We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional view”
Review of Lakeview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeview Motel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2010

Our family stayed here for 4nites of December and we enjoyed it very much. The staffs were friendly and welcoming. The room was nice and relaxing decorated with a comfortable bed. The hotel is well located in a short distance to the township. Especially, the view was exceptional wonderful. Our room has a beautiful view over the lakefront and surrounding hills. Highly recommend and definitely come back

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HethKenzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (267)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

238 - 244 of 267 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2010

we were not overjoyed with this place...there was a bad smell in the room which I think came from the carpet.....only a fryer in the kitchen..yes good views but we were put in room 3 when the larger room 4 which was also lighter was available...I think one can do better.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank begley85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2010

My wife & i stayed at the Lakeview for one night in Dec 2009 but wished we had spent a couple more nights here.We arrived early but this was not a problem for Leanne (the owner) who showed us to our studio & helped us in any way she could.The room was large with an excellent kitchen area,tip-top bathroom,flat screen tv & seating outside to take in the awsome views of Lake Wanaka & the surrounding area.The Lakeview Studios were definitely one of the highlights of our trip to NZ & we would not hesitate to stay here again if we ever come back to Wanaka.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lccc14656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2010

Whichever room you are allocated the view will be the same.....a perfect view of Lake Wanaka.
The owners are very friendly & informative, the accommodation was very clean and provided everything we needed.
Will certainly stay at Lakeview in the future.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MagicTingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We arrived early and on a miserable day (had been raining all night and was set for the day ahead) but recieved a warm welcome from the owner who allowed us to check into the room early. The views from the balcony were stunning particularly in the evening as the storm passed. The rooms had everthing you could need to eat in or 5 min walk into town if you wanted to eat out.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JASH09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 23, 2009

Adequate hotel for a night's stay.. Clean rooms and spacious studio.. very nice views from room.. Be aware that the motel has views of the lake, but is not exactly walking distance to the lake front.. Since it's on a hill, you need a vehicle to get to the main restaurant area etc.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sablesilver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2009

After a tiring drive of 3 hours from Franz Josef Glaciers, we were thrilled to be greeted by the picturesque view. We were in Room 4 and everything was impeccable. This is one of the best stays. If I am coming to Wanaka again, I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cttSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
835 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
528 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
456 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.6 mi away
Wanaka View Motel
Wanaka View Motel
#3 of 20 in Wanaka
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel

Address: 68 Lismore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $111 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious queen studios with MILLION dollar views of lake & mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Studios Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing