We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic accommodation and very helpful and friendly staff.”
Review of Distinction Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Distinction Wanaka
Ranked #10 of 53 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Our group was two couples staying for Warbirds over Wanaka. We stayed in an upstairs three bedroom appartment with stunning views of the lake and mountains.
The beds were incredibly comfortable and the kitchen was very well equipped. If we had any problems at all the staff helped straight away and were always very friendly and polite.
The spa, sauna and pool were a perfect way to relax before dinner. We cooked every night to avoid doing battle with the masses in Wanaka over Easter weekend. For us it was good that the location was out of the centre of town, it was a very short drive to get anywhere we wanted to go and being away from the centre made it more peaceful.
I cannot fault this resort and we will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJChapman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (261)
There are newer reviews for Distinction Wanaka
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 261 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

I would definitely return to Alpine Resort Wanaka.

The room was spacious, modern and clean with a loftiness feel to them. The pool area was right outside our room and so picaresque, similar to the surrounding area of the tennis court.

I loved the fact our car was parked in a single-car secured garage. It wasn't the closest accommodation to the heart of Wanaka but worth it if you have a car to travel.

The only disappointment was when one staff member was rude to us on our arrival, then that same staff member, asked us to write a positive review on Trip Advisor when we were checking out. Luckily the accommodation stacked up but it was unfortunate that our memories of the staff will be remembered in such a way. I'm sure most of them are lovely, sadly we didn't deal with them. Overall it was a very good experience though.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Britt_Shan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlpineResortWakana, General Manager at Distinction Wanaka, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Dear Britt_Shan
I am very glad you enjoyed Wanaka. Thank you very much for your feedback - we value all feedback as we welcome the opportunity to improve our service. I am sorry you had a bad experience with one of our staff members. I will be contacting you directly to help us discover how can improve staff training with regards to customer service.
Hopefully we can welcome you back to Alpine Resort Wanaka again.
Thank you again.
Yours sincerely
Simone Hildebrand
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

We had a 2 bed apartment (6A), ground floor (three beds are first floor), with an integral garage containing washer and dryer. Large lounge / kitchen and bedrooms, good size shower room.

All nearly new, well designed and detailed. Dishwasher in the kitchen area. Every detail thought of. Very clean throughout the apartment and the grounds. WiFi included.

Two small pools, each with hot spa and indoor gym / games room. One of them has spectacular views of the lake and mountains. Tennis court next to our apartment.

Very pleasant atmosphere and kid friendly.

There is a footpath walk into town starting behind the scenic view pool, going through a small woodland and housing area. Receptionist told us about this (thanks). Wanaka is a very pleasant small town.

Would I stay again? Yes, I didn't want to leave!

Room Tip: Three bed apartments seem to be at first floor, better views. The ground floor and first floor apar...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuf_said_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

A great place to stay. The room is more like an apartment than a motel unit. A full kitchen for cooking with pots, pans, utensils, oven, cook top & full size fridge & freezer is a rarity these days so great to have those facilities.

Roomy lounge, bedrooms and bathroom.

Would stay again & recommend to others without a doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SOC100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

What's not to love about this accommodation?! Last month we stayed two nights in a three bedroom apartment at the Alpine Resort Wanaka. It was extremely well equipped in comparison to other places we stayed in during our New Zealand holiday. The lounge and dining areas were spacious and beautifully decorated... even the bathrooms (yes, there were two!!) were beautiful! We had a washer and dryer in our very own laundry - very convenient - as was the large clothes airer to dry our clothes on! The resort is in a quiet area of Wanaka, but with a hire car it was just minutes from the town centre. The friendly staff made our stay all the more pleasant. We checked in very late, just as the office was closing (an hour after it normally closes!), yet we were made to feel most welcome. We can't wait to go back to New Zealand and we have already decided that a week at the Alpine Resort Wanaka is a must!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichelleLea1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I have just spent 2 nights here, the accommodation is superb, in a quiet location just 2 minutes drive from all the nightlife and shops.i. would highly recommend this place!!
I have preciously stayed in Wanaka but think it has developed into a very classy spot

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank margaret h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for two nights. The apartment was clean and modern, and has everything you'd need for a family holiday, but there is some room for improvement in terms of its design (e.g. only one mirror in the bathroom in the entire apartment, no hooks behind the bathroom door for hanging clothes/bags, etc) however those were not major issues for us, just a bit of inconvenience.

We had our own garage and the washer/dryer was in the garage. Also had a "bbq area" at the back which was lovely. The staff were helpful.

It is out of the way from the centre of Wanaka but since we had a car, we didn't find it to be a problem. Probably not advisable to stay here without a car though.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alkanoate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
793 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
437 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
513 reviews
2.3 mi away
Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
0.6 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#8 of 20 in Wanaka
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wanaka

Address: 144 - 154 Anderson Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Alpine Resort Wanaka)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 53 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range: $100 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers a choice of 58 large, stylish, self-contained, serviced apartments, each providing you with a high level of personal comfort and convenience, perfect for all seasons. Superior facilities include a gourmet kitchen, 50 channels of Sky TV (43" screens in 3brm apartments), under-floor heating in the bathrooms and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Distinction Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Resort Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Clarion Wanaka
Wanaka Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing