We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family fun”
Review of Puzzling World

Puzzling World
Book In Advance
More Info
$15.25*
and up
Combo Admission to Puzzling World
Ranked #4 of 6 Fun & Games in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Wanaka's wonderful world of weirdness! Puzzling World has been messing with people's heads since 1973. Bizarre buildings, rooms of illusions and our famous maze will baffle your brain and challenge your perceptions of reality. Even if you only pay a visit to New Zealand's most unusual public toilets, your world will never be the same again. Seeing is disbelieving!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent about an hour at the puzzling world during our at at Wanaka and it was educative and fun. The illusions created were really good and the kids enjoyed it as much as the adults. We however couldn't try out the Maze fully due to lack of time. Enter the Maze only if you are willing to put in at least an hour just for the maze. If pressed for time just see the illusions part and avoid the maze. You can buy tickets accordingly. Overall good family fun. Children will definitely enjoy it

Thank trawelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hi Trawel,

Thanks for your great review!

"Educational and fun" - sounds like a winning recipe so I'm really pleased you found this to be the case :)

Maze time - yep, I agree, 30 minutes has to be the minimum time to achieve this which is why we always offer time-constrained customers the option to "upgrade" their Illusion Room ticket to add the Maze later if they want ($3.50)

We look forward to seeing you again at PW!

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,799)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"illusion rooms"
in 253 reviews
"all ages"
in 143 reviews
"outdoor maze"
in 51 reviews
"tilted house"
in 49 reviews
"great fun"
in 134 reviews
"leaning tower"
in 25 reviews
"ames room"
in 25 reviews
"mind bending"
in 18 reviews
"tilting room"
in 16 reviews
"four corners"
in 21 reviews
"few hours"
in 84 reviews
"emergency exit"
in 18 reviews
"rainy day"
in 74 reviews
"puzzle world"
in 42 reviews
"couple of hours"
in 67 reviews
"mind boggling"
in 27 reviews
"kids and adults"
in 24 reviews
Filter

1,219 - 1,223 of 1,798 reviews

Reviewed May 24, 2014

I was a little dubious as I am not usually interested in man made places like puzzling world but now a convert and you should go at least once and especially if you have kids from 7 up would be cracking the maze with you. Our friend approaching 70 was having boasting rights.

Thank Sallee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hi Sallee,

Thanks for your brilliant review!

Converting non-believers is what we do best! Just for kids? - nah, tourist trap? - nah, seen it before? - nah, pricey? - no way!

Indeed 7 to 70 would be fair age range for Maze-goers but we get a tonne of toddlers and OAPS who get a blast out of cruising the paths and over-bridges too :)

We look forward to you gaining bragging rights next time when we see you again at PW!

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

amazing fun for everyone old or young sorry we visited during school holidays on a wet day so was very crowded and lots of unattended children

Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hi Kevin,

Thanks for your great review!

I'm very happy you agree with our "great for all ages" mantra but less so about the unattended kiddies and the effect on your enjoyment :(

Whilst we try through repeated signage, cctv notices and regular room checks to ensure adults are indeed supervising their offspring/students, unfortunately some kids (and adults too) take the fun spirit of the place a little too far, so sorry about that

We look forward to welcoming you again during a more serene to PW!

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Still have great memories of this place. So much more than I expected. Optical illusions which completely confuse your brain. Many exhibits hands on or better still you actually walk into them and become part of the fun. Some outside exhibits but most inside so good for a rainy day.

Thank weegordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hi weegordie

Thanks for your excellent review

I'm so pleased we could create some great memories of your NZ trip and that you enjoyed the interactivity of the place :)

We like to absorb the visitor in the theme so that inside, outside or even in the loos you are indeed "part of the fun"

We look forward to welcoming you back to PW!,

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2014

The inside attractions are both amusing and educational - it's great to push the brain to it's limits with some of the illusions, and the tilt room is great fun, confusing your sense of balance! We got through all the inside sections (taking as much time as we wanted in each thing) relatively quickly, so I thought initially that the entrance price was a bit steep for the content. However, THEN we went to try the Maze! That alone gobbled up nearly two hours or wandering back and forth, trying to reach all the towers and getting hopelessly lost a few times!

Make sure you choose to go to Puzzling World on a day when it is not raining or too cold to spend a long time outdoors. People will say it's a good 'indoor' activity, but really if you only go for the inside stuff you are missing a lot! So give yourself plenty of time and good weather and do the lot to really get your money's worth!

PS - even if you don't need to.. USE THE TOILETS! They are the best I've ever seen, such fun!!

Thank RainbowGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Hi Gillian

Thanks for your great review (and superb photos!)

I'm really glad to hear that you saw value in the Combo package although we'd like to think even $14 for 5 Illusion Rooms and heaps of wall art etc etc also represents good "bang for your buck"

Thanks for your "good for all weather" endorsement - would tend to agree that purely focussing on the indoor stuff would be a shame.

We look forward to welcoming you back to PW!,

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puzzling World also viewed

Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Puzzling World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing