We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views from the room”
Review of Lakeview Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Lakeview Motel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night. The room we got was the one with the full glass door. It was a fantastic room with outstanding view of the town. The rooms were big and had a separate full bathrooms with heaters. We toured the south island and stayed in 9 different hotels and by far this was one of the best.But i gave 3 stars for the following reason: We checked in at 7.00PM. We had a baby and asked them if we can check out a little later in the morning. All the 8 other hotels accommodated our requests. Here they were very curt and asked us to check out by 10.00AM.They do have a schedule and all but shifting it by 30 -45min would nt be that bad.
Except for that great stay .

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank sandy2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
There are newer reviews for Lakeview Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 159 of 262 reviews

Reviewed December 5, 2012

The tourist books advertised "a million dollar view" they forgot about inflation. This motel has views to die for and is priceless. The hosts are very helpfull and nothing is too much. The accommodation is very clean and modern and we could have stayed longer and actually considered cancelling our next port of call. If we return to this area we will definately book again and for a longer period.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Welshmike_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
68Lismore, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded December 15, 2012

Thanks so much for the glowing review - hope to be of assistance again sometime in the future. Merry christmas and happy holidays! Leanne & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

This motel was way beyond my expectations. The rooms were very clean and modern. There is an alcove window with 2 chairs for sitting and staring out at the most amazing view. This is what makes this place a gem! We spent most of our time at the window, sitting and enjoying our surroundings. This was most appreciated because the weather was cold, we did not have to be outside to enjoy where we were.

There is a small, fairly well-equipped kitchen. There is no hot plate, only a microwave for heating food. There is an outdoor gas grill for cooking.

I loved this place and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luvinlife67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
68Lismore, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your stay with us. Its so rewarding to hear that we exceeded your expectations!! Happy travelling and thanks again - Leanne & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed two nights in unit 5 - direct access off Lismore St and 'upstairs' as far as the apartments go. This is the only unit 'upstairs' with an open balcony - and hence has a truly superb view over the lake and towards the Mount Aspiring range. Sit and watch the sunlight fade on the tops! These rooms are sturdily constructed and though all the other rooms were occupied no sounds disturbed us and we had two excellent nights' sleep. Free wifi we much appreciated. Provided equipment is standard - no breakfasts are offered. Note that the bedroom (in 5) is up a narrowish wooden stair from the living area - if access might be an issue, ask before booking. Lighting by the bedside is a little restricted and storage for clothing is tight, but overall we greatly enjoyed our time at Wanaka and recommend Lakeview Motel as a very good place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian_Denton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
68Lismore, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for your kind review. As you say room 5 is on two levels and has its own balcony with beautiful views. Each of our units are a little different to each other in the layout but all have superb uninterupted views of the lake and mountains!
We hope the rest of your trip around the South Island was equally as enjoyable.
Kind regards Leanne & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed for one night in a lower room. I was worried about the parking and getting out in the morning, but it was all good.Lovely view. We enjoyed our stay and would come again.
The price was very very good, and I thought excellent value for money.
Loads of hot water, great pressure. Loved the separate toilet.
The little nook for a cuppa and the view were sensational.Thanks.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rustylime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Very nice Studio with fantastic views over the lake. Quality furnishings and good Kitchen area.
Within easy walking distance of both the town & lake. Helpful owner who gave us plenty of good tips about the local area. Stayed for 4 days could have stayed longer

Room Tip: Best views from top floor
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012

At the price bracket, I expected a little bit more. As a well travelled local knowing many Wanaka and other localities motels (even having lived in Wanaka for some years), I know the area and the price / room standard ratio inside out like few others. Based on that, the "discounted" rate of $ 130 for unit # 5 / night, it is a little pricey for what you get. Bathroom - one of the worst layout designs and lowest "feel good" I have seen in years, resp you only seee at budget places. Sure, it was clean and basically functional, but every bit in the design and layout just screams low cost, and a design without any common sense. Standard prefab shower cubicle (so last century...), heated towel rail not reachable from shower (and there is plenty of room for a towel rail on the correct side of and right next to the shower), a sink which is also dated so last century had at least a single mixer tap retrofitted, overhead wall fan heater which by default can never heat the lower half of the room (leg cold), no tiling anywhere, barely any space for toileteries - everything old and tired. The door to the bathroom should be a sliding door in that layout or at least right in the corner and not takeing up most space to just get into the bathroom (provided nobody is at the sink). Carpet in unit - is beyond its days and needs replacement. I did not like to walk barefeet on it (as would be normal in a budget motel). Kitchen - terrible electric fry pan badly dented is the only cooking device and a microwave which cannot be operated easily based on logic. Noisy fridge is very small and freezes all or is too warm, yet has only an ice cube shelf, not a freezer. Bed has a slight "roll together" tiredness and is only a queen size. Stairs to the bedspace cove also screams that no design thoughts were made. As a place to stay, yes it works, but it fails to give you any kind of "feel good" by design, quality, freshness, the price suggests it should have. Other then the view (location default, not a design creation) it is acceptable as a 2 star budget motel standard. Room is worth a budget rate if well under $ 100 / night and would then deserve a rather good review.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
68Lismore, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Hi and thanks for writing a review about your stay with us. Being as familiar that you are with Wanaka you will be aware that Lakeview Motel is not one of the newer complexes in town and hence we advertise on our website that we are about 'rustic charm' rather than glass and chrome. We agree that the layout of the unit could be a little more efficient however very difficult to change without significant capital cost. One benefit from being a little older is the spaciousnous of the units compared with more recent developments. We focus on keeping the decor fresh and maintaining a high level of cleanliness as you can see from other reviews. An independant review of our pricing confirms we are very much at the lower level compared with other properties in Wanaka which are close to town and have uninterupted lake views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.2 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
793 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakeview Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakeview Motel

Address: 68 Lismore Street, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Wanaka
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wanaka
Price Range: $111 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lakeview Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious queen studios with MILLION dollar views of lake & mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Lakeview Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeview Studios Wanaka

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing