We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Incredible view” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lakeview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lakeview Motel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Incredible view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Spent a couple of nights at this clean and comfortable motel. We were in room 5, and we had a terrace with a gorgeous wide open unobstructed view of the lake -- we ate some very romantic dinners watching the sunset behind a moutain from that terrace. Parking was right outside our room door, and free wifi is aways a great bonus. The room was clean, and compact but had good space including a kitchenette, living/dining room, and the bed is 11 steps up in an alcove. The bed is the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!!!!!

The bathroom and the sink /shower are in separate rooms, which is strange for us but not a problem. There's no stovetop but we were able to borrow an electric stove from the very friendly reception for the duration of our stay. It's a 5 to 7 minute walk down to town as there is a shortcut. Overall a great stay with the most incredible view.

Room Tip: Room 5 has an incredible unobstructed lake/mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank delineation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    87
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
196
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Spent a night here at Lakeview Motel. The name speaks for itself! The room had a fantastic view of the lake. A cosy little set-up and it was very comfortable. Located a short distance (3 min drive) away from the town center, it was quiet, away from the hustle and bustle, and serene. Temperature permitting, one can sit by the balcony and enjoy the beautiful view of the lake. Wifi is free and host, Leanne, is very helpful in explaining the facilities and amenities of the property. Bed was very comfortable and soft, with electric blankets (important). Room is well equipped with a heater, a small kitchenette with utensils and crockery. The only thing missing I feel, is perhaps an electric stove. We had plans to cook and have a lovely breakfast by the balcony, but realized that there isn't a stove in the room, only a gas BBQ stove out in the yard (which was probably too cold to do any cooking outdoors). So we changed our breakfast plans to just toast instead. But overall, lovely stay. If we are ever back in Wanaka, this place is a MUST for us!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan_Kam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

Everything you could wish for - clean, comfortable, well equipped and with stunning views of Lake Wanaka. We were happy to parked our motorcycles outside the room, although there is parking at the rear of the building if required. Just a shame we couldn't stay longer!

Room Tip: Our bedroom window opened onto the street outside and we left it open because the weather was warm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank midlandsmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Stayed two nights. Was going to stay only one night but we enjoyed the view and quiet so we stayed another night. It's a bit out of town so it's about a 10 minute walk but that's why you get the view and quiet. Nice rooms and patio outside overlooking Lake Wanaka. Parking for some of the rooms was a little tight. Good wifi.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wekims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were very pleased with our three night stay in this motel. We had planned a longer stay, after a week of touring South Island, so that we could rest a little and do our laundry etc. The room was spacious and comfortable, and the location - just a short distance outside the centre of town - was perfect. The views across the lake were great. A good place for an overnight stop or for a longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank adamski47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

On;y stayed one night ove Christmas 2012 but helped the holiday go well.

Great position just 2 mins walk outside town so quiet but teriffic view down the lake to the mountains.

Slightly dated rooms but certainly not unpleasant and it means very solid conctrcution, so no noise whatsoever from other rooms - a gripe of mine is having to listen to other people's TV's, toilet, fridge, shower etc. None of that here - peaceful and tranquil!

Only a small place with (i think) 6 rooms but run very professionally, with cleanliness and friendliness high on the agenda.

Lovely host(ess) who has no trouble smiling and making you feel welcome and wanted. She alone is a reason to go back!

We had our Christmas dinner picnic in the little bbq area, and it was marvellous to enoy the view while the sun dipped (can be a tad windy due to the position but you can't control the weather!).

We liked the town too...a real community feel with things happening, rather than a pure tourist/ski resort there to take money off tourists (te anau anyone?!) We had great coffee, got a bargain in one of the hiking shops, visited the famous cinema, walked the lakeside, enjoyed the peace...perfect romantic Christmas getaway.

Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachcouple2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed for one night at Lakeview motel. We found the host to be really helpful and welcoming and we loved our room. It was really comfortable and had a fabulous view over looking the lake. I requested a twin room and it was a very good size and well laid out. I would highly recommend this motel, it was great value and in a super spot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Wyndham Vacation Resorts Wanaka
1.6 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.3 mi away
Wanaka Hotel
Wanaka Hotel
#9 of 20 in Wanaka
3.5 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel

Property: Lakeview Motel
Address: 68 Lismore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Wanaka
#3 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious queen studios with MILLION dollar views of lake & mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Studios Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing