We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun for all”
Review of Puzzling World

Puzzling World
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.67*
and up
Combo Admission to Puzzling World
Ranked #2 of 7 Fun & Games in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Wanaka's wonderful world of weirdness! Puzzling World has been messing with people's heads since 1973. Bizarre buildings, rooms of illusions and our famous maze will baffle your brain and challenge your perceptions of reality. Even if you only pay a visit to New Zealand's most unusual public toilets, your world will never be the same again. Seeing is disbelieving!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Food available for purchase
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Still have great memories of this place. So much more than I expected. Optical illusions which completely confuse your brain. Many exhibits hands on or better still you actually walk into them and become part of the fun. Some outside exhibits but most inside so good for a rainy day.

Thank weegordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2014

Hi weegordie

Thanks for your excellent review

I'm so pleased we could create some great memories of your NZ trip and that you enjoyed the interactivity of the place :)

We like to absorb the visitor in the theme so that inside, outside or even in the loos you are indeed "part of the fun"

We look forward to welcoming you back to PW!,

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,567)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,012 - 1,016 of 1,568 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014

The inside attractions are both amusing and educational - it's great to push the brain to it's limits with some of the illusions, and the tilt room is great fun, confusing your sense of balance! We got through all the inside sections (taking as much time as we wanted in each thing) relatively quickly, so I thought initially that the entrance price was a bit steep for the content. However, THEN we went to try the Maze! That alone gobbled up nearly two hours or wandering back and forth, trying to reach all the towers and getting hopelessly lost a few times!

Make sure you choose to go to Puzzling World on a day when it is not raining or too cold to spend a long time outdoors. People will say it's a good 'indoor' activity, but really if you only go for the inside stuff you are missing a lot! So give yourself plenty of time and good weather and do the lot to really get your money's worth!

PS - even if you don't need to.. USE THE TOILETS! They are the best I've ever seen, such fun!!

Thank RainbowGillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Hi Gillian

Thanks for your great review (and superb photos!)

I'm really glad to hear that you saw value in the Combo package although we'd like to think even $14 for 5 Illusion Rooms and heaps of wall art etc etc also represents good "bang for your buck"

Thanks for your "good for all weather" endorsement - would tend to agree that purely focussing on the indoor stuff would be a shame.

We look forward to welcoming you back to PW!,

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

Really enjoyed the maze as haven't done it for a long time. The illusion rooms were amazing and the new rooms are really clever!

Thank serpentine2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Hi Serpentine

Thanks for your sweet little review !

Welcome back, we always love it when returning customers visit and love all the new stuff we add - makes the effort all worthwhile :)

We look forward to welcoming you back to PW!,

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

A great diversion if you are in the Wanaka area. It has a lot of fantastic puzzles and illusions like the Ames room, tilted house, Sculpillusion gallery (my favourite) and the hall of following faces are must sees. They really are well done and a credit to their developer. The maze isnt too bad either - and my six year old nephew had fun doing it. The entry fees are a little bit pricey, but overall it is worth a visit especially if you are in the area and the kids love it.

Thank KarenDNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Hi Karen

Thanks for your excellent review !

We're always trying to evolve and expand what's possible to demonstrate illusions and their effects so I'm extremely pleased you loved our latest offering the most :)

Price-wise, I tend to think (as do may reviewers) that we offer great value considering other attraction's fees (esp. in Auckland) but thanks for your comments

We look forward to welcoming you back to PW!,

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We purchased the combo tickets and arrived at opening on a Wednesday morning. Unfortunately, the cold temperatures in the early morning made the maze almost unbearable - we had to head inside after making it to only 2 of the 4 towers (about 15 minutes). The tilt room was a highlight. On the whole, not sure it's worth the cost that they charge, but it's unique.

Thank 294beckyg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Hi Becky

Thanks for your review!

It was a shame you didn't spend a little longer in the maze (but well done for giving it a go on a frosty morning!) and I'm glad you enjoyed the tilted house so much.
Your comment about price has me wondering if you saw all that we offer (5 illusion rooms, puzzle centre, roman loos, puzzle loos, great maze, heaps of illusionary artworks, leaning tower etc..as for $17.50 (about $15US) we (and many other reviewers) see is as great value.

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puzzling World also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Puzzling World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing