We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lakeview Motel
Nearby Hotels
Ramada Resort Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Edgewater(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$115
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$210
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Moorings(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bella Vista Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$75
$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motel Wanaka and Apartments(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$65
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Clearbrook Motel Wanaka(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairway Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wanaka View Motel(Wanaka)(Great Value!)
$123
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (271)
Filter reviews
271 results
Traveler rating
156
98
13
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
156
98
13
3
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay windowshared balconyseparate toiletone nightloft bedroombreakfast barcommunal bbqlaundry servicefantastic viewsoverlooking lakesmall kitchenettefree wifidownstairs roomroom was clean and comfortableminute walklovely towngreat room
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 271 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2012

At the price bracket, I expected a little bit more. As a well travelled local knowing many Wanaka and other localities motels (even having lived in Wanaka for some years), I know the area and the price / room standard ratio inside out like few others. Based on that, the "discounted" rate of $ 130 for unit # 5 / night, it is a little pricey for what you get. Bathroom - one of the worst layout designs and lowest "feel good" I have seen in years, resp you only seee at budget places. Sure, it was clean and basically functional, but every bit in the design and layout just screams low cost, and a design without any common sense. Standard prefab shower cubicle (so last century...), heated towel rail not reachable from shower (and there is plenty of room for a towel rail on the correct side of and right next to the shower), a sink which is also dated so last century had at least a single mixer tap retrofitted, overhead wall fan heater which by default can never heat the lower half of the room (leg cold), no tiling anywhere, barely any space for toileteries - everything old and tired. The door to the bathroom should be a sliding door in that layout or at least right in the corner and not takeing up most space to just get into the bathroom (provided nobody is at the sink). Carpet in unit - is beyond its days and needs replacement. I did not like to walk barefeet on it (as would be normal in a budget motel). Kitchen - terrible electric fry pan badly dented is the only cooking device and a microwave which cannot be operated easily based on logic. Noisy fridge is very small and freezes all or is too warm, yet has only an ice cube shelf, not a freezer. Bed has a slight "roll together" tiredness and is only a queen size. Stairs to the bedspace cove also screams that no design thoughts were made. As a place to stay, yes it works, but it fails to give you any kind of "feel good" by design, quality, freshness, the price suggests it should have. Other then the view (location default, not a design creation) it is acceptable as a 2 star budget motel standard. Room is worth a budget rate if well under $ 100 / night and would then deserve a rather good review.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
68Lismore, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Hi and thanks for writing a review about your stay with us. Being as familiar that you are with Wanaka you will be aware that Lakeview Motel is not one of the newer complexes in town and hence we advertise on our website that we are about 'rustic charm' rather than glass and chrome. We agree that the layout of the unit could be a little more efficient however very difficult to change without significant capital cost. One benefit from being a little older is the spaciousnous of the units compared with more recent developments. We focus on keeping the decor fresh and maintaining a high level of cleanliness as you can see from other reviews. An independant review of our pricing confirms we are very much at the lower level compared with other properties in Wanaka which are close to town and have uninterupted lake views.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The view from the bay window in our studio room overlooked Lake Wanaka and the mountains. The room was very clean and well presented. There is also a BBQ available for use. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The motel is within walking distance to shops but it is an uphill return walk.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hms22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
68Lismore, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Hi and thanks for taking the time to post your review. We pride ourselves on friendliness and room cleanliness so good to get your positive feedback. Kind regards Leanne & Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had booked in to stay at this accommodation. Unfortunatley there was a road closure due to a rock fall and we were unable to get through as there is only one road into wanaka. We rang well ahead in the day at approx 11am, and advised that the information provided to us was the road was closed and we wouldnt be able to get through at all today. The lady we spoke to pretty much said too bad if I cant fill the room I am charging you. Your travel isnurance will cover it. Well its a pity that our travel insurance also has a $200 excess before we can claim. Again explaining this, there was no empathy or compassion. We got the same response, If i cant fill the room im charging you. I was also told before they would charge me, they would send an email to advise. The road did open a 6pm for one hour. As it was dark we were advised by the information centre not to go, because of the condition the road was in and a massive storm was coming through. They said its dangerous and we recommend you wait till the morning. Well two days later I logged onto my bank account and there was the charge, and i logged on to my email, no email provided. I again sent another email of complaint and i was advised the owner had gone overseas and would not be back until oct. To us this was really poor business practice and we would not recommend, we were really unhappy.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank THEZACZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
68Lismore, Owner at Lakeview Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Hi, we have arrived back in Wanaka and have become aware of your review. We can sympathise with your situation however don't believe that we are accountable for your unforseeable change in plans. We had upheld our end of the contract by holding the room for you for weeks having turned away other inquiries for the date in question. We understand that you phoned three hours prior to checkin time to cancel your booking (our advertised cancellation period is 72 hours prior to arrival) and that Leanne said she would try and resell the room that day and if successful would not charge you. She also offered you the room for the following evening which gave you the chance to shuffle your itinerary. When we travel we always take travel insurance which covers any costs arising from natural disasters which are outside of anyones control. This covers any prior commitments to flights, accommodation etc.. We are upset that you are unhappy with the terms and conditions of our cancellation policy and so have made a seperate offer to you by email of a reasonable discount for any future stays so that you can enjoy our hospitality at Lakeview and the beautiful surroundings of Wanaka.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

What an amazing motel. Friendly service and very clean well organized rooms.The view is amazing. We would certainly use this motel again. Great sound proofed walls too. Heard no noise from neighboring rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarapryor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

As many other reviews have said, it's all about the view. OK so not all about the view otherwise I'd rate 5 out of 5, but the view is the main factor.

We were in unit 5 which is upstairs, sharing a balcony with unit 6 and more or less sharing the balcony with what I assume is the owners unit. So you wouldn't want to have curtains open while not being entirely dressed ;-) But it was great to sit on the balcony with a cup of tea and a camera. We were lucky that the best snowfall of the year had happened a night or two beforehand so when the weather cleared a bit the hills/mountains on the other side of the lake were a stunning sight.

The unit was in an upstairs/downstairs configuration with the bed in a kind of loft area and everything else downstairs. The toilet and bathroom were nicely separated from the main living area. There did seem to be a bit of a smell accumulate in the toilet room if the door was left shut for a while hence the 3 out of 5 cleanliness rating. Probably not an actual cleanliness issue, perhaps more of a minor pluming issue, nothing visibly obvious.

We thought the kitchenette was good, not a full kitchenette, but more than just tea and coffee. The TV was a good size and had the standard set of channels - a few free channels and Sky Movies, Sky Sports (both just the main ones), and Sky News.

Probably not the cheapest place in town but definitely not the most expensive, and very good value for money we thought.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank glennomeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews