We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food! Real Authentic Mexican!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of AmiGos Mexican Grill

AmiGos Mexican Grill
Ranked #25 of 79 Restaurants in Wanaka
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Mexican, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Food! Real Authentic Mexican!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

I came here with my partner, My dad recommended the restaurant stating it was the best mexican he had had outside mexico and the states. The food was fantastic I left full to the brim! It is a little pricey but well worth it!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Littlecessna150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmiGosManager, Owner at AmiGos Mexican Grill, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to review us Dear Guest!.. and please please pass on our appreciation to your Dad, it's referrals like that which stir our passions!

I'd love to say that we're making a killing from our prices with a big fat profit margin, but sadly, that's not the case! Wanaka's a special, beautiful, remote place, with narrow and weather dependent winter and summer seasons in which to make our sales. It's also a very long way from Mexico, from which we source a lot of product!

Regardless, we reckon that we offer fantastic value for money, and appreciate that you appreciated that mi amigo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    123
    63
    38
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wanaka
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place to go in Wanaka”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

Excellent in every way. Spur of the moment decision to dine out. Staff very accommodating. Food fab. Only minor complaint was that I was cold as I was sitting under the ceiling fan.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jill00Wanaka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AmiGosManager, Owner at AmiGos Mexican Grill, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Thanks for your kind words amigo... you'll be pleased to know that the last of our heaters was installed today... and it's toasty warm now!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

Amigos new location is great, really nicely set out, and with a great vibe. The staff are friendly and always seem to be singing happy birthday to someone!
Being the only notable mexican restaurant in Wanaka it still makes the effort even though there's no competition. The food is good, good size portions and really nice. If you're a mexican food expert (which i'm not) and you've had it in say Mexico or California, then you'll probably be less impressed. However if you just enjoy Mexican food then you'll love it. I did anyway. Will definitely be back sometime. A little on the pricey side but they've got a 'club' type thing on their website which gets you various discounts and deals so worth checking out before you go.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthar85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Comida muy Deliciosa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Great new venue - they just moved to their new venue and it's looking great. The food as always tastes delicious. It was hard to decide what to get with all the great meals but the Santa Fe Chicken was amazing and the Fajitas too. Very friendly staff, great atmosphere, nice open fire and Margaritas go down very well.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marisol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great night out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Amigos never fails us for a great night out. These guys work hard and it shows! The fajitas were my favorite but everything is great and they are always trying new things. We had margaritas which were also very tasty. The chile verde is another favourite, try it! Great salsa and guacamole. Casual atmosphere, great for couples, families or groups. Prices affordable. Can't wait to come back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Gr8_M8s_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed AmiGos Mexican Grill also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to AmiGos Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing