We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased!”
Review of Lakeview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lakeview Motel
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very pleased!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

On;y stayed one night ove Christmas 2012 but helped the holiday go well.

Great position just 2 mins walk outside town so quiet but teriffic view down the lake to the mountains.

Slightly dated rooms but certainly not unpleasant and it means very solid conctrcution, so no noise whatsoever from other rooms - a gripe of mine is having to listen to other people's TV's, toilet, fridge, shower etc. None of that here - peaceful and tranquil!

Only a small place with (i think) 6 rooms but run very professionally, with cleanliness and friendliness high on the agenda.

Lovely host(ess) who has no trouble smiling and making you feel welcome and wanted. She alone is a reason to go back!

We had our Christmas dinner picnic in the little bbq area, and it was marvellous to enoy the view while the sun dipped (can be a tad windy due to the position but you can't control the weather!).

We liked the town too...a real community feel with things happening, rather than a pure tourist/ski resort there to take money off tourists (te anau anyone?!) We had great coffee, got a bargain in one of the hiking shops, visited the famous cinema, walked the lakeside, enjoyed the peace...perfect romantic Christmas getaway.

Thank you!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachcouple2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    156
    92
    11
    1
    1
See reviews for
25
202
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed for one night at Lakeview motel. We found the host to be really helpful and welcoming and we loved our room. It was really comfortable and had a fabulous view over looking the lake. I requested a twin room and it was a very good size and well laid out. I would highly recommend this motel, it was great value and in a super spot.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Polly O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We arrived after the office had closed at 9 pm but the owner had left a note of which room we were in as agreed. Everything we needed for one night and a great view. The bed was comfortable (although one person doesn't get a bedside table!). The shower area and separate toilet were slightly dated but perfectly fine.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This is a small privately run motel, but it hits all the right buttons. It's a 10 minute walk from the restaurant area, which makes it a bit quieter, and it looks out directly over the lake. It's at a higher level than the lake front, so the views are superb. The rooms all have balconies or terraces facing the lake, and there's a pleasant shared BBQ area just in front.
The rooms are a good size, half of them having an interesting split-level layout, which gives you a separate sleeping area above the main dining/sitting area. We were in one of these, and really enjoyed it.
The town is big enough to have a good choice of restaurants and shops, and a bit of a buzz, but it is still small and relaxed compared to Queenstown. Highly recommended. And don't miss the 5km (round trip) DoC walk up past Diamond Lake to get a view back down over Lake Wanaka.

Room Tip: Go for a split-level room for a bit more space, and a peerless balcony view - see my photo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank john-hants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013 via mobile

I suspect that not many motels in Wanaka can claim to have a true view of the lake, and even fewer to have a view this good (would have to be one of if not the best view). The location is one road back from the lake withy he building built into the hill, which results in great views from the motel rooms (through either a nice bay window, or can sit outside on the verandah and enjoy the view and some great fresh air.

The motel itself is very spacious, well laid out, has free wifi and run by a lovely friendly couple (which being only a small establishment, provide the friendly/helpful/personal type of service). They also have a BBQ you can use to cook up a nice meal - we didn't but if we stayed another night would have - would be just great to have a BBQ in front of such a great view. The room itself also had a small equipped kitchen for those that want to prepare their own meals.

Like most motels, the rooms aren't super modern, however were really nice, clean, comfortable and very spacious, and for the price were extremely excellent value for money (we had previously paid far more for far less in Franz Joseph). The motel is also located 2-3 min drive or 10 min walk from the centre of town, which we quite enjoyed.

Overall a great experience and highly recommended.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

My partner and I stayed one night at Lakeview Motel in Wanaka last weekend. I only wish we could have stayed longer. We found everything about the motel to be beyond our expectations. While the motel may not have presented itself as being of superior quality (or price), it was very pleasant, clean and contemporary, with high quality linen, good bathroom facilities and a very comfortable bed. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The stand-out feature of the property was the simply stunning outlook over Lake Wanaka and surrounding mountains. Our unit had an enchanting bay window overlooking the lake, and outside we had a table and chairs on a pretty little terrace above the lake. It really was one of those experiences where you arrive at your accommodation, and say ''Wow''. If you are looking for the 'wow'factor at a resonable price, we would highly recommend this lovely motel. Thank you folks at Lakeview Motel.

Room Tip: I believe there were only 5 units to the motel, and our experience was that the downstairs units may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
137 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed here for one night but with excellent views over the lake.
We had the last room available, the one straight from the street on the left, with no balcony.
Although there was no balcony it was still an an excellent room very clean and well kept.
The only down side being English there wasn't a tea pot.
On top of all that there was free Wi-Fi.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a balcony if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAKANMAKAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel

Property: Lakeview Motel
Address: 68 Lismore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious queen studios with MILLION dollar views of lake & mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Studios Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing