We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a very intriguing and puzzling place!”
Review of Puzzling World

Puzzling World
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.97*
and up
Combo Admission to Puzzling World
Ranked #2 of 7 Fun & Games in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Wanaka's wonderful world of weirdness! Puzzling World has been messing with people's heads since 1973. Bizarre buildings, rooms of illusions and our famous maze will baffle your brain and challenge your perceptions of reality. Even if you only pay a visit to New Zealand's most unusual public toilets, your world will never be the same again. Seeing is disbelieving!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a very intriguing and puzzling place!”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

I cannot believe we did not visit this attraction on our last trip to Queenstown! On arrival to the attraction, standing outside the building,it seemed so-so but when we entered the building, that's when it all started.

Love everything that were in there. we had a great laugh in one of the room,( the tilting/leaning room i think), we and the other visitors just could not stop laughing. And it puzzled us why we were laughing?!

The maze- it was very challenging especially with two young kids! The goal was to look all the 4 coloured corners and the green is so annoyingly difficult to locate- for us at least!!!Our 4 yr old insisted we had to and so we actually managed to find it in the end and we all cheered until we saw the sign- we have to go back to where we entered! We cheated and we use one of the many "emergency" exits :(. Hey, we were stucked in there for close to 1.5 hrs!! LOL. Good fun for the whole family to enjoy.

The cafe had pies, toasties etc to cater for lunch or you can bring lunch and sit in the lovely outdoor area. cafe on site is only solely for items bought at the cafe. Individual tables had puzzles for you to try while you are having lunch (careful- you can easily lost track of time once you touch them!) Wheelchair accessible. Probably best to visit on a sunny day even though the rooms are indoors as there is an outdoor maze to get yourself lost too. If with young kids, best to put your baby carrier to good use if you are doing the maze:) There are steps and lots of walking. Exits in the maze are available. They call it emergency exits lol. Plenty of parking spaces available. And the washrooms - just pay a visit even if you do not need to use it! Entry price is pretty reasonable for an attraction that is very enjoyable/entertaining for us all.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank WhAz_38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Hi Whaz,

Thanks for your superb review!

You've included some fantastic insights for future customers (esp. with babies) and I'm very pleased you "loved everything in there" :)

Outside the business - I'd hope the shiny new Tumbling Towers at one end of the lawn, Leaning Tower at the other, a large, light filled Puzzle Centre between and a massive Maze on the exterior was impressive enough but I'd love to hear from you to let me know what you found "so-so" from outside appearances.

Thanks heaps also for your kind comments re - entertainment and value

We look forward to welcoming you back to PW!

Kind regards,


Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    777
    595
    121
    24
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
57 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Fun all the way....even the toilets.....”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

again a must see in wanaka. The second illusion room is the best of them all - the one where the slope makes your brain all fuzzy. Simply brilliant. This is followed by the ames room but the impact is somewhat reduced because the true illusion is evident when you are looking at yourself on the tv. The holograms are ok as well as the faces exhibit. We did not try the maze. The roman part of the toilet was nice but did not understand where this fitted in. The shop and the puzzle tables were also very nice. This is a nice place to spend about 2 hours. Will not take more than that. A must do though.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank RRC_1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Hi RRC,

Thanks for your excellent review!

It sounds like the Illusion Rooms as well as all other areas worked their magic on you for the most part which is great but to clarify a couple of questions you had...

1) the Ames Room TV - the illusion works just as well either seen by naked eye or via the video playback, which, as it should be viewed after your visit (as per the signage) you would only see yourself once finished in the room itself. Photos are generally an awesome way to record the illusion but to see yourself grow or shrink as you move from corner to corner is an important part of the experience.

2) Roman Toilets - tromp 'l eil is the painting technique used that creates an illusionary link between the foreground and background. By adding roman toilets visitors can pretend to use in the foreground along with a clever background that takes this scene into the distance it creates a nice photo opportunity that combines toilets (as this is the area between the actual toilet blocks) with a great illusion - get it?

We look forward to welcoming you back to PW!

Kind regards,


Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great fun for the whole family.”
Reviewed August 31, 2014

Husband and I last visited nearly twenty years ago. A lot has changed here, but it is even more fun that it used to be. This time we returned with six and three year olds. The classic maze was fun for all of us (although note that three year olds can run under the fences and drive you crazy trying to find them again!). The tilting room was a highlight, as ever. Both kids were fascinated that water can flow uphill, and they used the slide again and again and again...we also liked the holograms, and the sculpture hall. But the absolute highlight of the visit for all of us was the Ames room. We couldn't get enough of this illusion, it fascinated all of us, and we kept returning to it all day.

We were all amused by the most photographed toilets ever, and love the free puzzles in the large foyer/cafe area, that made it easy to spend time in between repeat trips to the maze and Ames room. The only criticism is that they could serve a greater variety of food in the cafe. Overall well worth visiting, and we will definitely be going again when we are in the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank TheLetterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Hi LetterB,

Thanks for your great review!

Welcome back! - we love repeat customers (no matter how long back) as it gives us a chance to show off new stuff! As you would've seen we have been extremely busy with developments since ...........well always :)

Ames Room fans for sure! Works great when you put the kids in the giant end and the adults at the dwarf end - I'm assuming this was the shot you went for!

Café - yep, it's not a range like town one's can afford to display - ours is to offer decent affordable options to eat while engaged with the puzzles or take on the road.

We look forward to welcoming you back to PW!

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend time with the family !”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Can easily spend a couple of hours here. Some great optical illusions and some things that make you go wow ! Kids will surely love it and so will the adults. A must visit if you are in Wanaka or around !

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Akhil_Wellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Hi Akhil,

Thanks for your awesome review!

Making people go 'wow' is our ultimate aim (see afro man going 'wow' in our print adverts!) so I'm really pleased to receive this feedback along with your kind "great for all ages" and "must-see" comments :)

We look forward to welcoming you back to PW!

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Great place to spend an hour or two”
Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Had a great time. Mind was blown in the illusion rooms. Did get a bit frustrated as I couldn't solve one of the puzzles in the cafe but that is my fault

Helpful?
Thank Stephen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, September 13, 2014
Hi Stephen,

Thanks for your great little review!

So, to summarise; mind - blown, time - great, a puzzle - frustration! I'm wondering whether you spurned staff assistance to help solve it, but good on you for giving it a real crack!

We look forward to welcoming you back to PW!

Kind regards,

Duncan
Manager
Puzzling World
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puzzling World also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Puzzling World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing