We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of Fun”
Review of Puzzling World

Puzzling World
Book In Advance
More Info
$14.79*
and up
Combo Admission to Puzzling World
Ranked #1 of 6 Shopping in Wanaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Welcome to Wanaka's wonderful world of weirdness! Puzzling World has been messing with people's heads since 1973. Bizarre buildings, rooms of illusions and our famous maze will baffle your brain and challenge your perceptions of reality. Even if you only pay a visit to New Zealand's most unusual public toilets, your world will never be the same again. Seeing is disbelieving!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Wonju
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun”
Reviewed March 16, 2014

I took my wife here during an 2nd anniversary weekend trip away recently. The last time I visited was over 20 years ago and a lot has changed....for the better. The maze itself is still challenging and the illusion rooms had the desired effect. Friendly staff at the front reception and we enjoyed the experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AaronWonju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hi aaron

Thanks for your cracking review!

Wow, this has certainly been a round of very happy returning guests which makes all the effort (and $) invested in adding new things and improving the experience all worth it.

I'm really pleased you chose us for your anniversary treat (ha, ha?!) thanks for your kind comments on the staff and we look forward to seeing you again at PW!

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,474 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    744
    584
    113
    23
    10
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
601 reviews
326 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 558 helpful votes
“Not to be missed in Wanaka”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Puzzling World is great fun for kids and adults alike. There is something for everyone. Some exhibits are better than others, but overall it's well worth the time and money. The best (in my opinion) was the incline room, where you feel like you keep going backward. It's a little trippy, but tons of fun. Try the chair slide and go against the gravity! The other very cool thing is the room that makes you very big in one corner and tiny in the other - there is a window to watch from so you're able to make a photo or a video of your companions walking across the room. There is also a video to watch yourself after you exit the room.
Outside the exhibition there is a 3D maze that was lots of fun. One can try and find the way to the four towers in a random order or if you want a bigger challenge, follow the order set by Puzzling World. It took us about an hour to complete, and it's possible to stay in the maze after the museum is closed.
Highly recommended.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Bug81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Hi Bug81,

Thanks for your great review!

You're absolutely right that we have something for everyone which also means different features harbour different feelings - I see you're firmly in the 'loving the tilted house and ames room' camp - incredible how such simple illusions are often the most effective huh!

Thanks also for the "not to be missed" endorsement - it means a lot :)

We look forward to seeing you again at PW!

Kind regards
Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
382 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Fantastic afternoon”
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

Spent a few hours of great fun here one afternoon. This is definitely not just for the kids. We spent a little while doing the puzzles by the reception before moving on to hologram hall, this was really weird as they all seem to follow you round the room. We then went into the tilted house, this is really disorientating as you struggle to get your bearings. The illusion room is great as you become a dwarf and a giant in the same room!! Well worth a visit and loads of fun.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank DJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Djinks,

Thanks for your awesome review!

I'm stoked you loved the puzzles and Illusion Rooms so much, it certainly has an effect on the senses I'm sure you'd agree

It sounds like you didn't head through our Great Maze so we hope to see you again at Puzzling World to try this too!rld ,

Kind regards

Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great fun for all the family”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

we enjoyed the maze a lot, met some new friends, while trying to find a way out. it's interesting and very different experience, good value for money.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank GalaNis77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Galanis,

Thanks for your great review!

You've managed to sum up what we're about - "interesting", "different" and "good value" so thanks for that :)

Making friends in the maze - indeed many a friendship has been forged in there from lost visitors sharing a similar goal - get to a tower or get out!

We hope to see you again at Puzzling World,

Kind regards

Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wanaka, New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Was a great afternoon - bit small for the price”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

I went to Puzzling world for my birthday as there is limited cheaper things to do whilst traveling - i did enjoy puzzling world just ashamed is was on the small side - Dont get me wrong there are Amazing things inside but not the price - Maze was good fun. Some clear stuff inside - a must do if your in Wanaka.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lee H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PuzzlingWorld, Manager at Puzzling World, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Hi Lee,

Thanks for your supportive review, always nice to have locals rate you!

I'm glad you enjoyed your visit for your birthday and that fitted your criteria for cheaper things to do. I hope you visited all 5 Illusion Rooms as "small" is not generally a comment we'd get here :)

We hope to see you again at Puzzling World,

Kind regards

Duncan
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Puzzling World also viewed

 
Wanaka, Otago Region
Wanaka, Otago Region
 

Been to Puzzling World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing