We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”
Review of Lakeview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lakeview Motel
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We were very happy with this small Inn. The location is on the hill overlooking the lake and town but is an easy walk with a nearby staircase to the town. The rooms are attractive, clean, good beds and fully equipped. Reasonably priced laundry facilities are available and the friendly management went out of there way to be helpful. We traveled in New Zealand for 6 weeks and rate this one of the top 3 places we stayed and maybe the best value. It is located in a residential neighborhood with no traffic noise. The wifi works well.

Room Tip: All the rooms have views of the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jer-jeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

142 - 148 of 269 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed one night. We arrived at 8 pm to find a note on the office door indicating which unit was ours for the night. A system that worked very well. No need for staff to have to stay late at night to be waiting for latecomers. The studio unit was comfortable and warm with all things supplied that we needed. A small kitchenette is well equipped. The view is amazing. The motel is a short stroll (10 min ) into town which is handy. Great to have free internet too. A very comfortable stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David2111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here two nights. Small place up a steep hill overlooking the lake. What a view on all sides. Absolutely breathtaking. The room was very cosy and comfortable. I felt it very much reflected the owner's taste but we felt quite settled there. Oh and there's access to free internet. There is a tiny garden space out back and each room has a bench outside the room for you to admire the view. Parking caused a twinge of fear for me as there is rather a steep slope leading to a small parking area with a big drop behind! I really loved Wanaka. We were blessed with great weather and everywhere you looked, quite amazing! There are some great walks you can do and I can recommend the Wild Hills Safari from Ridgeline Adventures - the iSite can help you out. Four wheel drive in the local areas - the views are out of this world.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Priss58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spent a couple of nights at this clean and comfortable motel. We were in room 5, and we had a terrace with a gorgeous wide open unobstructed view of the lake -- we ate some very romantic dinners watching the sunset behind a moutain from that terrace. Parking was right outside our room door, and free wifi is aways a great bonus. The room was clean, and compact but had good space including a kitchenette, living/dining room, and the bed is 11 steps up in an alcove. The bed is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!!!!!

The bathroom and the sink /shower are in separate rooms, which is strange for us but not a problem. There's no stovetop but we were able to borrow an electric stove from the very friendly reception for the duration of our stay. It's a 5 to 7 minute walk down to town as there is a shortcut. Overall a great stay with the most incredible view.

Room Tip: Room 5 has an incredible unobstructed lake/mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chambello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spent a night here at Lakeview Motel. The name speaks for itself! The room had a fantastic view of the lake. A cosy little set-up and it was very comfortable. Located a short distance (3 min drive) away from the town center, it was quiet, away from the hustle and bustle, and serene. Temperature permitting, one can sit by the balcony and enjoy the beautiful view of the lake. Wifi is free and host, Leanne, is very helpful in explaining the facilities and amenities of the property. Bed was very comfortable and soft, with electric blankets (important). Room is well equipped with a heater, a small kitchenette with utensils and crockery. The only thing missing I feel, is perhaps an electric stove. We had plans to cook and have a lovely breakfast by the balcony, but realized that there isn't a stove in the room, only a gas BBQ stove out in the yard (which was probably too cold to do any cooking outdoors). So we changed our breakfast plans to just toast instead. But overall, lovely stay. If we are ever back in Wanaka, this place is a MUST for us!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan_Kam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Everything you could wish for - clean, comfortable, well equipped and with stunning views of Lake Wanaka. We were happy to parked our motorcycles outside the room, although there is parking at the rear of the building if required. Just a shame we couldn't stay longer!

Room Tip: Our bedroom window opened onto the street outside and we left it open because the weather was warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midlandsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed two nights. Was going to stay only one night but we enjoyed the view and quiet so we stayed another night. It's a bit out of town so it's about a 10 minute walk but that's why you get the view and quiet. Nice rooms and patio outside overlooking Lake Wanaka. Parking for some of the rooms was a little tight. Good wifi.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Wekims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
533 reviews
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
851 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#5 of 20 in Wanaka
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
465 reviews
1.7 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.6 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#10 of 20 in Wanaka
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel

Address: 68 Lismore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $113 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious queen studios with MILLION dollar views of lake & mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Studios Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing