the meal! I immediately rang the hotel and was told the manager would get back to me! It is now July 1st .........and I am still waiting!!!! Unfortunately this is the final straw in more than one bad dining experience in this establishment!!!! Most certainly the last!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FoodieforlifeWanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Foodie for Life

It is unfortunate for you to have had this experience.

Our General Manager had been actively trying to contact you Paula, but unfortunately the phone number he has for you appears to be incorrect and we were unsuccessful in sourcing your number any other way, despite extensive efforts.

Through our private message to you via Trip Advisor, we have provided our full details and also sought your details> We expect to connect personally soon.

Notwithstanding this, we actively investigated this situation and checked with other patrons who dined on the same day, including a number who had the same meal. They experienced no issues.

We further checked the meal ingredient in the kitchen and found all components within accepted food safely protocols.

We are very confident of our food safety at Edgewater and investigate such situations thoroughly – which we did in this case.

Our reputation within the Wanaka community is very important to us and the majority of reviews both for the Wineglass and our accommodation are very favourable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akaroa, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“TOP FOOD & WINE”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The coffee is excellent - but the scones are out of this world. The best scone I've ever tasted, and they've got about 8 to choose from. The evening restaurant's food was also excellent as was the wine selections. My fish meal was divine, so soft and tasty - the salad and vegetables seasonal and fresh. Will definately visit the cafe and restaurant when in Wanaka again - oh, and did I mention the views ...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi Margy

Thanks for taking time to review the Wineglass Cafe also.

We're really pleased you enjoyed your dining experience, not to mention the awesome location.

You may be interested in one of our scone menus, publishes in the ODT. Link is below for you.

http://www.odt.co.nz/lifestyle/food-wine/256897/ask-chef-edgewaters-chocolate-scones-rum-and-raisin-mascarpone

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“An Edgewater plus.”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

It was a beautiful balmy summers evening.
I was happy. It was my birthday.
I enjoyed my steak.
The service was efficient if somewhat aloof.
I didn't dislike anything

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ayeuplass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Jennam

Happy birthday. Did you let our team know it was a special occasion?

Pleased you enjoyed yourself at the Wineglass. If there is a specific staff member you are referring to please feel free to contact directly to discuss.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Island, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Lovely food - lovely view!”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I believe this restaurant has one of the best views in Wanaka - no looking over roads or carparks - just staight out to the lake! We sat outside for lunch - it would be rude not to when the weather was so stunning. I had the blue cod - just the right amount, and lovely fresh tasting. Hubbie had the merino burger and was more than satisfied. Mother had the chicken filo and thought it was just devine. All washed down with a bottle of the Wooing Tree Rose - just perfect. Service was great and pricing very reasonable. Well done!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewater_Resort, Public Relations Manager at Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Chris W

Your a great local advocate for the Wineglass Cafe.

Pleased all your meals were great and the Wooing Tree Rose sounds perfect.

We hope to see you again.

Kind regards
Trish
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Wineglass Cafe & Sargoods Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing