We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect in every way...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renmore House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Renmore House
Ranked #28 of 58 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect in every way...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

My fiance and I recently travelled overseas and explored the South Island of New Zealand. We stayed at Renmore House for 2 nights in February and honestly could not fault any part of our stay. Blair and Rosie are beautiful hosts, always willing to go that extra mile to make your stay as perfect as possible, and their house is gorgeous. The house has a stream running through the backyard with beautiful gardens and it was lovely to sit out on the back porch with their friendly kitty Sophie, relaxing and reading a book, listening to the sound of the running stream. The rooms are exquisite, romantic, and luxurious, each with their own bathroom and views. Breakfast was FANTASTIC! So many choices, and the effort that Blair and Rosie went to for brekkie was inspiring. The local knowledge that Blair and Rosie share is also very helpful. My partner and I explored many great local attractions during our stay that we wouldn't have known about if it hadn't been for Blair and Rosie. We went to National Toy and Transport Museum, Wanaka Beerworks, Puzzleworld, and local wineries.
We would definitely recommend Renmore House to anyone looking to stay in comfort in Wanaka, whether it is a romantic trip, a business trip, or travelling solo.
You will definitely be looked after by Blair and Rosie, they are a beautiful, welcoming couple.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are beautiful, each with their own characteristics and a different view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DanniD2B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenmoreWanaka, Owner at Renmore House, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
It was so exciting having a newly engaged couple stay at Renmore House.It was great to keep you busy while showcasing Wanaka in the hope that we may see you again on your honeymoon.Add in a few extra days next trip to cover some of the activities you didn't have time for. Thank you for your kind comments we loved having you to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
53
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We have just stayed at Renmore for two nights and it really was like being with family!
Rosie greeted us with a cup of tea and cakes and explained with great enthusiasm all the activities available. Despite my wife having an aversion to boats, Rosie assured her that she would have no problem with the Jet boat and we booked it and, needless to say we both thoroughly enjoyed it.
We have had larger rooms during our trip,but the bed was comfortable, the shower had plenty of power, the breakfast was excellent and the garden was lovely.
We sat in the garden after the boat trip and enjoyed a very reasonably priced bottle of wine in delightful surroundings and were joined by Rosie and other guests and felt very much at home
When we left we were informed that, despite having not only done our washing, but ironed it too, there would be no extra charge. Thanks for a great stay. Thoroughly recommended

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank HSeeingtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenmoreWanaka, Owner at Renmore House, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
We have traveled a lot and appreciate what comforts really matter. What we believe is important is that our guests get out and enjoy the environment. Wanaka River Journeys up to Mt Aspiring national Park is a very special trip, then to come back and relax with a wine and good company by the stream knowing that you have clean clothes to pack in your bag for the next exciting part of your holiday. It was our pleasure to ensure you enjoyed your stay at Renmore House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Greeted by the chilled out, contented cat lounging on the doorstep boded well for our two night stay at Renmore House. We so enjoyed meeting Rosie and Blair, the perfect hosts, and sharing tea, coffee & shortbread in the beautiful back garden complete with a creek running through. Our room was lovely with views out over the garden and the scent of roses wafting in. Rosie's suggestions for how we might spend our time in Wanaka were absolutely spot on and so we spent a day jet boating and hiking in the stunning Mount Aspiring National Park before sitting in the back of a morris minor convertible in the quirky Cinema Paradiso to watch The Life of Pi in 3d. We enjoyed a hearty breakfast both cooked & continental on both days and loved that Rosie sat down to eat and chat with us. This was a wonderful episode in our NZ travels and we have both agreed, looking back at our whole trip, that this was a highlight and that we would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotscowgirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenmoreWanaka, Owner at Renmore House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. You certainly made the most of your stay and we loved your company. Sophie (the chilled out, contented, cat) takes her role as part of the welcoming committee very seriously.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brecon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

A very warm welcome awaited us at Renmore; Rosie and Blair could not have been more helpful and even drove us to the start of one of our walks. Our room was very comfortable with roses right outside the window, and such a pretty garden. We would definitely go again.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenmoreWanaka, Owner at Renmore House, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments. We do like to drive our guests to the start of some of the tracks as their time is often so limited they need to get to see the best of the area . For us it take so little time to ensure that happens. Rosie's car probably knows it's own way to Deans bank for the Outlet walk back to town. So pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

We were only able to stay one night on our tour of S Island, but would have loved to have stayed much longer.
Rosie and Blair were excellent hosts, with a beautiful home. Our room was cosy with lovely views of the garden and its babbling brook.
They were very helpful at advising us about restaurants, and even rang to book us a table.
Breakfast next morning was delicious and plentiful.
A brilliant place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenmoreWanaka, Owner at Renmore House, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We so enjoyed your company and wish it could have been longer but know you would have enjoyed Fiordland. We will be thinking of you and send our best wishes to you and your family while you experience a real Nth Pole Christmas please send a photo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed with Rosie and Blair for two nights, and feel it is a nice choice there in Wanaka. The room is nicely done, and there is a large common area that is available to everyone staying there. Both Rosie and Blair seemed sincerely interested in helping us enjoy our time in Wanaka. Their location is just a very short walk to the restaurants in town, and they have a charming bubbling brook that flows along the back of their property.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DBS17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenmoreWanaka, Owner at Renmore House, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments about us and Renmore House. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Please come again you will be very welcome.
Kind regards Rosie and Blair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

We had a brilliant stay with Rosie and Blair - they are amazing hosts and welcomed us warmly.
The rooms are beautiful, warm and very clean. Great location and a hop, skip jump away from town. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RenmoreWanaka, Owner at Renmore House, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Blair and I had so much fun with you all especially up at Cardrona. We both hope you do return again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.3 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
1.1 mi away
Wanaka Homestead Lodge and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Wanaka Luxury Apartments
0.2 mi away
Aspiring Lodge Motel
Aspiring Lodge Motel
#15 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wanaka Springs Lodge
Wanaka Springs Lodge
#12 of 58 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renmore House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renmore House

Property: Renmore House
Address: 44 Upton Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renmore House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Renmore House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing