We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful accommodation - friendly, beautiful and comfortable. Everything you could need.”
Review of Distinction Wanaka

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Distinction Wanaka
Ranked #9 of 52 Wanaka B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Wonderful accommodation - friendly, beautiful and comfortable. Everything you could need.”
Reviewed August 13, 2011

We stayed in one of the Alpine Resort Apartments as part of a ski trip. There were 10 of us, so we stayed upstairs and downstairs on one of the apartments. it worked out perfectly - the apartments were lovely - new looking, clean and well equipped.

The resort had two spas, a pool for those crazy enough to jump in (ski trip remember) a games room with air hockey, pool table, cycling machine and a fitness machine. The staff were lovely and friendly.

The downstairs bedrooms got a little cold at night if you had their doors to the main room shut, so either leave the doors open a crack or grab an extra heater or two at reception (or use the electric blankets).

We'll definitely be back - Wanaka is beautiful and nicer than Queenstown - cheaper and less crowded too (Closer to treble cone and cardrona and the snow park).

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    80
    16
    2
    3
See reviews for
104
75
1
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nelson
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My family, and friends from Melbourne, arranged to holiday together, staying in this apartment complex. Having stayed in several other Wanaka apartments, I particularly liked this one, being larger, with individual garaging, and internal access. We extended our stay and this was accommodated by management even though it required considerable reshuffling by them. Simone, the manager, also went beyond the call of duty to help us get to the shuttle buses for the mountain after our car had mechanical problems. Both families hope to return to this resort in September, to enjoy more skiiing at Cardrona.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwifamilyNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Stayed here for a ski weekend with friends. Apartment was spacious and very well equipped. Lovely gas fire in the lounge which was super warm but we found that the bedrooms were cold at night - only stayed two nights and were out skiing all day so didn't ask reception for extra heaters but would have done if we were staying any longer.
Excellent pool and spa area.
The apartments are about 2kms out of town, walkable if you've still got energy at the end of the day!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank snownoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The rooms in this hotel are huge! Full kitchen, bathroom and two bedrooms with full laundry in-room. Quite clean, but you could tell that the rooms have been lived-in, as the couches were very worn and the washing machine made a horrible noise when we were trying to do a load of laundry!

This hotel is a bit out of the way and not directly situated in town on the lake. We did have a wonderful view from our back balcony though!

Overall it was a decent stay for us!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CalgarianTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 27, 2011

Arrived late Friday arvo, greeted with jolly, informative efficient receptionist. Very shortly after we where rolling our bags into a compfy 2 bedroom apartment aircon quietly humming, electric blankets warming the beds,fully equipped kitchen and spacious lounge overlooking pool , games room and tennis court. All 4 of us very happy.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lalew66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 17, 2011

The 2 bedroom apartment was clean and well appointed - had everything we needed. The games room was great for the kids. Friendly staff who know the local area and could give good advice.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katosan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2011

We found the resort from the Entertainment book website and weren't disappointed. Wanaka isn't a big town and this is out a bit from the main shopping area, but not too far to walk. Not many people staying there. Got a lovely ground floor one bedroom with a bit of a view of the mountains. The complex is huge, but not inpersonal. Two games rooms, two outdoor spas, two gyms. We gave the petanque area a go and tried to get in the spa nearer us, but too hot and didn't cool down, so went to the other one with a lovely view of the mountains. More used and therefore a bit cooler. Full kitchen, private garage for the car and washing machine and dryer. Quiet location. Helpful staff. Would very much stay there again. Not sure how it would be at the height of the season. The were putting the finishing touches to a central drive in reception area when we were there, but little noise and should be finished by now. Must do in the area: walk to the top of Iron Hill, Puzzle World and as far along the Mount Roy walk as you can manage. The Siberia Experience where you fly into the wilderness near Mount Aspiring, walk about 2.5 hours to be met by a jet boat is an absolute must.

Room Tip: Check out the website
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank 2011travel54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wanaka hotels
1.9 mi away
Edgewater
Edgewater
#4 of 20 in Wanaka
774 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Moorings
The Moorings
#2 of 20 in Wanaka
426 reviews
2.3 mi away
Mercure Oakridge Resort Lake Wanaka
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Ramada Resort Wanaka
Ramada Resort Wanaka
#6 of 20 in Wanaka
335 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manuka Crescent Motel
Manuka Crescent Motel
#7 of 20 in Wanaka
180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lakeside Apartments
Lakeside Apartments
#1 of 20 in Wanaka
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Distinction Wanaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Distinction Wanaka

Property: Distinction Wanaka
Address: 144 - 154 Anderson Road, Wanaka 9305, New Zealand (Formerly Alpine Resort Wanaka)
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Wanaka
Amenities:
Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Wanaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Distinction Wanaka 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The resort offers a choice of 58 large, stylish, self-contained, serviced apartments, each providing you with a high level of personal comfort and convenience, perfect for all seasons. Superior facilities include a gourmet kitchen, 50 channels of Sky TV (43" screens in 3brm apartments), under-floor heating in the bathrooms and so much more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Priceline so you can book your Distinction Wanaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alpine Resort Wanaka Hotel Wanaka
Clarion Wanaka
Wanaka Clarion

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing